Is this remission?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuziB

Member Since 2019
Hi all!

I posted recently that Reece’s numbers were dropping, even on only .1u/2x day. I got a few replies and was set to continue on with her tiny dose, except her numbers dropped even lower - green for PMPS. So for a few days, she was getting only the .1u in the AM and 0 in the PM. This morning was her 3rd morning with no insulin and the previous 2 days she got 0 insulin at all. Her morning numbers have been the hardest to get down and, even though yesterday she was at 129 AMPS, I still skipped her dose and tested a few times during the day - all numbers were well below 100. I think I’m doing the right thing by not giving her any insulin (I can’t even draw less than the .1 she had been getting - it was such a minuscule amount). I’m excited that Reece may be going into remission. She is acting fine - full of energy and very playful! I guess I’m just making sure these numbers look ok to you guys. It’s a bit of a gamble to skip those AM doses, but numbers during the day are low - I don’t want to risk going too low...
 
Hi all!

I posted recently that Reece’s numbers were dropping, even on only .1u/2x day. I got a few replies and was set to continue on with her tiny dose, except her numbers dropped even lower - green for PMPS. So for a few days, she was getting only the .1u in the AM and 0 in the PM. This morning was her 3rd morning with no insulin and the previous 2 days she got 0 insulin at all. Her morning numbers have been the hardest to get down and, even though yesterday she was at 129 AMPS, I still skipped her dose and tested a few times during the day - all numbers were well below 100. I think I’m doing the right thing by not giving her any insulin (I can’t even draw less than the .1 she had been getting - it was such a minuscule amount). I’m excited that Reece may be going into remission. She is acting fine - full of energy and very playful! I guess I’m just making sure these numbers look ok to you guys. It’s a bit of a gamble to skip those AM doses, but numbers during the day are low - I don’t want to risk going too low...
Hi SuziB, I'm sort of new to this also, my cat is also on Vetsulin, I was told by my vet is his BG is under 200 do not give any insulin. For about 2-3 weeks he was in remission. Then his BG numbers started to rise when I tested him in the am and pm like 239, 236, 246, so I started giving him 0.25 u, yes it was very hard to draw this into the syringe. I checked him a few times during the day and it dropped a little bit. Example I got a AMPS of 239 today so I decided to give him 0.5 u . I fed him his Fancy Feast Chicken Pate and when he was finished eating I waited about 30 minutes to shoot which was at 10.30 am. Then tested him at +3 it was 141. I will test him again at +5 to see where he's at. I use the U-40 syringes, so I had to eye ball 0.5u. From what I have been told from the great people on this forum, what we want to see the BG in the 90's to low 100 range. Like I said I'm also new to this, I noticed someone said you might want to start a post saying Vetsulin. So I never shoot under 200. As for the food, Tyler eats about 1-1/2 cans a day of FF Chicken Pate. He is 11 yrs old and before being diagnosed with diabetes he only ate dry food which was high carb. So when he wants a snack I give him Dr Elseys Clean Protein dry . It's very low in carbs. Like I said you can start a new thread Vetsulin and Dosing. I have also asked questions on there. Sorry I can't create a spreadsheet because my tablet is old and I just can't create one for you to look at
 
Last edited:
Hi Suzi, I was browsing the new posts and saw yours about possible remission so I combed through my collection of information and links and found this about OTJ (Off The Juice) trials and remission:
Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.
Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.

You may want to also post this question on the Vetsulin forum and ask the veteran members for advice and input. They can best advise whether to continue the microdoses or not.
Good luck with the process and hopefully we can dance at Reece's OTJ party soon! We do love these celebrations so much!:joyful:
 
Hi Suzi, I was browsing the new posts and saw yours about possible remission so I combed through my collection of information and links and found this about OTJ (Off The Juice) trials and remission:
Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.
Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.

You may want to also post this question on the Vetsulin forum and ask the veteran members for advice and input. They can best advise whether to continue the microdoses or not.
Good luck with the process and hopefully we can dance at Reece's OTJ party soon! We do love these celebrations so much!:joyful:
Completely agree w idjits mom!
Looking at your numbers it seems you got 3 days out of your 14 OTJ trial,! That is HUGE! Keep data collection and let’s keep fingers crossed that the 14 days go w out problem! Then we can declare remission! After that you will have to check once a week for a few months and then once a month :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top