Is this remission? Traveling with Monkey Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monkey Maine Coon

Member Since 2014
Could this possibly be remission? We're too new at this to judge - but if any of you could check his SS and let us know what you think, we would appreciate it. He is on his 2nd day with semi-normal 7:00am BG of 135 and no shot. We just tested him again at 1pm and his BG is 100.

We reduced his pm shot last night to 3.5 units (from his original 4) because his BG was 272. We have been offering him Halo low carb ground chicken pate instead of his usual high carb dry Hill's I/D kibble. It seems like if we do give him the kibble, that is when he gobbles it too fast and it comes right back up. So we are trying to stay off of it if we can.

This is Monday, our third day of RV travel with Monkey. He has adapted well and was zooming around this morning like he always does at home. All signs seem normal so far. :smile:

His 6:45pm BG this evening was 88 - so again no shot. We fed him a 1/6 cup of his Hills I/D kibble - but he vomited it back up. So we fed him a tsp. of his Halo canned, which he ate right away and kept it down. We're unsure what is going on - hoping for someone to weigh in with some thoughts. nailbite_smile

I'm wondering if I should have made this a new post?

7:30pm = fed him another tsp Halo canned; no problem keeping that down.

I just copied this and made a new post in the hopes someone will notice. We're out of town now, parked for the week at a rally, so no close help here except the great folks on this board. I can (and will) call our vet back home in the morning. In the meantime, we will re-test him again in two hours.

Retest at 9:30pm - BG up to 112. Fed him another tsp of his Halo canned food. Thanks for the input BJM about how to recognize remission - we're so new at this these low numbers were a bit scary - especially considering his BG was over 600 when he was DX June 20 2014.
 
2 full weeks of glucose between 40-120, without any insulin = remission, or OTJ status.

It looks encouraging.
 
Another great 7am BG 107 - so no shot again. Since he is vomiting up the Hill's I/D kibble (that he has been on for 6 months), and he keeps the Halo Pate down just fine, we have decided to completely switch to canned starting today. My online reasearch says the formula for feeding is 15 carbs/per lb. of lean weight/per day. Monkey weighs 15 lbs and is not fat - so we figure he needs about 225 carbs per day, which equates to about 1.25 cans of Halo per day. I called our vet in California this morning and updated them on what is happening - which seems to be that he is in remission and won't tolerate any more dry kibble.

dancing_cat We didn't intend to make any drastic changes in his routine while we are away from home - but it looks like Monkey had other ideas.
 
This is lovely news! And the Halo pate should bring down his numbers even more. I guess he was just waiting for you to take him on vacation. Even if he decides he likes the dry again, I would encourage you to only feed wet. It is easy and common for cats to slip out of remission and often it is because of dry food.

So the countdown begins. I hope he will stay below that magic 120/140 threshold and continue to drop.
 
Looking good! As others have said, the low carb wet food will give you even better numbers so if he likes it stick with it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top