Monkey Maine Coon
Member Since 2014
Could this possibly be remission? We're too new at this to judge - but if any of you could check his SS and let us know what you think, we would appreciate it. He is on his 2nd day with semi-normal 7:00am BG of 135 and no shot. We just tested him again at 1pm and his BG is 100.
We reduced his pm shot last night to 3.5 units (from his original 4) because his BG was 272. We have been offering him Halo low carb ground chicken pate instead of his usual high carb dry Hill's I/D kibble. It seems like if we do give him the kibble, that is when he gobbles it too fast and it comes right back up. So we are trying to stay off of it if we can.
This is Monday, our third day of RV travel with Monkey. He has adapted well and was zooming around this morning like he always does at home. All signs seem normal so far. :smile:
His 6:45pm BG this evening was 88 - so again no shot. We fed him a 1/6 cup of his Hills I/D kibble - but he vomited it back up. So we fed him a tsp. of his Halo canned, which he ate right away and kept it down. We're unsure what is going on - hoping for someone to weigh in with some thoughts. nailbite_smile
I'm wondering if I should have made this a new post?
7:30pm = fed him another tsp Halo canned; no problem keeping that down.
I just copied this and made a new post in the hopes someone will notice. We're out of town now, parked for the week at a rally, so no close help here except the great folks on this board. I can (and will) call our vet back home in the morning. In the meantime, we will re-test him again in two hours.
Retest at 9:30pm - BG up to 112. Fed him another tsp of his Halo canned food. Thanks for the input BJM about how to recognize remission - we're so new at this these low numbers were a bit scary - especially considering his BG was over 600 when he was DX June 20 2014.
We reduced his pm shot last night to 3.5 units (from his original 4) because his BG was 272. We have been offering him Halo low carb ground chicken pate instead of his usual high carb dry Hill's I/D kibble. It seems like if we do give him the kibble, that is when he gobbles it too fast and it comes right back up. So we are trying to stay off of it if we can.
This is Monday, our third day of RV travel with Monkey. He has adapted well and was zooming around this morning like he always does at home. All signs seem normal so far. :smile:
His 6:45pm BG this evening was 88 - so again no shot. We fed him a 1/6 cup of his Hills I/D kibble - but he vomited it back up. So we fed him a tsp. of his Halo canned, which he ate right away and kept it down. We're unsure what is going on - hoping for someone to weigh in with some thoughts. nailbite_smile
I'm wondering if I should have made this a new post?
7:30pm = fed him another tsp Halo canned; no problem keeping that down.
I just copied this and made a new post in the hopes someone will notice. We're out of town now, parked for the week at a rally, so no close help here except the great folks on this board. I can (and will) call our vet back home in the morning. In the meantime, we will re-test him again in two hours.
Retest at 9:30pm - BG up to 112. Fed him another tsp of his Halo canned food. Thanks for the input BJM about how to recognize remission - we're so new at this these low numbers were a bit scary - especially considering his BG was over 600 when he was DX June 20 2014.