There is a whole history here, but here is the readers digest version:
I started my cat Stella on lantus in December, on 2u and after 3ish weeks up to 2.5. It did nothing for her BG levels. Zero... they didn't change at all in the entire time she was getting the insulin. Together with our vet, we decided to get her off the insulin totally since it was doing nothing. She was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism at the same time as FD, so we decided to switch her to canned and off the prescription dry she was on, and at the same time give her thyroid meds some time to work. She was off insulin and on wet for over a month and her levels drastically dropped (really within 24 hours of the diet change) from mid to upper 400's to steady around 250. We went back, got her thyroid levels checked, and when they were fine decided to start her on lantus again. And thats where we are today, day 3 of her being back on lantus.
I decided to go with the SLGS and start her at .5u. In the last 3 days her BG levels are HIGHER than they were when she was off the insulin all together. Last night PMPS I got a 400, which I have not seen since she was on dry food.
What is going on? Its as if the insulin is having the opposite effect! Something about my cat and insulin just don't seem to work together. Any ideas on what could possibly be going on?
I started my cat Stella on lantus in December, on 2u and after 3ish weeks up to 2.5. It did nothing for her BG levels. Zero... they didn't change at all in the entire time she was getting the insulin. Together with our vet, we decided to get her off the insulin totally since it was doing nothing. She was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism at the same time as FD, so we decided to switch her to canned and off the prescription dry she was on, and at the same time give her thyroid meds some time to work. She was off insulin and on wet for over a month and her levels drastically dropped (really within 24 hours of the diet change) from mid to upper 400's to steady around 250. We went back, got her thyroid levels checked, and when they were fine decided to start her on lantus again. And thats where we are today, day 3 of her being back on lantus.
I decided to go with the SLGS and start her at .5u. In the last 3 days her BG levels are HIGHER than they were when she was off the insulin all together. Last night PMPS I got a 400, which I have not seen since she was on dry food.
What is going on? Its as if the insulin is having the opposite effect! Something about my cat and insulin just don't seem to work together. Any ideas on what could possibly be going on?