? Is this normal ... 07/16 - Jaxon - AMPS 202 +4 256 +6 158 +8 203

Allison K

Member Since 2021
For reference:

07/15 - AMPS 236 +5 239 +7 178 +9 254 PMPS 229 +6 144
07/14 - AMPS 215 +4 257 +6 257 +10 292 PMPS 234 +3 261 +4 182 +6 232
07/13 - AMPS 295 +7 268 PMPS 180 +5 92 +6 117 +7 149

This is all on his sheet but thought it would help clarify ....

It SEEMS like he is bouncing, and there are a number of times that his +6 is actually HIGHER than his PS numbers. Have not changed his dose since July 4 and he is on Lantus.
 
He is bouncing from the green in the PM cycle of 7/13. Hopefully should clear it soon. His numbers have been better in the last few days.
His nadir seems to be at +6 after which he would start heading up as the insulin action wanes. Did you feed today at +6?

You are feeding LC wet and testing enough to follow TR. Would you be comfortable following TR? You don't have to - just a thought!


Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-13-jaxon-amps-295-7-268-pmps-180-5-92-6-117.249829/
 
I had been trying to shift to feeding every 6 hrs instead of every 4 hrs ... but when I see BG lower I sometimes offer him a little food then (even if it is between the 6hr feedings). As I said in my signature, TR would mean testing at the 3/6/9 ALL the time right? or is doing it at PS and +6 sufficient?
 
So far I try do do +6 in addition to the PS each time .... though as you can see, occasionally I am a little late on the morning midcycle
 
With TR you need a minimum of 2 tests per cycle - one preshot and one sometime mid cycle. In cycles where the BG is on the lower side, you would need to get additional tests.

As far as feeding goes, irrespective of which dosing protocol you follow, it's better to feed before the nadir. If he needs food later in the cycle a small low carb snack would be okay.
 
So recommended to only feed between PS and +6, NOT after unless only tiny snack? He is supposed to have 1.5 cans of Friskies (based on caloric content directed by vet) .... only time he goes for at least the 6hrs without additional food is overnight ......
 
So recommended to only feed between PS and +6, NOT after unless only tiny snack? He is supposed to have 1.5 cans of Friskies (based on caloric content directed by vet) .... only time he goes for at least the 6hrs without additional food is overnight ......

You could break up the meals into smaller meals and feed at PS, +2, +4, +6 also. Smaller meals through the first part of the cycle will keep him surfing and help prevent any dives in his BG.
 
Please keep in mind that the nadir is not necessarily at +6. Nadirs can and do change, sometimes from cycle to cycle. At the moment, it does look like Jaxon's nadirs are roughly mid-cycle. My only point is to not get surprised if Jaxson surprises you by changing up his nadir.
 
Back
Top