Is This Bouncing & Dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

firefly

Member
Hello, I introduced myself the other day on The Main FDMB forum. Gracie is on ProZinc. I increased Gracie's dose to 1.20 a week ago, but she is still reading in the 300s before preshots. So, last night I decided to decrease back to 1.0 just to see what would happen today. So far today her BG isn't as good as when she was on the 1.20 dose, but I don't know what to do about these high preshot readings. Is this bouncing? If so, how long does it last? Should I keep her at 1.20, or go lower or higher? She has been on ProZin for two weeks. I would think by now she would have better preshot numbers.

For some reason all the data isn't showing up on the Gracie's SS in my signature. Here are her numbers since 12/11"

12/11 1.20 units.
AMPS 422 +4 198, +6 117, +9 248, PMPS 316

12/12 1.20 units.
AMPS 385, PMPS 351.

12/13 1.20 units a.m. & 1.00 in p.m.
AMPS 312, PMPS 377

12/14 1.00 units
AMPS 272, +3 300, +6 216, +8 230


Btw, this is a great site.

Thank you
Linda
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I don't know why it isn't working, Linda. (I helped Linda set up her ss. Here is the latest that we can see.) I'll go back in and redo the link and see if that helps.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Ah0YVeaRP1QcdHNqaVFocmJtcTBiQ2xIU3FhYXE5ZUE#gid=0

I like the 1.2 dose. Yes, she bounced but she is still in nice numbers once the bounce clears (like this am). I'd stick with the 1.2 unless you get a preshot under 200 or a midcycle under 50.

Thanks so much Sue for both the advice, and the help with the SS. You are a very kind person.

Linda
 
Darn. I republished it and it didn't help. I'll ask in Tech.

I just wanted to mention that this forum is much smaller than Health - busiest at am and pm EST. If you ever have an emergency, post on Health where there will be more eyes. You are more likely to get PZI and dose advice here, just not immediately.
 
Bouncing happens until it doesn't. Which, of course, is rather annoying. You just have to hang in and wait for the cat's body to become accustomed to lower numbers.
 
Thank you Sue and BJM. I have a question. At 6:00 I took her BG because it was time for her insulin. It was 274. I decreased her dose to .75. Do you think this was a good move? I will check her again in about 4 hours.

Linda
 
Reducing the dose won't necessarily stop the bouncing. If the dose is too high and they drop into the 40-50s, then a reduction is a good idea because that is getting into a range that is dangerous. If she is bouncing from the 100s, then reducing the dose may/may not help.

Consider these early days as data gathering. You are giving doses, keeping her in safe numbers and seeing what various doses do. Once you have enough data, you'll be able to say "Okay, she is in this range and the last time she was here, I gave X amount of insulin and it did this. So I either want to try that again because the outcome was good, so I want to raise or lower the dose because it wasn't."

So you'll see tonight whether this dose is enough. Get a before bedtime test, if you can, to see where the cycle is headed. Then see if tomorrow amps is better or worse than todays.

Make any sense?
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Reducing the dose won't necessarily stop the bouncing. If the dose is too high and they drop into the 40-50s, then a reduction is a good idea because that is getting into a range that is dangerous. If she is bouncing from the 100s, then reducing the dose may/may not help.

Consider these early days as data gathering. You are giving doses, keeping her in safe numbers and seeing what various doses do. Once you have enough data, you'll be able to say "Okay, she is in this range and the last time she was here, I gave X amount of insulin and it did this. So I either want to try that again because the outcome was good, so I want to raise or lower the dose because it wasn't."

So you'll see tonight whether this dose is enough. Get a before bedtime test, if you can, to see where the cycle is headed. Then see if tomorrow amps is better or worse than todays.

Make any sense?

Sue,

Yes it does makes perfect sense. I reduced her dose tonight because her BG reading was 274, and I felt that I shouldn't give her either the 1.0 or 1.2 does...it made me a bit nervous to do so. Plus, I have been waiting for it to get into the 200s to reduce the dose just to see what would happen, since it's been two weeks since she started on ProZinc, and I assumed, been bouncing for a week. I should have tried it this morning when she was 272. Yes, I will get a BG number around 10:00 tonight. You are right, it is "data gathering." Thanks. I love this site!

Linda
p.s. I just realized...it didn't make me nervous to give her the 1.0 unit this morning, but for some reason it did this evening. I don't know why. I guess it's just one of those unexplained things.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top