I can definitely get some numbers on Bob tonight. I'll set my alarm - I don't have too much trouble going back to sleep. I just hate waking him up to do that, but it's for his own good!! So get 3 numbers - at +5, +6 and +7?
Good! Those times sound good for tonight. Might want to try something different for tomorrow night if you are willing.
I'm always afraid to ask someone to set their alarm for those mid-cycle tests at night but sometimes you have to do that to figure out what is going on. I never know how much of a burden this is on someone or how busy their life is, when they get up for work, crying baby kept them up all night the night before, or other complicating factors. Chronic insomnia can affect people and getting up in the middle of the night can make it worse for days. Myself, the chronic insomnia was another opportunity to test Wink when he was still receiving insulin and an opportunity to see what was going on. It all depends on your perspective. ;-)
I really like her but she aggravates me because she doesn't think I should test Bob at home. She says "only test if he's acting different". Well, how easy is that to do when I'm at work or sleeping during his lowest numbers?? She's trying to tell me that it raises his blood sugar when he's stressed and by me testing all day, I could be stressing him out. He's really laid back and usually just lies there and purrs, but every now and then he will try to pull his ear away. Do you think there is anything to what she is saying?
You would not be the first or the last caregiver to disagree with their vet on the hometesting. Cats can get stressed from BG testing, especially in an unfamiliar environment. Most cats can't even stand the car ride to the vet clinic, let alone being surrounded by all those strange people and DOGS!!! Everything I have seen, suggests blood testing at home because that is a less stressful environment, more familiar to your cat.
AAHA Guidelines has this to say. The bold is mine to highlight what they say about home monitoring and why. Ongoing Monitoring of the Cat
Monitoring strategies may be influenced by persistence or resolution of clinical signs. The pressing concern for the newly diagnosed and treated cat is the development of hypoglycemia in individuals that may quickly go into remission.[b] Cats on long-acting insulin may not show overt signs of hypoglycemia until the BG is dangerously low, so it is important to identify impending hypoglycemia by home glucose testing whenever possible.[/b]If BG monitoring is not possible, close attention and documenting changes in clinical signs are imperative. Likewise, urine glucose testing using glucose-detecting crystals in the litter can be helpful for detecting diabetic remission.17
[b]Ongoing home monitoring for all cats[/b]
Log food, water, and appetite daily.
Log insulin dose daily.
Note any signs suggestive of hypoglycemia; contact veterinarian if persistent.
Periodically test urine, looking for negative glycosuria (suggestive of hypoglycemia or diabetic remission) or positive ketonuria (suggestive of substantial hyperglycemia).
At 1 week after initiating insulin treatment
If clinical signs have improved, and no ketonuria is present: Continue present insulin dose.
[b]Introduce home monitoring if not already done.[/b]
If a spot check on the BG is possible, assess for hypoglycemia at 6 to 8 hours following insulin administration
If BG is <150 mg/dL, either decrease insulin dose to 0.5 U q 12 hours, consider dosing q 24 hours, or suspend insulin treatment and wait for clinical signs and glycosuria to recur before restarting insulin at 0.5 U q 12 hours.
If clinical signs have persisted or worsened: Evaluate client compliance and dosing technique (see Client Education).
If adherence is good, consider increasing the dose to 2 U q 12 hours.
If the cat is ketonuric, has developed peripheral neuropathy, or does not have a good appetite, evaluate for DKA and rule out complicating disease (e.g., pancreatitis) that may be worsening the diabetic state.
During the first month after initiating insulin treatment
In-clinic (only if home monitoring is not possible)
Every 1 to 2 weeks:
Spot checks of BG at 6 to 8 hours following insulin administration. Decrease insulin dose if BG is <150 mg/dL.
Cautiously increase insulin dose if clinical signs persist or worsen or ketonuria is noted. Do not exceed 3 U per injection.
Urinalysis (to detect glycosuria, ketonuria, or infection).
Consider BGC if clinical signs persist or worsen and insulin dose is at 3 U per injection.
[b]Home[/b]
Weekly:
[b]Spot checks of BG at 6 to 8 hours following insulin administration (more often if hypoglycemia is suspected).[/b]
Increase dose if necessary based on BG results.
Urine dipsticks for glucose and ketones (particularly useful if BG measurements are not possible).
Every 2 weeks:
[b]Perform BGC (see protocol for BGC).[/b]
Utilize urine dipstick or litter glucose-detecting crystals.
Adjust insulin as discussed previously.
Consider insulin overdose and/or possible diabetic remission if three consecutive negative urine glucose results are obtained.
If ketones or persistently high urine glucose are noted, a clinic evaluation is in order; consider the need for dose increase.
At 1 month after initiating insulin treatment
In-clinic examination recommended for all cats: Thorough history, physical examination, weight, and urinalysis.
[b]Measure fructosamine [size=5]unless detailed home-monitoring records are available[/size].[/b]
Additional laboratory analysis if indicated by examination [Table 1].
Adjust insulin if needed; insulin dose should not be increased more than 1 unit at a time
The cat must be reevaluated if clinical signs persist at 3 U q 12 hours. Consider problems with insulin duration or action, concurrent conditions, or medications causing insulin resistance. The majority of cats on insulin glargine or PZI do not need >3 U of insulin q 12 hours to control diabetes.
Long-term monitoring of insulin treatment
Advise clients to monitor and record the following:
Daily: Clinical signs, food/water intake, insulin dose.
Weekly: Body weight.
Monthly: [b]BG spot checks (twice monthly if practical). If on insulin glargine, evaluate BG prior to insulin administration and at 8 hours following.
If on PZI, evaluate BG prior to insulin administration and 3, 6, and 9 hours later. [/b]Twice monthly: Urine glucose and ketones. If urine glucose is consistently negative, consider diabetic remission.
In-clinic:
Any items listed above that client cannot perform.
If the cat is doing well, [b]don't make changes based on increased BG measurements alone, especially if measured at the clinic.[/b]
Every 3 months: Examination, including weight.
Every 3 to 6 months: Serum fructosamine concentration. If at the lower end of the reference range or below the reference range, consider chronic hypoglycemia and diabetic remission.
[b]Consider monitoring BG or urine glucose at home[/b], or decrease insulin dose and recheck in 4 weeks.
If BG is consistently <150 mg/dL or urine is persistently negative for glucose, or both, consider decreasing the insulin dose, switching treatment to q 24 hours, or stopping insulin and monitoring response. In cats, glucose toxicity suppresses beta cell function, and with control of hyperglycemia and resolution of glucose toxicity, the remaining beta cells become functional again and start secreting insulin.
Every 6 to 12 months: Full laboratory analysis [Table 1].
I was really lucky with Wink. Vet is only 5 minutes away and he is one laid back dude at the vets.
Maybe print out a copy of the guidelines to politely share with your vet as to why you want to continue to home test. You may end up simply agreeing to disagree on the value of home testing. It may start a seed to grow in your vets mind and that could be a good thing for the next diabetic client.
BTW, I'm taking Bob for a fructosamine test on Thursday and an exam by the specialist.
Why is your vet doing a fructosamine test when you have more accurate real time numbers from home testing? Take a copy of your SS with you or email it to her. If you look at the AAHA Diabetes management guidelines again, they say
At 1 month after initiating insulin treatment
In-clinic examination recommended for all cats
Measure fructosamine unless detailed home-monitoring records are available
Just an option to think about and possibly save a little bit of money. Your choice as always.