Is this a bounce?

Wirtz Family

Member Since 2026
Admin non-urgent-

Newly diagnosed. Started ReliOn testing at home recently. We are seeing BG preshot at >300, then nadir close to or at normal. Seems like a big drop. Not much data in spreadsheet tho 😩 Should we stick with what we are doing or decrease the PZ dose? Do you think changing her Tiki and Wellness canned food (7.5% carb DWB) to mostly raw (<5% carb)?

Currently 1.5 units PZ at 7am and 7pm.

11 yo female Siamese. Labs recorded in spreadsheet on tab. Hyperthyroid, on 2.5 mg 2x per day methimazole; acc to labs, pre-CKD, bouts of pancreatitis we think but not diagnosed; some weakness in hind legs noted in last 2 months (changed habit of jumping on bed at night; now she sleeps under our bed).

Still peeing more than normal, but poops have firmed up. Sleeps a lot during the day but will wake up to eat if we put food in front of her. Trying to keep carbs < 10% and will be trying new raw, wet food this week.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Skippy Jon Jones' Sugar Sheet

Xposted in FB group
 
Do not increase the dose at this time. She’s seeing green during the cycles. She’s dropping too fast during the early part of the cycle. When are you feeding her? She needs snacks during the early portion of the cycle. She may also need to be fed a few more carbs at breakfast time to slow her down.
 
Do not increase the dose at this time. She’s seeing green during the cycles. She’s dropping too fast during the early part of the cycle. When are you feeding her? She needs snacks during the early portion of the cycle. She may also need to be fed a few more carbs at breakfast time to slow her down.
Hi. Thank you for the advice.

We feed her 4 to 6 times a day, with freefeeding overnight (10pm-5am). All wet canned.

Feeding 7am
Shoot 7:10pm
Feeding 11am (she usually gets hungry at this time)
Feeding/offer food 1pm
Feeding 4pm (then withhold food til BG test)

Feeding 7pm
Shoot 7:10pm
Free feeding 10pm to 5am (then withhold food til BG test)
Feeding 7am...

We have Hills WD cans still (26.4% carb DMB), so we will add that to her preshot meal (1/2 Hills + 1/2 Wellness Core) at 7am this morning (it's an hour from now), and again at 11am. I can put her in front of her food bowl at 9am (she "forgets" to eat so we gotta show her). I will leave out the food in the morning.

We can do another curve on Sunday (in 6 days) to see how her numbers look.

Let me know if you dont think that's a good plan 😯
 
Hi. Thank you for the advice.

We feed her 4 to 6 times a day, with freefeeding overnight (10pm-5am). All wet canned.

Feeding 7am
Shoot 7:10pm
Feeding 11am (she usually gets hungry at this time)
Feeding/offer food 1pm
Feeding 4pm (then withhold food til BG test)

Feeding 7pm
Shoot 7:10pm
Free feeding 10pm to 5am (then withhold food til BG test)
Feeding 7am...

We have Hills WD cans still (26.4% carb DMB), so we will add that to her preshot meal (1/2 Hills + 1/2 Wellness Core) at 7am this morning (it's an hour from now), and again at 11am. We can do another curve on Sunday (in 6 days) to see how her numbers look.

Let me know if you dont think that's a good plan 😯
Whoa. That is more carbs than I was thinking of. I was recommending something in the 7-9 percent range. I would definitely not do half and half.
 
What I really would like to see if if she would eat at +1.5. Even if it means a smaller breakfast portion so that she’s willing to eat again (it doesn’t have to be a lot of food — a tablespoon perhaps).
 
Sorry it's taking so long. I was looking for the can but apparently we are out.

We feed her Wellness Core chicken pate (but we use that up yesterday, still have someone a plate in the fridge though.). We feed her Sheba pate. And we also have Wellness Core tiny tasters but she doesn't like those really and won't eat them without being mixed with something else.

So this morning it would/could be Sheba/wellness core.

I had to convert the moisture percentages that they give to dry matter basis. And I calculated between 7 and 9% for the most part. Because sometimes they don't give you the ash content.
 
Last edited:
Okay. I have looked at a LOT of the Wellness Core canned foods Of all the ones I have seen they are all too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. It must be all of the tapioca starch and potato starch that I see in there in the ingredients.

Looks like the pates are better though!!
 
Last edited:
This chicken pate?
1771856399448.png
 
Okay. I have looked at a LOT of the Wellness Core canned foods Of all the ones I have seen they are all too high in carbs for a diabetic cat. It must be all of the tapioca starch and potato starch that I see in there in the ingredients.
That makes sense. We were getting Tiki which seems really low in carbs... Like 2%? I can get that today. We won't feed it to her as a sole food though.

We were also looking at getting a frozen raw food. But I'm waiting back to hear from the manufacturer. It's called tucker's. And they give the mineral content but I don't know if that's moisture basis or dry weight basis. If it's dry weight basis then the phosphorus is pretty low and that's good for my cat because she's mild CKD per her labs for the last 2 years. But if the numbers they give for the mineral content are ME, then the phosphorus is really high and I can't get it for Skippy.

So just to be clear, should all meals be around 7 percent carbs? Or just the ones in the morning?

Anyway, if you have any food recommendations, let me know. I'm in Northern California.
 
It looks like the signature select line of the wellness core food are the ones with a lot of starches in them so perhaps the other patés are also low enough in carbs for a diabetic cat, like the chicken paté that you are currently feeding.
 
So before I tinkered around with the carb percentages too much, the first thing I would do would be to move her first snack to an earlier time— at the very latest two hours after her shot. I’m concerned that won’t even be soon enough, because she has dropped a lot by two hours after her shot. It looks like the ProZinc onsets quite rapidly for her, whereas in many cats, it takes two hours before their BG starts to go down with ProZinc.
 
So before I tinkered around with the carb percentages too much, the first thing I would do would be to move her first snack to an earlier time— at the very latest two hours after her shot. I’m concerned that won’t even be soon enough, because she has dropped a lot by two hours after her shot. It looks like the ProZinc onsets quite rapidly for her, whereas in many cats, it takes two hours before their BG starts to go down with ProZinc.
Got it. One step at a time, then reassess. Thank you.
 
I need to switch to a different computer. I definitely understand about seeking lower phosphorus foods. I’m not sure how low you’re wanting to go with your phosphorus, but — have you tried any of the Weruva BFF pates? I feed those to quite a few of my cats because I want to keep their phosphorus on the lower end since they’re older cats. For my cat that has CKD, however, I have to feed the prescription renal foods and use a phosphorus binder.
 
I need to switch to a different computer. I definitely understand about seeking lower phosphorus foods. I’m not sure how low you’re wanting to go with your phosphorus, but — have you tried any of the Weruva BFF pates? I feed those to quite a few of my cats because I want to keep their phosphorus on the lower end since they’re older cats. For my cat that has CKD, however, I have to feed the prescription renal foods and use a phosphorus binder.
We just yesterday found a pet food store that carries Weruva, so we are buying it today. Glad you recommend it.
 
I see the SDMA number, yes, but I don’t completely trust that test, perhaps it’s more of an indicator of future, kidney problems, although I have seen the numbers in my cats fluctuate up and down with the SDMA test, that is why I don’t completely trust it – – although it may be good for tracking trends. Hers seems to be stable. It is wise, though, to limit her phosphorus, in my opinion, as it is with all senior cats. It just reduces a lot of workload on their kidneys, not having to clear all that phosphorus.
 
You have your work cut out for you! We can talk more later. I look forward to seeing if the food timing can help her. She doesn’t always seem to drop early in a big way, but she did on the last curve that you did, which is what caught my attention. We really just don’t want her dropping more than about 100 points per hour. Steep drops like that can set up a bounce which obviously we don’t want.
 
Back
Top