Is this a bounce?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karin&Jesse

Member Since 2014
I had to ration my test strips until tomorrow when I can get into town. I had enough to do am and pm pre shots plus 4 extra for an emergency. She has been feeling better and better, taking long, normal cat naps, not begging for good. I had her doing well on her meals regulated to the regular (larger) 2X day plus two smaller meals in between.

This morning the ps number was 149. I have the printout of the Start Low go Slow approach always next to me at my "station" which says to not give the shot if they under 150. So, I didn't. I decided to use my four emergency strips and watch her in case she goes lower. Instead she is going sky high. Is this a bounce maybe from what was probably a good day, yesterday?

I'll be getting keto test strips tomorrow also.
 
It is more likely a result of the insulin wearing off.

To bounce, the cat must have had either an unusual low (for the cat) in a previous cycle (as much as 3 days earlier) and/or have dropped very quickly. The cat becomes accustomed to a level of glucose and large drops or sudden drops trigger compensatory hormones which release stored glucose.

What you saw the evening of 1/3 is probably a bounce.

If the nadirs are nowhere near 90 mg/dL, you could have stalled 30 minutes without food, retested, and probably been OK to shoot safely.

Its really important to be as consistent as possible with the dosing and to change doses in small amounts of 0.25 units so you don't miss a good dose.
 
Well this is discouraging.

I followed this:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=61797
on what to do with a low preshot dose. Is this correct? Now, what? Will I be starting all over again?
I dropped to 1 from 2. I could not get a clear answer as to whether I should do it in one step or small steps. I think one person said to start all over with 1 so that's what I did.
Poor Jesse. She felt so good yesterday now she is just sitting on the counter where I feed her looking very unhappy and waiting for more food. I ruined her whole day.
 
You did fine skipping this morning. Remember, it's up to your discretion and your ability to monitor on whether or not to give a shot when their pre-shot is lower than 150. Yes, she would have probably been fine if you'd given her the shot, but you were unsure so it's better to err on the side of caution. Now you know in the future to try giving the shot and monitoring to see how she handles it or even giving a reduced dose instead. Simply treat it as a "fur shot" and realize she might run slightly higher numbers for the next cycle or two, but it'll even out soon and you'll be back on your way. No need to "start over again."

And a "restart" to 1u is not a bad idea. Just hold the 1u dose for 6 cycles/3 days before increasing (if need be) and only increase by .25u from here on out.

You're doing fine! There's a lot of information you're still learning, so don't beat yourself up over anything. This is a marathon, not a sprint. ;-)
 
Thanks Kpassa (love your name). I thought about it later, that if I had given the dose and she went hypo, then I'd feel really bad. I guess it is a matter of learning how she reacts to the treatment.
 
. . . another question. If you miss a dose either on purpose or accidentally, do you need to wait another six cycles before doing a curve?
 
Yes. Lantus takes about 6 full cycles to stabilize once you've been using it.

Getting those mid-cycle tests in the +5 to +7 range lets you monitor for safety (staying above 50 mg/dL).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top