Hi Sue,
As you know the only reference number that FDMB has supportive evidence for when using Alphatrak meters is the 3.8/68 nominal hypo threshold reference point.
Not long after I joined FDMB I found using the human meter colour-coding far too confusing when trying to determine how well Saoirse was progressing and how safe she was so I use the following reference values with my Alphatrak to monitor Saoirse:
Normal BG Reference Range: 3.9 - 8.3mmol/L (provided by my vet - from Merck Veterinary Manual IIRC)
Hypo range alert - 4.4mmol/L (from a slightly older TR dosing protocol publication by Roomp/Rand)
Point where I intervene with carbs/give a dose reduction when treating with Lantus: 3.9mmol/L.
I personally would be loath to continue treating any cat of mine with Caninsulin if it were to start having nadirs less than 5.0 mmol/L / 90mg/dL unless a realistic dose reduction were feasible. Indeed, if the cat's preshots were less than 11.1/200 and it was on a microdose I would be looking to withhold Caninsulin altogether and seeking to switch to a gentler, longer-acting insulin (which would have been my preference in the first instance, I hasten to add). In closing, it is worth noting that Saoirse's BG was at 4.3 mmol/L when she had a symptomatic hypo on Caninsulin - technically well above the 3.8/68 reference point for which FDMB has an evidence base.
NB: All reference numbers above are ALPHATRAK values.
IMPORTANT NOTE:
For anyone reading this thread, please note that this approach is purely based on my personal experience of treating Saoirse with Caninsulin and the comfort zone I defined based on that experience. There is there is no formal scientific basis whatsoever for my Caninsulin treatment choices; I have based them on Saoirse's empirical data and consequently have made dosing decisions based on my view of what would keep her (or any diabetic cat I might have) as safe as possible on that particular insulin. FWIW, the only time Saoirse has had a symptomatic hypo was in the early days on Caninsulin when I didn't have the confidence to follow Dr Lisa Pierson's advice about reducing insulin dose when transitioning from high to low carb food when my vet told me to hold the dose regardless. (Incidentally that was the very last time I put someone else's dosing opinions/instructions above my own sense of what should be safe - and my own sense is based on research and Saoirse's data.)
Mogs
.