Is my vial of Lantus still okay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

emchic

Member Since 2012
I've been using my current vial of Lantus since Dec 24, so about five months. Everything I've heard from people says vials are good for about 2-3 months, but I've gotten mostly beautiful readings (except for when Zoozey gets into Molly and Pepper's dry food) since the end of March. And Zoozey is fantastic--he's put on weight and doesn't look like a furry skeleton anymore, and he bothers me for attention and he plays frequently.

Is it possible that this vial is still good? It seems like a long time to be using a vial, and I do have two pens in the fridge ready and waiting when the vial is no longer good, but he's got such great readings...
 
if the bottle is clear, nothing floating in it and you are getting good numbers, then it is probably still good. some signs that the insulin is not good -- cloudy not clear, things floating in it and wonky not good bgs.
 
Cool. It's clear, there's nothing floating around in it, and his pmps tonight was 107, so I'm guessing it's okay then. I was just concerned since the vial is more than 5 months old, and I didn't want to give him wonky insulin. Zoozey's only been on insulin since November. And thus far, the only reason I had to refill it was because I broke his first vial. I didn't know insulin could last this long.

Thank you!
 
It is probably fine however do you think you can get some midcycle tests in? The numbers look really good and I wonder if he is going under 50 during mid cycle.. If he is he gets a dose decrease... And you also want to check he isn't going dangerously low...
 
I have been wondering lately if a dose decrease is in order as well, but I haven't been home to do mid cycle checks, so I didn't want to jack with anything unless I was home to monitor him. I've barely been home period the past couple of months. But he very well may dip to the 50 range tonight because he's 81 at +2. When I emerge from my mountain of end of semester grading, I'll be at home during the day more often to check him mid-cycle for the next few months. He's been doing so well that I was kind of hoping I might be able to get him OTJ this summer. Fingers crossed!
 
Yeah I know how u feel but you all the same might want to set the alarm and do a quick night check tonite. It's hard getting up in the middle of the night for sure but its worse doing what I did and waking up to find your cat in a hypo coma. Bailey was likely doing that every night and somehow pulling through. I was lucky he didn't die but at the same time it impacted his health slowly over time and now his vision is poor and he has mini seizures.


Please get a night check .. It only takes a minute and can be a life saver.

If you can't, then I would try reducing the dose by 1/4 unit anyway and see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top