Is my Scooter really diabetic?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks:
We need some advice please. Nine days ago Scooter went to the vet presenting with flu like symptoms. His blood was tested for many things but the only problem was his BG was 499. Scooters brother Jack is diabetic but OTJ since Feb/12. The Vet and I assumed he was diabetic and I brought him home and started with home testing, insulin and curving. A hassle but not a problem because so many of you walked me thru helping Jack. Thank you!

Since bringing Scooter home and starting him on clavamox and insulin everything slowly got better. Oh I also started him on Fancy Feast food ( same as Jack). Everything has gotten better including his BG. He has been below 150 for 4 of the 9 days now. I have not given him any insulin and he is stable.

My question is : Do you think he might not be diabetic?

thanks for you time once again,

Linda and Scooter
 
Hi Linda.....

Can you set up a spreadsheet for Scooter so we can see how his numbers are without insulin so far? http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

It would help to keep track of his numbers while just on food. We will be able to give you better advice.

It would be awesome if he is diet-controlled. :-D

What kind of insulin are/were you using?

We are here to help you.....as you already know. ;-)
 
Infection , illness, and teeth issues can raise bg.

Are you using a human glucometer?

I would agree to set him up a ss so you can keep track and everyone can see here when you need advise.

It is possible that it was temporary blip but it is also possible he's just in the very early stages and the earlier you catch him with numbers above normal and
give him a little insulin support (when he needs it) , the more likely you would get him into remission.
 
What kind of fancy feast is it?

If he was under 150 for four days that means he was too high the other 5 (how high did he go?). He might need a little insulin to help him out

Wendy
 
Hi Folks: Sorry for the long response time the cold weather and snow here has kept power lines down. However Scooter has been between 80 and 103 on a relion human meter now for 10 days in a row. I am feeding him fancy feast classics only and he has been back to the vet. She wants me to keep checking him daily and keep him on fancy feast classics. He has a dental infection which he is being treated for with clindrops. He will have surgery once he is feeling better. I have had the honor of being his caregiver for 9 years but he came to me when my other cat Jack brought him home. Our vet thinks he is quite old though so she would like him to be feeling better.

I will do a chart as per your advice in case he needs help. Thank you all so much for having my back. I never feel alone in the diabetes battle when I come here. :smile:

Linda
 
thats great news - if he can stay 50-130 then we consider him in remission.. it will help him to get that dental infection fixed too.

Wendy
 
Hi Folks:

Update: I finally got his SS done and out of my illusion that he may not need insulin. We are going to call the vet for an appointment tomorrow and get her advice on what is next.

His spreadsheet shows me everything and that he needs more help.

Thank you all for having my back and Scooters life. I appreciate it more than you know.

Linda
 
Aw... his numbers went very much the wrong direction.... But.. that doesn't mean you can't get him much better.

I'd love to see you get him on Lantus (glargine) or Levemir....There are better insulins for cats than the Humulin.
Please, please come back....
we can collectively give you all kinds of help....
anything you need, just ask..

I managed to be one of the lucky ones who got to remission status because of everyone's help here.
This is a very caring community.
 
I think you need to get some more tests in during the day and night. I wonder how low he is going and I wonder if those reds are in fact bouncing off low numbers.
 
Thanks Folks!

BJM has been such a godsend to me and Scooter these past few days. Thank you!! Today I am doing a curve that started out at 361 and is in process. The lantus here is over 200 dollars and out of my personal price range right now so if I can stabilize him some how on this humilin N that would be great. His dental is scheduled for next Monday.

I am waiting for his Vet to call me, she is in an emergency surgery right now. She is an amazing Vet and has stepped up and even checked out this board. Scooter is my second sugar kitty and because of this board and all of you "Jack" is still OTJ going into his 2nd year.

Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for all of your help.

Linda
 
Hi Folks:
Oh gosh what a day! Scooter hates ear pricks now. :smile:

So his curve is done. Hats off to those of you who do 12 hrs worth. I think I am suppose to up his insulin to 4u now. I am sure he is not getting enough help.

thank you for input!
 
We try to raise by 0.25 units at a time so we don't miss a good dose.

You'll have to eyeball it as syringes don't mark that finely.
 
I know very little about humalin but I think if it was me I would want a few days of data before making a change. Perhaps do a couple spot checks around +3 to +7 tomorrow to see how low he goes then, and one night too. They tend to go lower at night.

And I wouldn't increase a full unit. That's a lot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top