? Is my cat leading to diabetes? Where to post for help and suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
So, it looks like my biggest fear is becoming real: my, what I thought non-sugar kitty MISSY (14yrs old long hair calico with IBD and arthritis), may actually becoming diabetic.
Since my Micio's diabetes diagnosys more then a year ago, I started testing her BGs as well, at least 2 hours after feeding and whenever I could sneak on her: numbers have been between 93 and low 100's but in the last week they raised to 140-150s and this morning 157! ( and now I am in a full panic mode because Missy is not a "normal" cat and I know for sure, if I have to start insulin treatment, she would not let me give her shots what so ever.
She's very emotional, distress, scared of everything cat but in the same time she's also very unpredictable and can turn into "cat from hell" in no time. And, since Micio's health declining and all of the changes he's/ we're going through, she's also gotten much worse and started hissing and even brushing or trimming nails are becoming impossible cause she'll try to bite ( have been to ER because of her bites before and not something I'm looking forward to it).
Somehow I'm able to test her bg's on her ears when she's nice and calm but that doesn't mean I'll be able to give shots: we've tried to give Adequan in the past but she turned into a raging/screaming cat before even beginning...also visits to the vets have become impossible, her fear is so bad she'll pee on herself before taking her out of the carrier.
Anyway, just like my other diabetic cat, she's on raw meat diet for about 11 yrs with very tiny amount of low carb/ high quality canned food (used just as a topping), takes pro/prebiotics, fibers and she's been on Budesonide .3mg once daily for several years now for her IBD (occasionally BUT still, have some hairballs issues along with some recent constipation which will eventually lead to vomit).
WONDER IF BUDESONIDE COULD BE THE CULPRIT OF BG'S ELEVATION? (In the past I tried several times to decrease the dosage, even by very little, but she started feeling bad again so we continued with .3mg once daily)

Just few months ago she had a check up (blood work and urine culture) after I noticed a sudden increase on thirst, water intake and urination: vet said she has some inflammation going on but didn't suggest any further treatment other than keep an eye on her.

What to do next? Fructosamine test to confirm or what else could I possibly try since diet unlikely is the issue?
@Diane Tyler's Mom , @Suzanne & Darcy , @Wendy&Neko
Tnx in advance for any help!
 
If she's a scaredy cat, I'd also consider getting several Feliway diffusers and strategically placing them around the house. If you're not familiar with the product, Feliway is a pheromone than can help to reduce stress. I've used with when I've moved to help my cats acclimate to new surroundings and I've also used it when I introduced a new cat into the house. Stress can be a cause for elevated blood glucose levels.

While budesonide has less of an impact on blood glucose, it may be a contributing factor.
 
Infection/inflammation and constipation can all raise the BG's. That includes bad teeth/gums. I's suggest a vet check up to check for those things. And maybe throw in a fructosamine and/or check her urine for glucose.
 
I've read that stress for cats can easily make their values go towards 200-300s, but only diabetes can make their values go above 400. Not sure if this is outdated information.

Usually drastic attitude change is a sign of extreme duress, such as an infection or wound. Have you checked to see if any claws are broken? And do you have any dipsticks that can check for white blood cells or bacteria in her urine that could be causing a UTI?

Feliway is a fantastic product. Diffusers should be placed where cats commonly congregate, and multiple diffusers would be a good idea. I highly recommend the Multi-cat variety. I believe they also make a spritzer bottle with a short term spray, you can use that on any kitty beds/soft places of comfort that she enjoys. Gabapentin is also an anxiety medication that does cause drowsiness, but it works great for humans and cats alike! It can be sprinkled into food, so might be worthwhile asking your vet about anxiety treatments if nothing else turns up.
 
If she's a scaredy cat, I'd also consider getting several Feliway diffusers and strategically placing them around the house. If you're not familiar with the product, Feliway is a pheromone than can help to reduce stress. I've used with when I've moved to help my cats acclimate to new surroundings and I've also used it when I introduced a new cat into the house. Stress can be a cause for elevated blood glucose levels.

While budesonide has less of an impact on blood glucose, it may be a contributing factor.
Tnx...been using Feliway for very long time, especially lately. She just gets traumatized with nothing and will stay that way. It all got worse starting when, over a year ago, I couldn't go inside the vet clinic with her during appointments because of Covid safety protocol and I always had the bad feeling that something must have happened cause she's not the same since....
 
Infection/inflammation and constipation can all raise the BG's. That includes bad teeth/gums. I's suggest a vet check up to check for those things. And maybe throw in a fructosamine and/or check her urine for glucose.

I used to brush both my kittie's teeth every day, then moved to 3-5 times at week in order to avoid extra stress ...now she can barely let me pick her up without fearing she'll snap at me and bite, no matter how gentle I am. When months ago I tooke her to the new vet, the Dr. (a man) couldn't barely visit her...they had to throw a blanket on her head in order to get blood. I was in the room and felt horrible cause I can only immagine how bad she hated that and caused her even more trauma, she was screaming like crazy even before doing anything and that was with Gabapentin too. As for urine test, I have to collect that myself and I try to do it in the "cleanest" way possible; we know that's not the way a urine culture should be done but that's all we could do, I collected it straight from the stream with a very clean lid and took it to the vet. I also test her urine with the Keytones and glucose strips several times but all good there. Also bought the Pretty Litter to monitor any urine color change but seems normal too...
Guess I'll make an appointment with the vet and recheck blood, urine and fructosamine but, as far as I understood, my new vet will be concerned about BG numbers above 180 or so
 
I've read that stress for cats can easily make their values go towards 200-300s, but only diabetes can make their values go above 400. Not sure if this is outdated information.

Usually drastic attitude change is a sign of extreme duress, such as an infection or wound. Have you checked to see if any claws are broken? And do you have any dipsticks that can check for white blood cells or bacteria in her urine that could be causing a UTI?

Feliway is a fantastic product. Diffusers should be placed where cats commonly congregate, and multiple diffusers would be a good idea. I highly recommend the Multi-cat variety. I believe they also make a spritzer bottle with a short term spray, you can use that on any kitty beds/soft places of comfort that she enjoys. Gabapentin is also an anxiety medication that does cause drowsiness, but it works great for humans and cats alike! It can be sprinkled into food, so might be worthwhile asking your vet about anxiety treatments if nothing else turns up.

Yes, using Feliway for long time and it does help with anxiety but I think she has different kind of issues...seems to me she gets traumatized with very little things /events and will remember forever...example: many years ago she was near me when I mistakenly dropped a spoon from the kitchen cabinet drawer and, of course, it made a loud noise on the tile floor and since, everytime I open any drawer she'll run away before I even touch anyting. I try to remember all of the things that can possibly trigger fears but sometimes it's impossible,, we're walking on eggshells with her :(
 
Human meter or pet?

Have you tried Rescue Remedy for Pets? That's another product that can help calm them down. I used both it and Feliway spray in Neko's carrier when she went to the vet.

Human meter, the same I use for Micio BGs test 7+ times at day...Haven't tried Rescue Remedy for Pets yet but I will, Thank you! But I did tried Feliway spray and wipes separetely with no luck
 
Hi Simone. I'm just seeing this and haven't read through every singly reply that you received. I am sure people mentioned that she could be ill in some way with, for example, a UTI, or she could have a tooth problem or another medical problem. Stress can elevate BG -- if there's anything else stressful going on. I have just recently started (well, actually today) a new calming product for which I've read good reviews. It is Purina Pro Plan Veterinary Supplements, "Calming Care" Feline Calming Probiotic Supplement. The box says it can take up to 6 weeks to see results, but the reviews are encouraging. So it's not an immediate solution, but something besides Feliway to consider. Feliway has never done much for my cat problems here! I have been trying another thing in a diffuser called Pet Remedy (also there's a spray, like Feliway, where there's a diffuser and a spray.)
 
Tnx...been using Feliway for very long time, especially lately. She just gets traumatized with nothing and will stay that way. It all got worse starting when, over a year ago, I couldn't go inside the vet clinic with her during appointments because of Covid safety protocol and I always had the bad feeling that something must have happened cause she's not the same since....
Oh, this is terrible. I bet you are right about something happening at the vet when you were not there with her. I am so sorry.
She does sound like a cat who could benefit from a little Gabepentin (in particular before a vet visit and or on a regular basis since she has arthritis.) I normally recommend Buprenorphine, but you can probably get her to eat Gabapentin mixed in food, whereas Bupe doesn't work like that and should be applied transmucosally (on the gums) in order to be properly absorbed (as it is not well absorbed through the digestive tract.) I would go to the vet and also get the Fructosamine test to see what her average BG has been over the course of a few weeks. Even if high-ish, it still could be caused by illness/inflammation. I hope your vet is careful in how they handle stressed animals.
 
This is making me wonder if the vet/assistants she saw had accidentally broken a bone and it didn’t heal correctly, and maybe that’s what caused her arthritis…. Is there a particular area she’s extremely defensive about? Aside from the, y’know, all of her? Cats are fragile creatures, after all… Maybe take her to a new vet and do a wellness check, and remind your kitty that you’re there with her. A dirty shirt of yours that you don’t care about in the carrier can help with that!

Healing, especially delayed healing, can increase sugar levels. That’s why infections tend to raise levels, as the body is pouring extra energy into combating it. This is true for humans and cats! However though, if its an infection that causes hypoglycemia that is an extreme emergency, as that’s when its causing systemic shutdowns like septic shock.
 
Human meter or pet?

Have you tried Rescue Remedy for Pets? That's another product that can help calm them down. I used both it and Feliway spray in Neko's carrier when she went to the vet.
This is making me wonder if the vet/assistants she saw had accidentally broken a bone and it didn’t heal correctly, and maybe that’s what caused her arthritis…. Is there a particular area she’s extremely defensive about? Aside from the, y’know, all of her? Cats are fragile creatures, after all… Maybe take her to a new vet and do a wellness check, and remind your kitty that you’re there with her. A dirty shirt of yours that you don’t care about in the carrier can help with that!

Healing, especially delayed healing, can increase sugar levels. That’s why infections tend to raise levels, as the body is pouring extra energy into combating it. This is true for humans and cats! However though, if its an infection that causes hypoglycemia that is an extreme emergency, as that’s when its causing systemic shutdowns like septic shock.

Missy has become more and more sensitive about her body through the years, especially on her sides and back legs. I know she must have fall from the cat tree when she was little but no broken bones that I know of...I am seeing a different vet lately, did not trust the old clinic anymore. The bad part is that the new Dr. is a man and she's not comfortable around men. Going to schedule an appointment tomorrow, hopefully I'll be able to get her in soon.
 
This really does sound like she's in pain. I hope you can find some answers, Simone. Hugs to you!

Thanks Suzanne! I'll call the vet tomorrow to schedule an appointment....meanwhile I just ordered an Assisi Loop for my cats hoping it'll help with inflammation and pain. I do know a licenced wildlife rihabilitator that successfully uses that with injured animals of all kinds and highly recommended for my cats as well...we'll see, fingers crossed.
 
Oh, this is terrible. I bet you are right about something happening at the vet when you were not there with her. I am so sorry.
She does sound like a cat who could benefit from a little Gabepentin (in particular before a vet visit and or on a regular basis since she has arthritis.) I normally recommend Buprenorphine, but you can probably get her to eat Gabapentin mixed in food, whereas Bupe doesn't work like that and should be applied transmucosally (on the gums) in order to be properly absorbed (as it is not well absorbed through the digestive tract.) I would go to the vet and also get the Fructosamine test to see what her average BG has been over the course of a few weeks. Even if high-ish, it still could be caused by illness/inflammation. I hope your vet is careful in how they handle stressed animals.

Both of my cats acted weird with Gaba, it does calm them down and somehow make them drowsy but as soon as it wore down then they got extremely vocal and very nervous....still, she didn't let the vet take a look in her mouth or visit her last time, neither was able to collect urine cause she' peed on herself while in the carrier. And everytime I take Micio back home from the vet, she'll be angry and hiss at him for at least a whole week 'till all of the smell from the clinic goes away ...yup, she really hates going to the vet.
 
Infection/inflammation and constipation can all raise the BG's. That includes bad teeth/gums. I's suggest a vet check up to check for those things. And maybe throw in a fructosamine and/or check her urine for glucose.

I made an appointment with vet for bloodwork and check up for this Dec 20th; vet said Missy could be on a "grey" spot right now where is hard to tell if she's heading to diabetes or she's up to something else, just told me to monitor her numbers once/twice a month for now...well, I'm actually testing her almost every day and her bg's are constantly around 140+. Unless she gets sedated, vet can't really check her mouth or other body parts.
What does FRUCTOSAMINE will reveal exactly with bg's readings at this range?
As I was reading through the documents, at least it seems fructosamine numberst it's likely not influenced by stress...
Also, did you mean get her urine test for glucose at the vet or by me using the strips?
Tnx
 
What does FRUCTOSAMINE will reveal exactly with bg's readings at this range?

Fructosamine is a compound formed by the combination (binding) of sugars with proteins (glycated protein.) So the test measures the glucose that is bound to proteins in the blood (mostly albumin since that is the most abundant protein in the blood.) The life span of the protein is about 14-21 days. As long as the proteins remain “alive” circulating in the blood, the glucose stays bound to it. Measuring these glycated proteins (fructosamine) provides a picture of the amount of sugar in the blood for that time period of 2-3 weeks. It's not going to be influenced by stress in the same way that a single reading of glucose at the vet would be. If she's under continual stress at home, I suppose that could drive up her BG.
 
If you've ever had a blood test (usually part of your annual physical) there may have been tests both for blood glucose and hemoglobin A1c (HgbA1c). These are two different ways to test for diabetes. The blood glucose test is where your numbers are at the time the test is done (i.e., right now). The A1c is what amounts to an average over the course of the past 3 months. The calibration is not the same as for blood glucose but the advantage is that you have a better idea of glucose levels over a period of time versus what may be an outlier. The HgbA1c is similar in function to a fructosamine test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top