Well, I got thrown something of a curve ball on Friday. I finally found a pharmacy willing to sell me a single Lantus pen. Hurrah! They want a prescription. No biggie, I called my vet's office to get one. It was only when I called back to see how long it would be to get it did I find out that my vet was on vacation until June 9th. No one had told me this was coming and I told them Sarge was getting low on just 0.50 units of Novolin N and that 0.25 was ok for now but given his history this might only be true for a couple days. I need to get him on a "gentler" insulin now. So, about 5pm my vet calls. She says she in concerned that Lantus might bring him too low too. Frankly so was I.
She asked me if I wanted to bring him in and have them curve him on 0.50 units of Novolin N with their Alpha Track meter, I said no (we had just gone around and around human vs. the Alpha Track. I explained why my meter was just as appropriate and Sarge's behavior and trends back up my numbers). So, she said we should do a one week no insulin trial and I should call on day 8 with his curve numbers. Ok, that was something I did feel I needed to try but I am REALLY frustrated.
They made it sound like I could switch to Lantus when Sarge was ready but now she wants me to bring him to the clinic for two days of in office curving with Lantus when she gets back. I am trying hard to not be mad. So far all the curves I have done at their office have been a complete waste. I was already suspicious his initial dose after the first curve was too high. I told them my suspicion and gave them my data. At his 1 week recurve they INCREASED his dose and he bounced big time. Luckily he was too low when I got him home to even try this (not that I dared) and the vet said to give him a lower dose that night. After that I started to slowly adjust his dose based on his home testing and a few weeks later here we are looking a just 0.25 units. A far cry from the 4 units they sent him home on. I am not a vet and don't pretend to be but part of me feels like if I had followed their instructions I would not have a Sarge right now.
Well, three days into the no insulin trial Sarge is maintaining a BG of about 330 on no carb Tiki cat. Knowing that I'm not really excited about making this a one week trial. I really haven't seen much variation. No wild numbers is nice and the trend supports the the argument my meter is just fine but I'm not seeing a decrease. So, this may be his no insulin baseline at the moment.
So, what is a girl to do? Do I give the trial more time? Do I give him his Novolin back and try like mad/hope to keep him safe at 0.25 units. Do I really need a script for Lantus? I didn't for Novolin N. I am pretty sure if I bought a 5 pack of pens from any other pharmacy and didn't use the discount card I could buy them. Do I really need my vet to switch him to Lantus? Is it standard for the vet to do the first curve or am within my "rights" to insist on doing it myself? I already know I don't want to start him on anything more than 0.25 units 2x a day based on his home data and what I have researched. Knowing that, do I really need their curving?
Sorry, this is so long. My head is swimming. Also have a constipated cat on my hands due to it being harder to hide his daily Miralax in shredded Tiki Cat. When it rains it pours! But, life is good
