Is It Safe To Shoot Now- Two Hours Early?

Status
Not open for further replies.

firefly

Member
I just increased Gracie's dosage this morning from 1.4 to 1.6. I just checked her at +10, and her BG is 413. Would it be already to give her insulin to her two hours early?

It appears to me that more I increase her dosage the higher her numbers are going.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
That's a strange number. Did you retest to be sure it wasn't a bad test?

No I didn't. She has been having strange AMPS, and PMPS for a few days now. I will retest now.
 
Yes, you could give the shot now. You may have to do some adjusting tomorrow. And try going back down on dose. Maybe we are going the wrong way....
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Yes, you could give the shot now. You may have to do some adjusting tomorrow. And try going back down on dose. Maybe we are going the wrong way....

You mean go back to the 1.4 dose? This week I have wondered about "going the wrong way." If you look at her SS on 12/14, almost all of her numbers were in the 200s and she was on 1.0 units, although she did start rising some. I did drop the dose to .75, but didn't do it for three cycles. Should I gradually start decreasing her dosage by .25, and hold it for three cycles, and then go down another .25, and so on?
 
Just data gathering. Muttering, muttering.....

I liked her numbers on 1.4. But thought she had room to drop a little more. Maybe she is a kitty who takes a week to settle into a dose.

Either way - 1 unit or 1.4. Regardless, we should learn something.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Just data gathering. Muttering, muttering.....

I liked her numbers on 1.4. But thought she had room to drop a little more. Maybe she is a kitty who takes a week to settle into a dose.

Either way - 1 unit or 1.4. Regardless, we should learn something.

Making sure I understand you correctly...either go back down to 1 unit, or I can drop it to 1.4?
 
I will go back down to 1 unit tomorrow morning, and keep her there for awhile(?). Maybe a week or more? I don't know what I would do without you and this place. I am not the basket case that I was a little over a month ago when I first started, but I sometimes get a little distressed when I see her numbers aren't improving. Thanks.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Can you add ketone testing? A smart thing to do any time you reduce the dose.

Yes, I will try to get one tomorrow. I will be gone for a few hours tomorrow, but will try and get it tomorrow,if not the next day for sure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top