Yesterday, DBD's AMPS was 310 so I gave him 2.25 units (he'd been on 2.25 for 4 cycles already), and at +5 he was 74, the lowest he's ever been.
It scared me because his nadir falls anywhere from +5 to +7, so I worried how much lower he was going to go. So I gave him 10 pieces of Party Mix (dry, high carb junk food), so he wouldn't go lower. He got down to 66, and then his numbers started coming up and were blue at +8 and +9.
By PMPS a couple hours later, he was 365. I lowered his dose to 2.0 units (down from 2.25) because that big drop to 74 had scared me. +1 he was 445. At +2, he was 358 and he's been pink all day.
a) Did he bounce?
b) Did I screw up by lowering his dose .25? Should I have lowered it further? Not at all?
c) Where do I go from here dose wise?
Extra credit question: Does anyone feel like their life has been taken over by their cat's diabetes? I'm not mad at my guy, but all the scheduling and testing and worrying and stress and making sure he doesn't eat 2 hours before pre-shots....he's been a dry only eater all these years and was too stubborn to transition, so I find myself saying this to him a lot :"All you had to do was eat wet food, big guy. That's all you had to do."
P.S. I got into a fender bender a few nights ago (not my fault, thank you God) and what I was most worried about was not being home in time to pick up his food so he could fast 2 hours before his PMPS.
It scared me because his nadir falls anywhere from +5 to +7, so I worried how much lower he was going to go. So I gave him 10 pieces of Party Mix (dry, high carb junk food), so he wouldn't go lower. He got down to 66, and then his numbers started coming up and were blue at +8 and +9.
By PMPS a couple hours later, he was 365. I lowered his dose to 2.0 units (down from 2.25) because that big drop to 74 had scared me. +1 he was 445. At +2, he was 358 and he's been pink all day.
a) Did he bounce?
b) Did I screw up by lowering his dose .25? Should I have lowered it further? Not at all?
c) Where do I go from here dose wise?

Extra credit question: Does anyone feel like their life has been taken over by their cat's diabetes? I'm not mad at my guy, but all the scheduling and testing and worrying and stress and making sure he doesn't eat 2 hours before pre-shots....he's been a dry only eater all these years and was too stubborn to transition, so I find myself saying this to him a lot :"All you had to do was eat wet food, big guy. That's all you had to do."

P.S. I got into a fender bender a few nights ago (not my fault, thank you God) and what I was most worried about was not being home in time to pick up his food so he could fast 2 hours before his PMPS.

Last edited: