Is a week at 1.5 long enough or??

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
As I enter the under 2U's commitment I'm wondering if anyone cares to comment on how long we try this before we start moving up if the numbers warrant - also at what point do I move up - 400? 450? Should I just play it by ear? Just obsessing here again.
 
We play it by ear, cats are completely unpredictable cycle to cycle even so there is really no planning things in advance, don't worry because people will be watching your numbers and won't let anything bad happen!
 
If you want some reassurance, take a look at tonights +2 vs last night +2 when he was on over twice the insulin....your drop so far looks the same, and most importantly he is dropping after food on 1.5u, it may take a few days to see what the dose really does but it looks promising so far!
 
thanks gang you are all awesome - 249 @ +5 - He's not as peppy as last night but still seems to be feeling OK
 
I don't know how the sugar or lack of it really affects them, but I do know that just before Linus was diagnosed in January, he was a crazy guy. Outside running everywhere, jumping on imaginary things in the house and just being nuts. He has settled down somewhat, but still has lots of energy, I haven't really noticed any differences on his high and low days.
 
Hope he keeps on dropping, down 130ish at +5 only 2 cycles in isn't bad at all! You're doing great, just stay strong!
 
I know it's easy to get really wrapped up in the numbers...I do it too (Hello Pot, my name's Kettle!). But if you're doing all the testing that your spreadsheet reflects... you are going to crash & burn really soon! No wonder you're stressed out! Draw a line in the sand and tell yourself - I'm going to bed at 10 pm, and will sleep til 6 am (or whatever your times are). If you have to test in the middle of the night, set the alarm and test once. With the lower doses, hopefully you'll be able to get some rest. Remember, you can't help Robbie if you can't see straight or stand up! And most of us have to keep the day job... to support our extra sweet kitty's habit! :lol: We need to be at our best to help them get to their best!

Lu-Ann
 
Thanks Lu-Ann - you're right - the other issue right now is that Robbie's waking me by crying either for food or just to be held - he clearly knows he's not well and must feel odd cause he's being more clingy than usual and right now is sleeping half on my lap which is not typical for him (he sits NEXT to me not ON me) so if he gets me up I test him - of course there have been the occasions when I've been concerned something might go wrong and have stayed up to test. I'm planning on doing exactly what you suggest and thank you for your very insightful comments.
 
Numbers the last two days on 1.5u look just as good or better than other days on 3.5u! Look at today and yesterday morning cycles compared to 3/28, they are better curves than the 28th. Try to stop worrying so much from day to day, this is going to be about trends rather than individual cycles, and everything is fine so far, get some rest if you can.
 
Had the standard MEOW wake up at 5am - gave Robbie some of the cod, salmon etc. FF which says it's like 0%carb and Calories - high protein. I didn't give it more than a couple of times a month before - but am thinking of using this as his "snack" food more often as it will help keep his carb/cal intake lower. I slept in a bit so his AMPS was at 7:30 not 7am and it was 390 at AMPS +3 he was 303. He's been sleeping all day but was playing with the dog a lot earlier this morning. Going to check again at +7 and see where he is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top