Is a drop of over 20% at +2 a matter of concern?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shell

Active Member
If there is over a 20% drop at +2, is this a concern if it is from 254 to 175? I am happy about the blues. So, I am trying to determine if I should be giving a snack due to the decrease.

But, is the drop problematic at this point? Or, is the 20% variance more of a concern if the peak is much lower?

Thank you.
 
If there is over a 20% drop at +2, is this a concern if it is from 254 to 175? I am happy about the blues. So, I am trying to determine if I should be giving a snack due to the decrease.

But, is the drop problematic at this point? Or, is the 20% variance more of a concern if the peak is much lower?

Thank you.
Hi Shell and Pumpkin , I will not say much, but my Corky's Spreadsheet will speak for itself, go thru the dates any day, you will big drops, It took me a lot of fear and constant understanding that the yellow and big numbers were the best numbers Corky would be, when he would even reach 140-150 BG I would panic and start posting every one that would respond, especially when reaching AMPS/PMPS, today as you will see I am the happiest camper when I see all these greens and even administering the insulin on a 89-90 BG, It pleases me a great deal to see the Spreadsheet so green it means he's pancreas are healing, hypo is when a cat reaches under 50 the lemon colors then you react to your hypo kit, but the dark green colors are the best, the 175 is great, better than those yellow BG's, I hope all these numbers I typed do not confuse you, he's good that drop is normal, like on 06/27 that was a great cycle, the drop is nothing to worry about, and if you see the previous AMPS numbers they are not too different from today's if you count the BG's after shooting :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Hi Shell and Pumpkin , I will not say much, but my Corky's Spreadsheet will speak for itself, go thru the dates any day, you will big drops, It took me a lot of fear and constant understanding that the yellow and big numbers were the best numbers Corky would be, when he would even reach 140-150 BG I would panic and start posting every one that would respond, especially when reaching AMPS/PMPS, today as you will see I am the happiest camper when I see all these greens and even administering the insulin on a 89-90 BG, It pleases me a great deal to see the Spreadsheet so green it means he's pancreas are healing, hypo is when a cat reaches under 50 the lemon colors then you react to your hypo kit, but the dark green colors are the best, the 175 is great, better than those yellow BG's, I hope all these numbers I typed do not confuse you, he's good that drop is normal, like on 06/27 that was a great cycle, the drop is nothing to worry about, and if you see the previous AMPS numbers they are not too different from today's if you count the BG's after shooting :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
:bighug::cat: Great! Yes, I can see the variances on Corky's spreadsheet. I easily fly into a panic too, so it's a challenge for me to overcome it. I will stop everything.. plans, sleep etc just to be sure. So, I figured I should try to understand what I should pay attention to vs what requires my immediate response to :) Thank you.

Is Karo powerful effective? Such as, does it cause a huge increase? Or a gradual increase?
 
:bighug::cat: Great! Yes, I can see the variances on Corky's spreadsheet. I easily fly into a panic too, so it's a challenge for me to overcome it. I will stop everything.. plans, sleep etc just to be sure. So, I figured I should try to understand what I should pay attention to vs what requires my immediate response to :) Thank you.

Is Karo powerful effective? Such as, does it cause a huge increase? Or a gradual increase?
Your Hypo kit should include Karo, Medium and high wet food, but this is only if he’ under 50 or lower and the Karo raises the numbers quickly but not long lasting so when he’s at 60-65 or so I use the Fancy Feast Medleys Florentine 1-2 tsp it contains 9% carbs that’s as high as Corky eats in that case, Also example AMPSis low, I wait 1/2 re-test feed which is usually not the case sine he takes ProZin 12 hour expansion but the insulin as you can see kicks in between 9:30-10. So after +2 AMPS/PMPS the BG starts to get lower then 68-70 I give 1 tsp of the Medleys 9 % and re-test every 1/2 hour until is safe I would not go to sleep if Corky’s BG was anything between 140-150 now I go to sleep soundly on 79-89BG do not resource to KARO unless completely necessary 50 or under, rub on his gums and no high carbs if the same just raising the BG by giving a tsp at a time every hour is sufficient :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
If there is over a 20% drop at +2, is this a concern if it is from 254 to 175? I am happy about the blues. So, I am trying to determine if I should be giving a snack due to the decrease.

But, is the drop problematic at this point? Or, is the 20% variance more of a concern if the peak is much lower?

Thank you.
I think I’ve mentioned this to you in the past, but with Lantus, often when the +2 is significantly lower than preshot, it indicates an active cycle and more testing is required as the numbers may drop a little more quickly. By taking additional tests, that will allow you to monitor and feed to help slow down the drop. I’d feed some low carb food at +2 and test again at +3 and go from there depending on what you get at +3.
 
Your Hypo kit should include Karo, Medium and high wet food, but this is only if he’ under 50 or lower and the Karo raises the numbers quickly but not long lasting so when he’s at 60-65 or so I use the Fancy Feast Medleys Florentine 1-2 tsp it contains 9% carbs that’s as high as Corky eats in that case, Also example AMPSis low, I wait 1/2 re-test feed which is usually not the case sine he takes ProZin 12 hour expansion but the insulin as you can see kicks in between 9:30-10. So after +2 AMPS/PMPS the BG starts to get lower then 68-70 I give 1 tsp of the Medleys 9 % and re-test every 1/2 hour until is safe I would not go to sleep if Corky’s BG was anything between 140-150 now I go to sleep soundly on 79-89BG do not resource to KARO unless completely necessary 50 or under, rub on his gums and no high carbs if the same just raising the BG by giving a tsp at a time every hour is sufficient :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
I really appreciate it. Thank you! I did not know a hypo kit also contained food. I thought it was just syrup :bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
 
@Shell
Have a hypo kit ready if needed
Med and High Carb food and have honey in your house



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.
 
@Shell
Have a hypo kit ready if needed
Med and High Carb food and have honey in your house



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.

Will certainly do! Thank you!! :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top