Is 91 getting too low?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
I gave Squallie 6 units of Vetsulin this morning, his BG was 265 when I administered the shot. Now six hours later his BG is at 91; is this good, or is it getting low enough that I should worry? I'm scared because none of our local vets are in on Sundays.
 
It is terrific!
So long as he doesn't go below 50 mg/dL on a human meter or 68 mg/dL on a pet meter, he is doing fantastic!
 
91 is a nice number coming at +6. We don't start to worry until they drop below 50. He is looking good!

For reference: we generally say a cat is regulated if they are in the lower 200s at pre shot and in double digits at nadir, but not below 50.
 
91 is a nice number coming at +6. We don't start to worry until they drop below 50. He is looking good!

For reference: we generally say a cat is regulated if they are in the lower 200s at pre shot and in double digits at nadir, but not below 50.
Thank you for the reassurance! I only gave him 6 units this am, not the 7 my vet said to give. I will probably only give 6 again this pm, if his numbers are comparable. I hope that won't be too much.
 
To be on the safe side, Lucy, if Squallie were mine I'd test him again in a little while to see if his numbers are coming up again. I think you made a good call with the 6 units, btw.
 
To be on the safe side, Lucy, if Squallie were mine I'd test him again in a little while to see if his numbers are coming up again. I think you made a good call with the 6 units, btw.
Thank you! I've been testing him every two hours today, should I keep to that schedule or test him sooner, do you think?
 
If you haven't already tested since the 91 I'd grab another test now. If it's still low, I'd be inclined to test once an hour till I was sure Squallie is definitely past nadir (steadily rising numbers on sequential tests).
 
If you haven't already tested since the 91 I'd grab another test now. If it's still low, I'd be inclined to test once an hour till I was sure Squallie is definitely past nadir (steadily rising numbers on sequential tests).
Okay, just tested again at 7:30, it was 92. Will test again in an hour. Thanks! You're all so helpful, I really appreciate it!
 
I joined FDMB around this time last year and I was very grateful for all the support I received. I don't know what I'd have done if I hadn't found this place.

I agree with Sue. Squallie's doing quite well on the Vetsulin (some cats do!). Saoirse used to get very steep drops followed shortly after by a very steep rise. :rolleyes:

Be interesting to see if he stays in the yellow for his next preshot test.
 
I joined FDMB around this time last year and I was very grateful for all the support I received. I don't know what I'd have done if I hadn't found this place.

I agree with Sue. Squallie's doing quite well on the Vetsulin (some cats do!). Saoirse used to get very steep drops followed shortly after by a very steep rise. :rolleyes:

Be interesting to see if he stays in the yellow for his next preshot test.
I hope I can get him regulated soon, I worry about him all the time. He is a dear boy, and a very good patient; he's also my best friend and very special to me.
 
Squallie sounds like a male tabby version of Saoirse. :) I don't know what I'd do without her...

I hope I can get him regulated soon ...

That's one of the trickiest parts of diabetes treatment: it's usually a marathon, not a sprint. Thankfully, we do a very good line in Patience Pants here. Try these for size! ;)

iu
 
Squallie sounds like a male tabby version of Saoirse. :) I don't know what I'd do without her...



That's one of the trickiest parts of diabetes treatment: it's usually a marathon, not a sprint. Thankfully, we do a very good line in Patience Pants here. Try these for size! ;)

iu
Lol, perfect!
 
Okay, hopefully my last question of the day! Just tested Squallie prior to his pm shot and he was at 203. I am afraid to give him 6-7 units with his numbers that low; should I reduce it, and by how much, or should I skip it entirely and see what his numbers are tomorrow morning?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top