Introductions lantus roller coaster

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pouchie

Member Since 2013
Hi, I'm Lynn, my 10 year old cat named Pouchie was diagnosed with diabetes on Feb 15. After spending 12 days at the vet starting on Novalin then switching to Lantus the last seven days. Pouchie is home this afternoon. Her BG this morning 486 after 6 units, yes 6 units, +4 - + 5 was 188. My vet is a excellent large animal vet we live in North Central Montana. Pouchie has had a hell of a couple of weeks to say the least. She was unfortunately overdosed at the vets office for a few days given 20 units at a time by accident by the tech. Her #s have scattered from the 400-37 that i know of. She is 16#s should be around 8-9#s and has neuopathy. Knowing absolutely nothing about diabetes two weeks ago, I took her in thinking she broke her ankles or back because of walking on her hocks. After the first weekend there and reading Dr Pierson info. I took fancy feast turkey and giblets to the Vets office which they mixed with some optimal dry food. She has been on Hill's Hairball senior dry for approx. 3 years regular Hairball most of her life. Hear is the good news, she is eating fancy feast good, she is home and after telling the Dr I thought 6 units twice a day was too much. He said I could pick a dose that I wanted and stay the course for a week and he would work with me. He wasn't worried about ketones as long as she is eating good. Could her body handle 12 units daily? I would like to start with 1- 2 units twice daily if that sounds right? I will take a BG reading tonight before I give the insulin. I have 3/10 syringes with 25 and 31 gauge needles. This post seems crazy I know but do you have any thoughts?
 
Welcome Pouchie and Lynn. Yes, 6 units twice a day is a high dose. But is seems to be working pretty well. My Cat Tonis dis well on 8 units of Levemir pluse 4 units of N twice dails so some cats require a high dose.
You are also feed a good food.
Are your/do you plan on testing Pouchie's blood sugar yourself? Most caretakers here do. It allows you to test before each shot so you now it is safe to shoot or if the does should be reduced.
 
Yes I plan to test at home. I live an hour from the vet and it is 1 1/2 hours the next large town.
 
Pouchie said:
Hi, I'm Lynn, my 10 year old cat named Pouchie was diagnosed with diabetes on Feb 15. After spending 12 days at the vet starting on Novalin then switching to Lantus the last seven days. Pouchie is home this afternoon. Her BG this morning 486 after 6 units, yes 6 units, +4 - + 5 was 188. My vet is a excellent large animal vet we live in North Central Montana. Pouchie has had a hell of a couple of weeks to say the least. She was unfortunately overdosed at the vets office for a few days given 20 units at a time by accident by the tech. Her #s have scattered from the 400-37 that i know of. She is 16#s should be around 8-9#s and has neuopathy. Knowing absolutely nothing about diabetes two weeks ago, I took her in thinking she broke her ankles or back because of walking on her hocks. After the first weekend there and reading Dr Pierson info. I took fancy feast turkey and giblets to the Vets office which they mixed with some optimal dry food. She has been on Hill's Hairball senior dry for approx. 3 years regular Hairball most of her life. Hear is the good news, she is eating fancy feast good, she is home and after telling the Dr I thought 6 units twice a day was too much. He said I could pick a dose that I wanted and stay the course for a week and he would work with me. He wasn't worried about ketones as long as she is eating good. Could her body handle 12 units daily? I would like to start with 1- 2 units twice daily if that sounds right? I will take a BG reading tonight before I give the insulin. I have 3/10 syringes with 25 and 31 gauge needles. This post seems crazy I know but do you have any thoughts?

OK if you switched to Lantus only a week ago, there is no way you should be at a dose of 6 units.... is that 6units in the morn and another 6units in the evening?

Sure there are cats who need a great deal more insulin that 12units a day, but they have a condition known as feline acromegaly; they have a pituitary tumor secreting excess growth hormone.

I don't think you should be at a 6unit dose after just a week. You need to work your way up in dose slowly, and with Lantus, you need to build up a depot which takes a week, so there's no way your vet can say that this dose was reached properly. You may have passed your good dose and are now just giving too much insulin every day.
And with the diet being all over the place, the high numbers could be anything... too much insulin, effects of dry food, both or some other reasons as well.

Follow the protocol that others are using on this site...read the stickys at the top of the Lantus forum.
"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


Follow the under 10% carbs, feeding foods from Dr. Lisa's list. http://catinfo.org/docs/FoodChartPublic9-22-12.pdf

Keep testing before each shot, and if you can get any other tests during the 12hr cycles, they will help to know how the insulin is working.
How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 – Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 – Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


I think you should consider dropping to a 1 unit dose, am and pm, and be testing for ketones with KETOSTIX; I am not sure why a vet would say don't worry about ketones.
Sure, your cat could well need that high of a dose, but after only a week on Lantus..... I'd want to be sure.

Last but not least. Get another vet. The one you have sounds very dangerous. I have no idea why your cat had to be at the vet for so long.... unless he was extremely sick, there was no call for it.
If the vet was trying to regulate your cat there.... not gonna happen. You have no idea how long your cat has been diabetic, so it's sure not going to be under control in a few days. Some people find their cats take weeks or months before the right dose is found and the cat settles and adjusts.
Think about this. You have sore feet and you go to the dr. The dr says you have been wearing your shoes on the wrong feet. You think what??? But you put your right shoe on your left foot, and left shoe on the right foot..... do it now; how does it feel? Try to walk. I bet you switch back quickly because it just feels 'wrong'.
That's how your cat feels with the insulin given. The high numbers feel 'right', and the insulin makes him go into numbers the just feel 'wrong'. He'll bounce right back up .... into the comfy numbers, the numbers that are high.
You can't regulate in a few days. Some cats take time.

Feed the Fancy Feast exclusively. Drop dose to 1u or so. Test before every shot and try to identify nadir with other testing in the cycles. Test for ketones every chance you can with KETOSTIX.
Shop for a safer vet.
Someone there gave 20 units? Run as fast as you can from that office.
 
Thanks Blue for all the info. Everything I read the last two weeks told me 6 units was too much starting out. Thanks for reinforcing my thoughts. Unfortunately we have limited vets here in the boonies and most are large animal ones. I will give the Dr credit that he told me the truth about the overdose and he was sick about it, switched the insulin at my request after reading this board, and was more than happy that I am doing home testing. I do believe he wanted to get her somewhat regulated before sending her home. I will read up on my ketones, as I don't really understand them but know you guys are so good about answering questions. Pouchie is quite happy and alert just as she was before I took her in. My first BG and shoot will be in an hour hope it is traumatic for either of us.
 
Pouchie was hungry so before I fed her I tested +10 she's at 70. Not giving any insulin tonight. Will leave some FF and dry evo out tonight.
 
Use Fancy Feast Classic Pates for regular feeding. Since you're using insulin, pick up several cans of gravy lovers in case he goes low and you need to bring him up.

Also, since he is a large animal vet, he'll need to get up to date on feline diabetes to work with you.
Here are the AAHA Guidelines to print out, review, and discuss with him.

And here is the Roomp and Rand article on Lantus dosing to share with him.
 
Pouchie said:
Pouchie was hungry so before I fed her I tested +10 she's at 70. Not giving any insulin tonight. Will leave some FF and dry evo out tonight.
Thank goodness you tested! Unless you have lots of test data showing it is safe, we suggest not shooting insulin below 200.

We do encourage you to ditch the dry food; the lack of moisture is hard on the kidneys. For more about that, pop over to Cat Info. As a plus, it may help get to a diet-controlled state.
 
Good thing you tested for sure...I am glad you did not give insulin to that 70...

Now, about the dry food.... if she's eating the wet fancy feast pates, she doesn't need the dry at all, and if she is super carb sensitive, all the dry food will do is push her BG up high....

I think if she's at 70, 10 hours after her last shot, maybe she does not need insulin?

Let her eat what she likes, and keep testing but hold insulin till you see how her numbers go.
If she eats the dry food, her numbers may be high in the morn. Dry food takes awhile to work out of the system.
 
Hey good news, tested Pouchie's BG this morning 158. She just ate 1/4 Can of FF, peed a normal amount and poo this morning before I made it out of bed so I wasn't able to check ketones. No insulin this morning, and I will check her #s in a couple of hours. Thanks for responding, it is so nice to know I' m not alone.
 
Re: Update Pouchie lantus

Pouchie had a good day today. 7:30 am BG 158 I didn't give any insulin. Checked BG all day long. 158 dropping down consisting to 78 tonight. Matching 70 at last nights reading. Peed and pooped normal this morning and tonight. Ate 1 can of FF and has another 1/2 in dish for tonight. First time ever to check for ketones were tonight and they were negative. Hasn't had any insulin since coming home yesterday morning.

I would love to believe it was switching her diet that made the difference.

Still has neuopathy problems so doesn't walk around much but is content, purring and kneeding. Wondering if it was a wrong diagnosis and she has hyperthyroidism. After the circus she has had the last two weeks would i would like to sit on this before i get my hopes up.. Any thoughts? Should I be reading up on anything?
 
Do you have the results of the thyroid test?
The symptoms are similar so the blood tests are the only way to check.

Having just been through both diseases with 2 of my cats, I think the diabeties is the easier to manage :shock:
But my hyper-T cat suffered strong side affects to the meds and that caused a host of other problems so I'm a bit biased.
 
I had an 'easy' hyper-t cat, Emmy. We did the oral meds for 5 years, until the dose increase caused adverse effects, then I did I-131 treatment.
 
Hello, I don't believe Pouchie had a blood test for thyroid. Her BG #'s this morning were normal again at 149, no insulin for days. The first day I took her to the vet a major transformer blew up and everyone lost power in a 150 mile radius for about 6 hours. And that is how her 12 day adventure started. Dr did take a couple ex-rays which he thought maybe some type of bone spurs were all along her spine. But then her BG #'s were so high that we went with diabetes. I do expect the Dr will call in the next couple days to check in on us. At that time I will ask about the ex-rays and thyroid. I did ask him before if he would look into methycobalamin injections (B12) for neuropathy after reading that on this board. Any other questions I should have for him?
 
My goodness, you and your kitty definitely have been through an ordeal. I am sending thoughts and prayers your way that you won't be joining the rest of us on the insulin band-wagon. With BG's that high, I'm amazed that a diet switch alone would be so dramatic. But, heck, we'll take it, yes?

Please do keep home-testing, though. Who knows? Maybe the accidental overdose of insulin kick-started your kitty's pancreas back into motion. Stranger things have happened.

Anyway, about the neuropathy, you can start doing something about it right now on your own: Purchase some vitamin B-12 tablets (methlycobalamine form), crush and mix with kitty's food. Methycobalamine injectible must be purchased from a compounding pharmacy, and I have only found one online that will do it (Diamondbackdrugs.com) - you will need a prescription from your vet (or, they will contact the vet for you). You need to email them from their website. The injectable is very easy to administer - just pull up the scruff of the neck and inject into it - kitty probably won't even feel it.

Also, hopefully, your vet did a lab for potassium. If that's low, you can purchase some potassium gluconate (not citrate). Crush that and mix into kitty's wet food. DON’T do this unless you know for certain the potassium is low from a lab test.

You should be able to find both the B-12 and potassium from a large grocery store or drug store. As long as they aren't chewables, it shouldn't be a problem, but please do read the ingredients to make sure they don't contain xylitol or some other sugar substitute or sugar.

Good luck, and keep us informed of kitty’s progress.

DZ and Sarah
 
Re: Update Pouchie lantus my roller coaster

Thanks for the info. This board is so helpful. I didn't realize I could use methycobalamin tablets in the wet food and buy them over the counter. I already take cyanocobalamin myself so hopefully I can find the other. I believe Pouchie's luck has ran out today. Her #'s are gradually increasing over the day. 6am 149 - 11am 166 - 1pm 150 - 4pm 201. Not having any insulin since Tuesday morning, I' m afraid I'll have to start. My question is at what number should I shoot and is 1/2 unit enough for starting?
 
I think .5 unit at this juncture is a very good number for Poochie, even though kitty is heavy. Those numbers are not bad at all, and I want to congratulate you on diving in to home-test without hesitation. Truly, doing so is going to prevent Poochie from having hypo issues and possibly you have saved kitty's life getting on board before shooting for the first time.

Definitely, start out slow. This is a link to an article that was incredibly helpful for me in the beginning. http://felinediabetes.com/start-low-go-slow.htm

My specialty vet wanted me to start at 2.0 units. My kitty couldn't even handle 1.5 units. I can only imagine she would have hypo'ed instantly had I listened to the vet. Guh.

I'm not a vet, but I think if you can get Poochie to lose more weight (without muscle wasting), you very well could be on the road to remission. However, you don't want Poochie to loose too much weight too fast, as that can be dangerous.

DZ and Sarah
 
Pouchie lost 2 lbs the last 12 days at the vet. 14 lbs now should be probably around 9. She was free-fed hills dry Hairball until this diagnosis. Has been eating pretty good with FF turkey & giblets around a can and a half daily. Only eats 1/4 at a time tho. Hasn't been drinking near the water she was before and peeing a normal amount, not like before. I will keep checking her #'s tonight. Not sure if she reaches say 250 to shoot or wait until morning when who knows what her #'s will be? How do I know if she is muscle wasting?
 
I think it's safe to shoot .5. After feeding breakfast (provided the pre-shot number was over 200), shoot, then take a reading in two hours. By then, you might know if Poochie is going to drop too low. If still between 90-100+, test again in another two hours. If between 70-80, test again in an hour. If all is well, test again at hour 6 - the nadir and lowest reading).

If at any time Poochie goes below 70 on just .5 units, kitty may very well not need insulin at all. With just .5 units, if Poochie does goes too low, you should be able to get the glucose up very quickly by rubbing some honey on Poochie's gums and then safely stay up by feeding a regular meal. This is why it's so imporant to start low and work your way up onn the insulin dosage rather than risking a severe hypo.

If you are totally nervous about all of this, certainly, you can start out with just .25 units.

So, actually, 14 pounds is probably not too bad. I suspect with the wet low carb diet, Poochie will lose more weight, but probably won't muscle waste, because you are feeding plenty of protein. Muscle wasting becomes apparent along their back bone behind the scruff all the way back to the tail. If you look down on Poochie, and you see bone on the hips but a wide belly, this is muscle wasting. Unfortunately, my kitty has it due to being on a low protein renal diet for so long.

DZ and Sarah
 
Hello there and welcome!!

I have asked some dosing experinced members to come over and advise, note you can tell the experienced doser members as they have usually over a few thousand posts.

I don't know if you shot tonite but if you did please let us know the preshot reading and also do a before bed test.

Can you also set up a spreadsheet so we can look at patterns etc? Here is how..http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

Also I would start her on the methycobalamin.. It can take a month or two to work, and it helps if the blood glucose is regulated but many members have had good success with it.

Let us know if you need help with the spreadsheet

Wendy
 
Thanks so much for responding - this board has been so much help, a god-send. Pouchie's #'s are just hanging in there from 197 this morning to 173 tonight with no insulin since Tuesday morning. I did start her on liquid methycobalamin today from the health food store. Hard to calculate mg to ml, but think .6ml daily is about 3 mg. please correct me if I am wrong. I actually think her hair is getting more shiny with the FF and a little less dandruff. She only ate about 1 1/2 cans today, approx. 141 calories, but lays about most of the day so maybe that is enough? Hopefully those back legs will start working again, she can get more exercise, thus her #'s will continue to drop. The last two nights I've actually slept through the night so things are looking up:).
 
That good...the methycobalamin doesn't have xylitol or any sugar in it right? Ie sucrose or whatever?

Are you weighing her? I get on the scales with my boys once a week and as long as they aren't losing or gaining weight then I know the food quantity is right.
 
Hopefully someone will come over soon to advise on dose. But since it looks like you are going to be putting her back on insulin soon can you please set up the SS? Let us know if you need help with it, It would be good to have all you recent data on it too.

Wendy
 
Welcome to FDMB.

There is a form of methylcobalamin that is formulated specifically for diabetic cats - Zobaline. It's available through Amazon. Wendy is correct in noting that many of the brands that are for humans contain either sugar or some carbs that your cat doesn't need.

It sounds like Pouchie's numbers are creeping up. It may be that the methyl B-12 liquid contains sugar or a sugar syrup. Also, it can take a few months for you to see a positive effect of the methyl B-12.

With regard to food, Pouchie should probably be eating about 180 calories for an ideal weight of 9 lbs.

Before suggesting a dose, it would be helpful to know if the higher numbers are due to the methyl B-12. With Lantus, starting dose can be calculated using a weight-based formula:
initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms​
With an ideal weight of 9 lbs, this would calculate out to 1.0u. I think this may be too high of a dose, though, given how Pouchie is responding to the food change. If you can check on the ingredients of the methylcobalamin, we can sort out dose.
 
Pouchie #'s are staying consistent. Yesterday morning 645am-197 9am-173. 3pm-168 9pm-173. This morning 7:30am-191 1pm-152. No insulin for 4 days. The liquid methylocoblamin says it has no sugar in it and I just started that last night. It does have two preservatives in it potassium sorbate and potassium benzoate. If you think the zobaline is a better choice i can order some of that? Working on downloading a ss just in case. Sincerely, thanks again.
 
She is a little on the high side.. If she keeps this up you still may need to start the insulin but at a low dose like sienne said.
 
Re: new ss lantus Pouchie

Hi Just finished with SS - hopefully it worked. Bought a Relion Meter yesterday to compare the True2Go Meter. It seems when #'s are normal they are close however, if #'s are high they are way off. The test I did on myself were 3 points off but when I did Pouchies they were 50 - 100 points off. Please check my ss since I have never set one up before.
 
I've been told the ReliOn is better than the True2Go.

I too have both meters and had my vet compare them as you did, along with the AlphaTrak2. The AlphaTrak2 was the best and closest to what blood labs will provide.

However, if you choose to stick with a human meter, I beileve the ReliOn will be better in the long-run.

As far as your spreadsheet, please reply with a link so the experts can take a look.

DZ and Sarah
 
Update Pouchie ? on H2O in food

Hi -- Thanks to this Web-Site, the update on Pouchie is after being home for 11 days her #'s continue to drop with no insulin. My SS is up to date, I have calmed down a bit and am not checking her poor little ears as often! She is still getting B12 daily for the neuropathy. She is happy, 5 P's are in check. My question is because she urinates twice daily a large amount, should I not add water to her FF? Or is it better to flush everything out?
 
She is still a little on the high side - you are only feeding fancy feast classic pates right? no dry?

I dont know if she needs the extra water but it doesnt do any harm. Cats dont drink enough generally anyway.
 
Hi Wendy
Pouchie has only been on FF Turkey and Giblets since she has been home. No dry except the first night 11 days ago. She lost 1 # last week and 2#s at the vet before that, so is at a total of 13. I'm hoping her weight will continue to decline and help her #'s. She is eating good and doesn't seem like she's starving. Would you do any different? Do diabetic cats generally pee large amounts when their #'s are lower or in remission? Also, how often would you check her BG now?
 
Hi, I'm Amy. Our 13 yr old cat, George, was diagnosed with Diabetes yesterday, and we have started the insulin treatments as of today. We thought his weight loss and wobbly legs were just him getting old. He is our oldest of 3. Sadly, our youngest, Titleist was also diagnosed with a mast-cell tumor at the same time (nothing to be done for him but pain managment and a long loving goodby unfortunately). I'm happy to say that George responded well to the first dose of insulin at the vet (his numbers went from @700 to closer to 500...I'll get to understand that better soon). Anyway, I'm looking forward to learning a lot here and getting a lot of much needed support and feedback.
 
Hi Amy, do you want to start a fresh new post of your own and give us more info about George? What kind of insulin is he on? What are you feeding him? Are you home testing?

Wendy
 
Lynn - it depends what you mean by large amounts of pee...what size pee patches are we talking about here and how many a day?
 
Welcome to the FDMB Family Amy and Extra Sweet George.

Amy you may want to start your own thread so everyone knows you are here.

But to get you started here are a few questions everyone is going to be asking.

Are you testing BGs at home? And if not can we teach you to do so, as this is absolutely the best way to keep George safe while he is on insulin, plus it will keep more money in your wallet as well since you can do everything at home that the vet will do in office when it comes to running curves.

Second what type of insulin is George on? And what dose was he started at?

And lastly...What is George currently eating? As diet plays a huge role in managing diabetes.

Also I am so sorry to hear about you little guy...I just lost my 18 year old black fluffy guy this past November to cancer. My heart goes out to you.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Lynn - it depends what you mean by large amounts of pee...what size pee patches are we talking about here and how many a day?

Wendy, Tiggy & Bailey




Hey Wendy,
Pouchie pees two times daily, double the amount of her male sibling. He goes just once a day. He is not quite on all wet food yet, we are still working on that. I still have them separated in the house for the time being. I'm guessing maybe two more days and no more dry food ever in this household.
Thanks Lynn
 
Two times a day isn't much. My cats vary from 1-5 times. The cat that does one has a pee patch around 4 inches in diameter while the others do patches around 2inches. The patches go up to 3inches when their BG is high.

Is pouchie peeling more often than he was before?
 
Before I took Pouchie to the vet the pee amounts were much much larger. After moving her into the house and changing food they don't seem as large but still bigger than my other outdoor kitties and the other male house civilian. I will start measuring by the inches - good to know:) Thanks. This diabetes thing is all new to me - so I am presuming when their numbers are normal the pee amount deceases to a normal healthy cat's pee? If their is such a thing as normal.

I wonder if my other male civilian's urine will increase as I get him totally off the dry food?

Thanks for the info,
Lynn
 
Generally, as the numbers get better, you'll see a decrease in both the volume and the frequency of peeing. I don't know if you'll see any changes in the patterns with your civvie once he no longer eats dry food. What you should notice is that because he's getting more moisture from canned food, he'll visit the water bowl less often. Since Bob went OTJ, he rarely, if ever goes to the water bowl for a drink. Most days when I change the water, it hasn't been touched from the previous day. He's getting all the fluids he needs from his canned food. And I have never added water to his bowl of food.
Carl

Edit- Bob pees two or three times a day, and if I don't actually see which of my two left the pee in the box, I see no difference in the "size" between his, or Mullet's, "deposits".
 
Thanks Carl, I learn something new everyday at this website. I have been adding H2O to Pouchie's FF, because someone here said it may make her feel more full. So i may be adding to her urine output. Hopefully, as she loses a little more weight I won't need to add the H2O. Kudos to you for getting Bob into remission only after 2 months. What are you feeding him and how often are you checking his blood now that he's in remission?
 
Many Thanks and Good News!

First and most importantly I want to sincerely thank everyone for responding to me this last month. My heartfelt thanks to Larry, Blue, BJM, Denise, DZ, Wendy, Sienne and Carl. If I had not heard from you guys I know Pouchie would not be alive today. More good news, since being home for almost a month with no insulin Pouchie's numbers continue to drop into normal readings. Her neuropathy has vastly improved with Methylcobalmin liquid. She is feeling great, loves FF Turkey and being an indoor kitty!

Her ss is up to date. Although I have not taken her back to the vet, I plan on finding a small animal vet hopefully in Kalispell, Montana to get more blood work done. I will ask for a Fructosomine Test, Free T3 and Total T4. I am not ruling out thyroid but question if it is necessary since her numbers are improving?

I look back thinking maybe this was a good thing to happen as I have switched all my other 5 cat's diets to wet food, well almost all wet. They are struggling with their new meals but I tell them it is for their own good. With time it will get better. Love to read about you guys with multiply cats and what your routines are.

Thanks again
Lynn
 
Congrats on Pouchie's numbers - they are looking so good! All green :mrgreen:
As you're regularly testing, you don't need the fructosomine Test - it will just show you her numbers for the past week and you have that anyway :-D Although a pm spot check every day or two would be good.
Honey has been OTJ for 2 months and I'm down to testing a couple of times a week but I try to vary when I test.

For Monster, I knew there was a problem because his bg was fine (I home tested, of course!) but he was continuously eating, very thirsty and losing weight - particularly along the back and rear legs. He also had smelly, grey, soft poos :sad:
Then he started with the rapid heart rate and panting.
 
You can certainly do the fructosamine if you wish but it's not necessary,, it just gives you an average of these numbers and they are fantastic!!

So you are officially OTJ. Some tips to stay that way

1. Never give dry food again or any high carb foods
2. Weigh him once a month to keep track
3. No steroids if you can help it
4. Watch for signs of dental issues or other infection
5. Keep an eye on the pee patch sizes
6. You can cut down on testing if you want but I wold still test once a week to keep and eye on him and catch issues early!

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top