? Introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula G

Member Since 2022
Hi, This is my first time posting and I'd appreciate any help I can get. My cat Finn was just diagnosed with diabetes on 8/17/22 and my vet has started him out on 1 unit of Prozinc. He has done just fine with it until this morning except for starving between the 12 hours of fasting. This moring he ate a teaspoon of Fancy Feast and a small amount of Iam Urinary Tract kibble. I gave him his injection while he was eating as usual but then he just stopped eating and didn't want anymore so I added some Delectables Squeeze up to his kibble. He ate a little bit of that which wasn't much so I gave him the rest of the Squeeze up. He usually scarfs it down. I'd like to note that my vet wants to change his diet after the curve blood work in two weeks because she doesn't want him to go through too many changes at once. He seems different today, not playful and just lays around and then he started throwing up his food and he just wants to be alone. He does cry when we make eye contact which he never does. Since it's Sunday and I can't call my vet, I googled what to do if your cat starts throwing up and not feeling well after insulin and it said to offer him some canned food which I did but he wasn't interested after a few licks. Is this normal at the beginning of treatment? I plan on calling my vet first thing in the morning but I just wanted to know if there is anything I should do between now and then. Any help you can offer would be truly appreciated. - Paula and Finn
 
Welcome, Paula.

It's not typical for a cat to be vomiting after an injection of insulin. How did your vet diagnose Finn? Do you know if the vet ran a fructosamine test? The fructosamine is like a human hemoglobin A1c -- it gives an average of blood glucose (BG) level over a period of several weeks. On the other hand, if the vet based the diagnosis on one blood test in the office there could be several sources of error. If Finn was stressed by being at the vet, that alone can cause BG levels to be elevated -- it's called stress hyperglycemia. If there was some source of infection or inflammation, that can also cause numbers to be high. I'm wondering if Finn had an infection brewing and that's why he vomited and is hiding. It really sounds like he's not feeling well.

The other possibility is that the dose of insulin was too high and his numbers dropped. I'm guessing that your vet said nothing about home testing. We are very strong advocates of learning how to test your cat's BG. Most of the members here use a human meter (e.g., many use the Walmart Relion brand meter since the strips are inexpensive). It's the only way for you to know if your cat's BG is in a range that's safe for you to give an insulin injection and you can assess if the numbers are dropping too low.

Most of the members here also feed their cat more than twice a day. We give our kitties several small meals usually through the first half of the 12-hour cycle.
 
Everything Sienne said, especially not making you cat go without food for 12 hours. That’s horribly old-fashioned thinking and while it may be fine for dogs who are not grazers, cats have much higher metabolisms and need to eat more often. Smaller meals throughout the day is also easier on their pancreas that is already compromised by the diabetes. Lastly, if the diagnoses is correct, diabetic cats can’t process the nutrients in food as well as healthy cats do and typically will need more food to offset that. They also burn calories just by peeing since there’s sugar in their urine
 
When you start to home test you only withhold food two hours before testing so the BG number is not food influenced .
Then you can feed small snacks during rack 12 hour cycle. Most of us feed small snacks twice during each 12 hour cycle

You can get the Relion Premier Classic meter at Walmart for 9 dollars either in store or on line
17.88 for 100 test strips
Most if us use a human meter that's what our numbers are based on
If you can set up your signature that would be greatTo set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
You can also put a thin layer of vaseline on the ear ,to help the blood bead up
A video one of our members posted
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

If you bought a human meter it doesn't need to be coded , only a pet meter does like Janet is using

We also use a spreadsheet to track our cat's BG numbers to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping and in case you need any advice , if you are interested in setting one up just ask , we have a member who will be happy to do it for you
Just keep asking questions , I hope Finn feels better and you can get in to see your vet tomorrow
 
Last edited:
Welcome, Paula.

It's not typical for a cat to be vomiting after an injection of insulin. How did your vet diagnose Finn? Do you know if the vet ran a fructosamine test? The fructosamine is like a human hemoglobin A1c -- it gives an average of blood glucose (BG) level over a period of several weeks. On the other hand, if the vet based the diagnosis on one blood test in the office there could be several sources of error. If Finn was stressed by being at the vet, that alone can cause BG levels to be elevated -- it's called stress hyperglycemia. If there was some source of infection or inflammation, that can also cause numbers to be high. I'm wondering if Finn had an infection brewing and that's why he vomited and is hiding. It really sounds like he's not feeling well.

The other possibility is that the dose of insulin was too high and his numbers dropped. I'm guessing that your vet said nothing about home testing. We are very strong advocates of learning how to test your cat's BG. Most of the members here use a human meter (e.g., many use the Walmart Relion brand meter since the strips are inexpensive). It's the only way for you to know if your cat's BG is in a range that's safe for you to give an insulin injection and you can assess if the numbers are dropping too low.

Most of the members here also feed their cat more than twice a day. We give our kitties several small meals usually through the first half of the 12-hour cycle.
 
Sienne and Gabby,
The vet just told me he had diabetes. He was supposed to be fasted when I took him for his initial visit but she said the test results showed that he must have found something to eat. The invoice says:
Blood Collect/Prepare II
CBC Feline
Urinalysis w/Sediment Exam
Urine collection-Cytocentesis
Blood Glucose

The reason I took him in was because he was drinking so much water and urinating so I had a feeling he was diabetic because 30 years ago I had a cat with diabetes. I love the fact that your members feed three times a day. She told me no treats and no food but 2x a day. I think she is being very strict right now because she didn't get the accurate reading since he snuck food before the tests maybe? She did say if he goes without eating or insulin one time, to call her. I wish she was there today. She said after the curve on the 31st, she would be able to know a lot more. I will definitely talk to her about getting one of those meters!

He was very stressed going to the vet because I've only had to take him to the vet a few times. He's an indoor cat so he's very healthy so I thought. I just hate stressing him so much.

If he doesn't eat much later on, I'm guessing I don't give him the insulin? I don't know if there is anything else I can do between now and tomorrow.

Thank you SO MUCH!
 
Everything Sienne said, especially not making you cat go without food for 12 hours. That’s horribly old-fashioned thinking and while it may be fine for dogs who are not grazers, cats have much higher metabolisms and need to eat more often. Smaller meals throughout the day is also easier on their pancreas that is already compromised by the diabetes. Lastly, if the diagnoses is correct, diabetic cats can’t process the nutrients in food as well as healthy cats do and typically will need more food to offset that. They also burn calories just by peeing since there’s sugar in their urine
How much food does he need to eat in order to give him his shot? If he only eats a small amount, is that enough? Thank you so much!
 
@FrostD
Hi Melissa I doubt you can give Paula any advice but I figured I would tag you anyway , her cat's on Prozinc.
If you can read the posts just to get an idea of what's going on
Thank you Melissa
 
When you start to hime test you only withhold food two hours before testing so the BG number is not food influenced .
Then you can feed small snacks during rack 12 hour cycle. Most of us feed small snacks twice during each 12 hour cycle

You can get the Relion Premier Classic meter at Walmart for 9 dollars either in store or on line
17.88 for 100 test strips
Most if us use a human meter that's what our numbers are based on
If you can set up your signature that would be greatTo set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
You can also put a thin layer of vaseline on the ear ,to help the blood bead up
A video one of our members posted
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

If you bought a human meter it doesn't need to be coded , only a pet meter does like Janet is using

We also use a spreadsheet to track our cat's BG numbers to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping and in case you need any advice , if you are interested in setting one up just ask , we have a member who will be happy to do it for you
Just keep asking questions , I hope Finn feels better and you can get in to see your vet tomorrow

When you start to hime test you only withhold food two hours before testing so the BG number is not food influenced .
Then you can feed small snacks during rack 12 hour cycle. Most of us feed small snacks twice during each 12 hour cycle

You can get the Relion Premier Classic meter at Walmart for 9 dollars either in store or on line
17.88 for 100 test strips
Most if us use a human meter that's what our numbers are based on
If you can set up your signature that would be greatTo set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming
You can also put a thin layer of vaseline on the ear ,to help the blood bead up
A video one of our members posted
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar

If you bought a human meter it doesn't need to be coded , only a pet meter does like Janet is using

We also use a spreadsheet to track our cat's BG numbers to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping and in case you need any advice , if you are interested in setting one up just ask , we have a member who will be happy to do it for you
Just keep asking questions , I hope Finn feels better and you can get in to see your vet tomorrow

So helpful! Thank you so much. Signature has been updated.
 
Sienne and Gabby,
The vet just told me he had diabetes. He was supposed to be fasted when I took him for his initial visit but she said the test results showed that he must have found something to eat. The invoice says:
Blood Collect/Prepare II
CBC Feline
Urinalysis w/Sediment Exam
Urine collection-Cytocentesis
Blood Glucose

The reason I took him in was because he was drinking so much water and urinating so I had a feeling he was diabetic because 30 years ago I had a cat with diabetes. I love the fact that your members feed three times a day. She told me no treats and no food but 2x a day. I think she is being very strict right now because she didn't get the accurate reading since he snuck food before the tests maybe? She did say if he goes without eating or insulin one time, to call her. I wish she was there today. She said after the curve on the 31st, she would be able to know a lot more. I will definitely talk to her about getting one of those meters!

He was very stressed going to the vet because I've only had to take him to the vet a few times. He's an indoor cat so he's very healthy so I thought. I just hate stressing him so much.

If he doesn't eat much later on, I'm guessing I don't give him the insulin? I don't know if there is anything else I can do between now and tomorrow.

Thank you SO MUCH!
Welcome!

Ideally you want him to eat at least 1-2 tablespoons before the shot.

As the others mentioned, no need to restrict food. We don't really care about food influencing tests in the cycle, as we base the insulin around whatever his routine (and therefore BG trends) are. We do ask you fast for 2 hours before the preshot tests - and that's solely because you want consistent data in order to base your shot decisions from. The rest of the cycle, let him eat...ideally not after nadir as the insulin is wearing off, but need BG data first to know roughly when that is.

Some of us free feed, some feed on a more strict schedule, it's really what works for you and your cat. Strategically feeding at certain times can help manage/steer the BG curve.

It's typically not a good idea to skip insulin entirely, as consistency is best. So if appetite is off, more often than not we'll suggest some sort of temporarily reduced dose, but won't know until we get BG data. That said, sometimes it simply is not safe to shoot (again, wont know until more BG data).

Once.youre up and running let us know! For now, if you get a fasting preshot below 200 stall without feeding and ask for advice.
 
Welcome!

Ideally you want him to eat at least 1-2 tablespoons before the shot.

As the others mentioned, no need to restrict food. We don't really care about food influencing tests in the cycle, as we base the insulin around whatever his routine (and therefore BG trends) are. We do ask you fast for 2 hours before the preshot tests - and that's solely because you want consistent data in order to base your shot decisions from. The rest of the cycle, let him eat...ideally not after nadir as the insulin is wearing off, but need BG data first to know roughly when that is.

Some of us free feed, some feed on a more strict schedule, it's really what works for you and your cat. Strategically feeding at certain times can help manage/steer the BG curve.

It's typically not a good idea to skip insulin entirely, as consistency is best. So if appetite is off, more often than not we'll suggest some sort of temporarily reduced dose, but won't know until we get BG data. That said, sometimes it simply is not safe to shoot (again, wont know until more BG data).

Once.youre up and running let us know! For now, if you get a fasting preshot below 200 stall without feeding and ask for advice.

Thank you soooo much!
 
Hi and welcome to the group. Just wanted to chime in and say that my vet also told us to only feed 2x/day and then I found this group and learned that is very old-school and outdated thinking but still taught in vet school, unfortunately. We feed larger meals around what used to be shot time (630am/pm) but then also feed a couple more smaller meals, usually mid-morning and mid-afternoon. This has been shown to actually be much easier on a cat's pancreas and more similar to how a feline would eat if in the wild -- multiple small meals spread throughout the day/night.

Speaking of night or when not at home, some people use a timed feeder, a commonly used model is the PetSafe 2 or 5 (2 for two feedings, 5 for five). This way they can program the feeder to open up at certain times and allow kitty a few bites if hoomans are sleeping or away at work. We don't actually use those as we have six cats, our diet-controlled sugar kitty Hendrick and 5 non-diabetic "civilians" as people say around here (civvies for short) but lots of people say the Petsafe feeders are great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top