Introduction for Todd: 12/18 Todd PMPS-385, +2 400, +5 296

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
Hi There,

I actually post on the Feline Health forum more than anywhere else, but it was suggested to me that I should introduce everyone here to Todd, and so I could get some thoughts on what is happening with him.


The last few months of Todd's life have been kind of rough, so I'll try to make this info short.

To start with, Todd is 16 years old and has been a diabetic for a couple of years. He was started on Lantus just as soon as we found out he was a diabetic, however, I guess I really don't know much about Lantus, even now.

Anyway, Todd did VERY well for the last couple of years, aside from a small pancreatitis attack in early 2008 and major surgery for a intussusception Oct of 2009 (removed 6inches of his intestines), he has been fine. No problems with his diabetes. However, in July of this year, he stopped eating one day. Before this, he was acting fine, eating well and no problems. I took him to our vet and they checked him out, Couldn't find anything wrong. Did blood work, urine tests and everything. They gave him some fluids (it was a HOT day 90+) and sent me home. Within an hour of getting home, he started shaking and looking like he was gong to die. I rushed him back to our vet and his BG was in the 40's. They have him some glucose and sent me home, with their meter (I wasn't home testing at the time) I was told t check his BG in 3 hours and if it was below 60, to take him to the ER vet. Which is what happened... off to the ER vet for the night.

Now to skip a bit.. by the end of September, after receiving 3 X-rays, TONS of blood work and an ultrasound, they decided it must have been very bad pancreatits, but it was healing and we were good. He would be fine.. not long after that, he started to lose weight again, even though he was eating. Between July and Sept he had lost 3lbs. He was not overweight when this started, so he was down from 14lbs to between 11 and 12lbs. So anyway, again, out of no where he started losing weight again. Just 1lb this time.. they did more blood work (they've done about a dozen full blood panels on him since July). His kidney values were slightly up. nothing major, but they were up. and he was very, very dehydrated off and on this whole time. He got fluids for two days at the vet and his kidney values went back to normal and he seemed fine. But just to be safe, in October, we took him to see a internal Med. specialist. He ran another ultrasound and more bloodwork. Nothing looked off, aside from Todd's adrenal glands being slightly large and he noted that Todd's fur has not grown back from when he was shaved in April (he got a lion cut in April). He decided to treat Todd for renal issues and had me start Todd on Hill's k/d. So we did. He was doing great for almost a month. His weight stayed around 10ish lbs and he was eating well and acting well...

I went out of town Nov 17th until the 23rd, so Todd stayed at our vet office while I was away. They took good care of him and he did very well there. Our vet noted while there, that Todd has some arthritis in his back knees and spine, so she suggested starting him on Adequan. I said sure, so he was started on it the day we brought him home. Once a week. We brought him home and all seemed well, however, close to three weeks later, he started walking closer and closer to the ground, stumbling on his back legs and eating less and less.. this was over a couple of days I noticed this. I was told to try giving him a different renal food and see if he'll eat it. He did, but he was still acting off and he was so, so dehydrated. I was giving him 100ml of Sub-Q every other day for over a month at this point. He didn't seem better, so I took him into out vet on Friday Dec.10th. They did a in house check of his kidney values and BG. His kidney values jumped WAY up (BUN: 129 Creatinine: 4.6) and his blood glucose was so high, it went past the highest their meter could read, which is 500. They started him on IV fluids and had me transfer him to a ER vet overnight. He stayed at the ER vet until 8pm Saturday (Dec. 11th). He came home that night and was doing better, but still couldn't walk more than a step without just falling to the ground. The next day, I took him back to our vet and they hooked him back up to the IV. They decided to do IV treatment during the day for the next 3-4 days and see how he does. So that is what we did. We was at the vet during the day and at home at night. I could see each day, he was feeling a little better. I told our vet that I felt he had neuropathy, but she wasn't so sure. But I could see it was classic walking on the hocks. The vets didn't seem very hopeful, but we tried to make him feel better. On Tuesday (Dec. 14th) our vet suggested to me, that we should up Todd's Lantus from 1.5 units twice a day, to 2.0 units twice a day, because his BG numbers were anywhere from 350 to 600+. So we did.. By the next morning, he was actually walking normally again (no neuropathy) and was feeling tons better! So that is what I have been giving, the 2.0 units of Lantus, since the 14th. And if you look at Todd's SS, you can see that each day, the numbers were kind of getting lower, however, they were still pretty all over the place. The biggest issue was yesterday. He received his Lantus around 9am, and as usual, I checked his BG at 3-4pmish. it was 64 (was in the 400's in the am). I called the vet, who said to give him some Karo and skip his insulin that night. So I did. Now, I should point out, when I tested and got the 64, he was acting TOTALLY normal. He was chatty, eating and looked bright eyed. By the evening, his numbers were back up, but I skipped the dose, as the vet suggested. Today, I checked his BG in the am and it was in the 400's. I called and asked the vet if I could give the insulin and he said yes, but to go back to 1.5 units. I was about to, but then Todd threw up some white foam (but was still acting normal) The vet said skip it and see how he does today and tonight. If he seems ok and his numbers are still up, I can give 1.5 units tonight at 9pm.

So that is where we are at right now. He has eaten some, and seems bright eyed, but a bit tired today. Still walking fine and he got his sub-Q today. I should point out, the vet is having me do 100ml to 150ml of Sub-Q everyday until we recheck his kidney values next week. At last check his kidney values did go down a bit from the 10th. Lats check was Tuesday. BUN: 70 Creatinine: 4.3


His current medications are


Lantus 2.0u (but was 1.5u until the 14th)
Tumil-K (two pills a day)
Zenequin (for high white count, to be safe)
Mirtazapine every 72 hours (due tomorrow)
B-12 injections
Sub-Q daily 100ml to 150ml

His food is k/d dry and wet, though getting him to eat wet is REALLY hard. He just wants the dry. :/

I do want to mention, that before Todd got sick in July, he was receiving 2.5U of Lantus twice a day for well over a year and had been doing well.

No one is totally sure what is going on with him. I have a feeling though that the last few weeks or even month or so, a lot of his problems may have had to do with getting no insulin for a while (they took him off insulin off and on between July and Sept) and then being on a low dose for so long.


Thank you! I hope this wasn't too confusing to read. I'm terrible at trying to explain stuff. and please forgive spelling mistakes. :)
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

I am glad you posted here and I am sure the experienced mentors will have some feedback for you soon.

Welcome to "Lantus-Land."
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

welcome to Lantus Land!

Question, are you testing Todd's urine for ketones? And how is he eating today?
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

Thanks for the formal introduction and here's the link to your SS from yesterday.

Did your vet explain why he wanted you to skip a shot last night and this morning? I'm sure your vet knows this but if you don't, Lantus is a depot-type of medication. (See the starred sticky note on this topic.) What that means is you need to give a consistent amount of the drug in order to build up what amounts to a reservoir. It takes roughly 5 - 7 days when you first start Lantus to build up the depot (we call it a shed here in Lantus Land). If you skip a dose, you deplete the amount in the shed. It can take a few cycles to bring the shed up to being full again. Until the depot is full, a small portion of each shot goes into the storage shed and isn't immediately available to lower BG levels. It would be helpful to understand your vet's strategy regarding having you skip a shot.

If you take a look at the sticky note on the Tight Regulation Protocol, you'll see we have a different perspective on low numbers. Many vets are nervous when they see a cat in BG numbers under 100. We cheer! The difference is that we know how to manage lower numbers with food. Numbers that are below 50 get rewarded with a dose reduction. You might want to familiarize yourself with the Tight Regulation protocol and print out the University of Queensland version and share it with your vet. Now that you're home testing, you will be able to manage Todd's numbers.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

His urine was tested a couple of days ago for ketones. Negative for 'em. He is eating ok. He's nibbling every once in a while. No huge amounts though. he is due for his appetite stimulant tomorrow, so tomorrow I am sure he will eat well, and if he doesn't within an hour of taking the meds, we'll know there is something else wrong.


thank you for the info Sienne & Gabby! I did look through the Lantus Reg. Protocol. VERY helpful info there.


So, just to put it out there, I just checked Todd's BG (remember, he didn't get insulin last night or this morning) at 4:30pm today, it was 485. So tonight, I think I will shoot 1.75u and see how he does.

I also gave him his B12 injection this afternoon, but none of his other meds. I will save those for tonight.

He is alert and chatting with me right now. It's like he is asking me for something, but I don't know what.. hm..

Thank you!
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

1.75 sounds good for now *if* you will step up the testing. Now that he is getting green, it is time to get serious about monitoring. There's a chance that he has been doing this for a while and that a lot of those high numbers were actually bounces off of something lower.

Please get another ketone test as soon as you can. With his appetite being off and him not feeling well, plus two skipped shots, there is a risk of ketones developing. I know that a lot of the not feeling well thing could be kidney related, but better safe than sorry.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

How often should I do the BG testing and for how long?.. I mean, I know I should test everyday, but if I need to step it up from 3 times a day, how often should it be done? And what about the middle of the night? Do I need to set my alarm and check in the middle of the night as well?


I will test for ketones again, for sure.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

For tonight, please get a +2 test. Post that number. In order to see what Todd's numbers are, you need to edit your first post in this string. (There's an edit button on the right side above the text box. Change your Subject line so it reads:
12/18 Todd PMPS-###, +2-###, etc.​
That way, those of us who are on-line can easily see the numbers and see if you need help. Likewise, if you have a question or need help, change the subject line so we can see and respond.

To bump your thread (we call them "condos") to the top of the board, you need to include a new reply.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

Did you know you can purchase Ketostix and the drugstore and test for ketones yourself? Just put the stick in the urine stream while he is in the litter box.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

Ok, here is my next dumb question.. when you say +2, that means?... Sorry, I'm still learning. :/


Blue, I did know that! What I didn't know was how to do it without just dipping it into the litterbox. heh Good to know! I'll get some. :D
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

ToddyTiger said:
Ok, here is my next dumb question.. when you say +2, that means?... Sorry, I'm still learning. :/
+2 is the BG reading 2 hours after the last shot, +4 is 4 hours after the last shot, etc etc. (This is way more useful info to know than the actual time of day you got the BG reading, as we all shoot at different times of day and different timezones, etc...)
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

Lots of info to absorb at first, but we're all here to support you. Welcome!
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

Perry & Sooty- That was what I thought +2 meant, but I wanted to double check before I messed that up. heh Will do so after I give his insulin.

may I ask, since I have been poking his poor little ears like crazy for a week, is there anything I can do to make them feel better? I can tell they don't feel good to the touch because they have so any little bruises. And because of that, I think that is why I am having such a hard time getting blood when I poke.




Thank you Lisa & Do Lou.. and Janice & Johnny!!
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

Many people here will use a tiny dab of Neosporin Pain Relief ointment on their cat's ear. As you get more efficient with poking, Todd's ears will be better. It also takes a while for the ear to "learn" to bleed. As you poke more, the ears bleed more easily.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

Welcome to Lantus Land. You came to the right place for good info and assistance in managing Todd's FD.

How's his phosphorus level? If he's vomiting white foam, he could have an upset tummy. If his phosphorus is up (which I might suspect with crea/bun like that), then the white foamy vomit could be from acid tummy. Does the vet have you using pepcid AC to control acid? If you think that is what is happening and he isn't getting pepcid AC, I would discuss with the vet. Starting dose is usually very low but important to talk to vet. Are you aware of this site: http://www.felinecrf.org? It has EVERYTHING you ever wanted to know about chronic kidney disease and discusses phosphorus levels so you can also discuss with your vet.

There are folks in LL managing both diabetes and CKD very well.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

Hi, welcome to Lantus Land & for giving such a detailed history.. it is appreciated! Prayers are going up for you & Todd.. a lot going on & you are in the right place. You asked about setting your alarm & getting up in the middle of the night to test.. what time do you give the PM shot?
After I poke Baby's ear.. I take a washcloth (dry) & just gently press down on the lil ear for about 5 seconds after poking & she does not have any bruises, I do suggest trying that. A lot of folks have put neosporin on their cat's ears.. I have never had to do that.. Baby's ears don't appear touched really (amazingly) hope that helps.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd and Extra Eyes for His SS

385 at 9pm Pacific time, before shot.

Should I try the 1.75u right now and see how he does? He is due for his shot within the hour..

*Edit, ok, I'm gonna go for it, because he really should have his insulin tonight.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd: 12/18 Todd PMPS-385 +2 400

hmm.. it went up to 400 within two hours of insulin. What does that mean?.. or does this happen?..
 
Re: Introduction for Todd: 12/18 Todd PMPS-385, +2 400

Welcome to Lantus Land!

Thank you for sharing Todd's story with us.. He really has had a difficult time lately, but he seems to have a great bean who is on top of things for him :-D

I thought that I would copy this info for you.. My Pepper's onset usually starts around +3 (sometimes +4)... Though some kitties can have an early onset - it seems the majority are in the +3 range.

The following tidbit of info should help you:

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

I just pop in occasionally and was lurking here (late night left coaster too) :mrgreen: and thought I could lend a hand..

Have a great evening.. and I am so glad to see you here in Lantus Land.. Lots of experienced and caring people here to help you with Todd!
 
Re: Introduction for Todd: 12/18 Todd PMPS-385 +2 400

ToddyTiger said:
hmm.. it went up to 400 within two hours of insulin. What does that mean?.. or does this happen?..


This is your first shot since skipping TWO shots. You are basically starting over and having to refill the depot. You won't see much improvement for a few days until the depot/shed is filled.

If you are feeding and shooting, then this is most likely a food spike. And until the depot is filled it is something I would expect to see.

Around 3-4 days from now, it should change and you should see a shift down in those numbers. Remember your vet told you to skip TWO shots. Poor Todd is running on a empty insulin depot.
 
Re: Introduction for Todd: 12/18 Todd PMPS-385, +2 400, +5 2

Welcome to LL! I'm a newbie too and don't have a lot to add, except to say that you're in the right place for good advice on how to get your Todd's numbers under control! :)
Best wishes to you both!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top