Introduction and needing some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
HI! I am new to this site and would love some advice on fine tuning our BG chart and (how much Lantus i should be giving our kitty killa). After having a phone consult with Dr. Pierson I discovered our vet had me doing almost everything wrong for our newly diabetic cat. Now that we are on the right track with food, testing and scheduling, his numbers are looking better and his energy level has increased...he seems like a much happier kitty. Can someone please tell me how much Lantus I should actually be giving him? If his numbers are in the 100's do i still give him an injection?
Thank you for any suggestions!
Willow and Killa cat
 

Attachments

  • Killa.jpg
    Killa.jpg
    206.7 KB · Views: 386
WELCOME TO YOU AND KILLA!
I am not familar with Lantis but I would say no shot if under 150, buttttt, I know that there are more on her with more experience than myself so I would wait for them.... Just wanted to say big welcome to you!
 
Hi and Welcome! Your kitty is so beautiful, love the picture and love the name!
Let me first start by saying that I am not a dosing person, so I can't really help you with that. I did take a look at your spread sheet and noticed that Killa was starting to get some good action on the 2u of insulin. Looks like you lowered his dose to 1u because he went down to the 70's. We usually hold a dose for 6 cycles to see how things go, then either increase or decrease if needed. I think you can just stick w/the 1u for now and see how Killa reacts.
Let's see what some others say, tho.
Good luck!!
 
As you are new to the process, the typical advice is not to shoot below 200. And to wait, feed, test again and see if the number is rising.

Have you visited the lantus forum yet? There is a lot of very helpful information on the forum along with helpful people who can provide more specific dosing help.

I'm sure Dr. Lisa instructed you to start at a low dose, such as 1/2 or 1 unit and to adjust in small increments as needed.

However, if you are getting BG's at 100 or lower, it is very possible that with the food changes you are making that Killa may not need insulin, or may need a very small "token" dose for a short period of time.

Normal BG range is up to 120.
 
I think that sticking with the 1u right now and seeing how it goes is a good idea. Most cats on low carb diet don't need much more than 1u. With Lantus, you want to be patient and hold a consistent dose (unless you need to reduce, of course).

You can get more detailed dosing advice in the Lantus forum: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9. The stickies at the top of the board contain a wealth of information about the insulin you're using. One thing that's important to do with Lantus is to make sure you're getting some mid-cycle tests along with the preshots, because dosing is based of the Nadir (or, lowest number of the cycle), which usually is somewhere around +6.

But it looks like Killa is doing much better now that you're on the right track! I LOVE his picture, btw!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top