Amy&TrixieCat
Very Active Member
Hi Everyone-
My 9 year old, Trixie, was diagnosed several weeks ago. While this is my first post to the forum, I have already learned a lot from everyone here.
A little background on Trixie: She was diagnosed through routine bloodwork. She actually wasn't displaying any of the "obvious" symtpoms of diabetes (in particular, she was not excessively drinking and urinating), although in hindsight I do realize that I missed a few of the more subtle signs. Anyway, her BG, from the intial blood work, was something like 426 (I can't remember for sure at this point, but I know it was the lower 400s). They did an untrasound to rule out pancreatitis, and did a fructosamine to confirm the diabetes (I can't remember that value right now eitehr). She's been on 1unit of Lantus, 2x day, since January 28 - about 5 or so days after initial diagnosis.
Before she was diagnosed, her diet was already pretty good. She ate a 50/50 mix of Wellness chicken, and Orijen dry (high-protein, grain-free) with a little bit of Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck sprinkled on top (one of our other cats has digestive issues, but that's a whole other story...) As soon as we heard she was diabetic, we immediately removed all dry food from her diet. She was on 100% canned food for about 5 days before starting the Lantus. Her BG dropped only slightly with the dietary change; we tested her the night before her first shot, and at that point her BG was 371. That test was taken at the vets' office with our personal meter, so it could be slightly elevated. Also, she did not have any ketones.
We are home testing her, but we're easing into it, so at this point we haven't done any curves yet. We did her first home test one week after she started the Lantus; her BG was 109, 6 hours after her morning shot. We tested her for a second time yesterday (2 weeks and 2 days after starting Lantus), and her BG was 104, again 6 hours after her morning shot. She gets her shot at 7:15, morning and evening. The vet was happy with these numbers, and we're holding her at 1unit 2x day. She goes for a follow-up fructosamine in a couple weeks. Also, apparently people who are willing to home test are a rarity at my vets' office, but they are supportive of it. They said that if we can eventually do curves at home, we would be their "dream clients."
So that's a bit of her background from the last several weeks.
I learned here that dental issues can cause temporary diabetes. I can say for 100% sure that Trixie would benefit from a dental, whether or not it resolves her diabetes. But that's where I have a few questions. I do plan on asking my vet the same questions, but I know many of you are experts here, and I like to arm myself with as much information as possible so I can make solid decisions.
How is s dental managed with a diabetic cat? Since morning food has to be withheld, does that also mean withholding her morning shot?
If we're lucky enough that the dental would resolve her diabetes, (and knowing this is broad, general question and that every cat is different), on average, how long would it take for the diabetes to resolve? Would she need to be "weaned" off the insulin?
Would the post-dental antibiotics (assuming she would be taking some) interfere with the way the insulin functions?
I thinks that's all I have for now. I haven't scheduled her dental yet, but I just don't want go into blindly, and run the risk of her going hypo.
Trixie and I thank you in advance for any thoughts and insight!
Amy
My 9 year old, Trixie, was diagnosed several weeks ago. While this is my first post to the forum, I have already learned a lot from everyone here.
A little background on Trixie: She was diagnosed through routine bloodwork. She actually wasn't displaying any of the "obvious" symtpoms of diabetes (in particular, she was not excessively drinking and urinating), although in hindsight I do realize that I missed a few of the more subtle signs. Anyway, her BG, from the intial blood work, was something like 426 (I can't remember for sure at this point, but I know it was the lower 400s). They did an untrasound to rule out pancreatitis, and did a fructosamine to confirm the diabetes (I can't remember that value right now eitehr). She's been on 1unit of Lantus, 2x day, since January 28 - about 5 or so days after initial diagnosis.
Before she was diagnosed, her diet was already pretty good. She ate a 50/50 mix of Wellness chicken, and Orijen dry (high-protein, grain-free) with a little bit of Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck sprinkled on top (one of our other cats has digestive issues, but that's a whole other story...) As soon as we heard she was diabetic, we immediately removed all dry food from her diet. She was on 100% canned food for about 5 days before starting the Lantus. Her BG dropped only slightly with the dietary change; we tested her the night before her first shot, and at that point her BG was 371. That test was taken at the vets' office with our personal meter, so it could be slightly elevated. Also, she did not have any ketones.
We are home testing her, but we're easing into it, so at this point we haven't done any curves yet. We did her first home test one week after she started the Lantus; her BG was 109, 6 hours after her morning shot. We tested her for a second time yesterday (2 weeks and 2 days after starting Lantus), and her BG was 104, again 6 hours after her morning shot. She gets her shot at 7:15, morning and evening. The vet was happy with these numbers, and we're holding her at 1unit 2x day. She goes for a follow-up fructosamine in a couple weeks. Also, apparently people who are willing to home test are a rarity at my vets' office, but they are supportive of it. They said that if we can eventually do curves at home, we would be their "dream clients."
So that's a bit of her background from the last several weeks.
I learned here that dental issues can cause temporary diabetes. I can say for 100% sure that Trixie would benefit from a dental, whether or not it resolves her diabetes. But that's where I have a few questions. I do plan on asking my vet the same questions, but I know many of you are experts here, and I like to arm myself with as much information as possible so I can make solid decisions.
How is s dental managed with a diabetic cat? Since morning food has to be withheld, does that also mean withholding her morning shot?
If we're lucky enough that the dental would resolve her diabetes, (and knowing this is broad, general question and that every cat is different), on average, how long would it take for the diabetes to resolve? Would she need to be "weaned" off the insulin?
Would the post-dental antibiotics (assuming she would be taking some) interfere with the way the insulin functions?
I thinks that's all I have for now. I haven't scheduled her dental yet, but I just don't want go into blindly, and run the risk of her going hypo.
Trixie and I thank you in advance for any thoughts and insight!
Amy