Introducing Trixie, and Dental Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Very Active Member
Hi Everyone-

My 9 year old, Trixie, was diagnosed several weeks ago. While this is my first post to the forum, I have already learned a lot from everyone here.

A little background on Trixie: She was diagnosed through routine bloodwork. She actually wasn't displaying any of the "obvious" symtpoms of diabetes (in particular, she was not excessively drinking and urinating), although in hindsight I do realize that I missed a few of the more subtle signs. Anyway, her BG, from the intial blood work, was something like 426 (I can't remember for sure at this point, but I know it was the lower 400s). They did an untrasound to rule out pancreatitis, and did a fructosamine to confirm the diabetes (I can't remember that value right now eitehr). She's been on 1unit of Lantus, 2x day, since January 28 - about 5 or so days after initial diagnosis.

Before she was diagnosed, her diet was already pretty good. She ate a 50/50 mix of Wellness chicken, and Orijen dry (high-protein, grain-free) with a little bit of Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck sprinkled on top (one of our other cats has digestive issues, but that's a whole other story...) As soon as we heard she was diabetic, we immediately removed all dry food from her diet. She was on 100% canned food for about 5 days before starting the Lantus. Her BG dropped only slightly with the dietary change; we tested her the night before her first shot, and at that point her BG was 371. That test was taken at the vets' office with our personal meter, so it could be slightly elevated. Also, she did not have any ketones.

We are home testing her, but we're easing into it, so at this point we haven't done any curves yet. We did her first home test one week after she started the Lantus; her BG was 109, 6 hours after her morning shot. We tested her for a second time yesterday (2 weeks and 2 days after starting Lantus), and her BG was 104, again 6 hours after her morning shot. She gets her shot at 7:15, morning and evening. The vet was happy with these numbers, and we're holding her at 1unit 2x day. She goes for a follow-up fructosamine in a couple weeks. Also, apparently people who are willing to home test are a rarity at my vets' office, but they are supportive of it. They said that if we can eventually do curves at home, we would be their "dream clients."

So that's a bit of her background from the last several weeks.

I learned here that dental issues can cause temporary diabetes. I can say for 100% sure that Trixie would benefit from a dental, whether or not it resolves her diabetes. But that's where I have a few questions. I do plan on asking my vet the same questions, but I know many of you are experts here, and I like to arm myself with as much information as possible so I can make solid decisions.

How is s dental managed with a diabetic cat? Since morning food has to be withheld, does that also mean withholding her morning shot?
If we're lucky enough that the dental would resolve her diabetes, (and knowing this is broad, general question and that every cat is different), on average, how long would it take for the diabetes to resolve? Would she need to be "weaned" off the insulin?
Would the post-dental antibiotics (assuming she would be taking some) interfere with the way the insulin functions?

I thinks that's all I have for now. I haven't scheduled her dental yet, but I just don't want go into blindly, and run the risk of her going hypo.

Trixie and I thank you in advance for any thoughts and insight!

Amy
 
Welcome Amy and Trixie. The blood glucose values you obtained were good +6 values. However, without knowing the starting point (BG when shot given) it hard to tell how much better you can do. Regarding dentls, it really depends upon the vet and when the dental is done. One vet I used did dentals at about 1 PM and I would give 1/2 regular dose if the morning BG was "normal" for her.

Going off insulin after a dental can occur fast or slow. There is no set time. You will notice it based on the BGs you take? before each insulin shot. Those BGs and BGs taken in between shots is how dose is determined s if BG go down too much you reduce the dose.
 
Since we have to withhold food for 12 hours prior to the dental - I usually only give a half dose the night before.

Then I test in the morning - usually giving NO insulin the day of the dental.

When kitty comes home, I test BG. If high and kitty is eating - back to normal dose. If high but kitty is NOT eating (because of ouchy mouth), half dose. If BG is moderate and kitty is not eating - skip the shot
 
Thanks for the quick replies! I'll give the link a thorough reading this evening.

I've never had occasion to use either Covenia or Metacam. What in particular makes them bad for diabetic cats? I'm just curious...like to know stuff.

We're working towards more consistent testing. I just want to ease Trix into all this poking and prodding, rather than slamming her with it all at once. She did much better with her second test than her first, and of course she gets some diabitically-approved kitty treats afterwards, so she's learning that all of this is not a bad or scary thing.

I figured the possibity of going off insulin after a dental would range widely...
 
Again, thank you for the information. Now that you mention, I vaguelly recall hearing about Convenia in the past.

Since Metacam is so bad for cats, what would be the "pain medication of choice?" It's easy to get liquid medications into Trixie, but I've never tried to actually pill her.

Again, I'm just gathering information right now...I have yet to speak with the vet about all this stuff, and actually schedule her dental.

Amy
 
TrixieCat said:
Since Metacam is so bad for cats, what would be the "pain medication of choice?" It's easy to get liquid medications into Trixie, but I've never tried to actually pill her.

Buprenex is a good choice. It's a narcotic. Some cats may get sleepy after taking buprenex. Most vets will give you pre-measured oral syringes. You just squirt the entire contents of a syringe into the side of the mouth, not straight down the throat. It doesn't taste great so be sure to have a couple treats on hand to give afterwards to help the taste go away.
 
My cat Nomad had his remaining two teeth extracted last month.His BG was only 130 the morning of his dental surgery so we just skipped that dose.He was on Clavamox liquid and Buprenex when he was discharged.Each cat is different, but the first thing Nomad did when he got home was to eat two cans of fancy feast.I added water to the fancy feast and made a "soup" for the first week. I gave Nomad two doses of the Buprenex but it made him act stoned. He spent two days staring at the ceiling fan going around and hissing at the TV.

His BG went up about fifty points for a week and then gradually went back down. The worst part seemed to be his rather pyschotic reaction to the Buprenex.Since he didn't seem to be in any pain I discontinued that three days early.
 
I got pain medication after dental to help my kitty to eat.

Sometimes they come home with no problems eating -- I don't bother with pain med

When they have come home and don't want to eat -- the pain med helps them eat with the sensitive mouth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top