Hi all, so glad for this board... my 16 year old Tabby Sashie was dx with FD in June, of this year. Signs were there, but it took a few vet appointments and blood panels to finally get the true picture of why was she was drinking too much water and urinating so much. She was put on Lantus 1 Unit BID, Purina DM dry, which she likes as she always preferred dry. Vet also recommended kitten can food, for the high protein content. The wet food has been a challenge, but depending on the day, she may eat Natural Choice kitten tuna & chicken formula mixed with water. I rely more on the Wellness pouches both, Salmon/tuna, Salmon/chicken formulas. Basically, I buy the pouches for the gravy, she might eat a couple of the morsels but they end usually in the trash. I know the gravy is not a good choice, but I mix it with kitten can food, which Sashie might eat. Food is a hit or miss, I have tried so many foods post dx and I am frustrated, although not giving up! Will buy Fancy Feast classic varieties today.
I have so many questions, but my biggest concern is trying to figure out how to help Sashie get regulated. I did the first BG curve in August, her BG numbers were in the 100’s with the Nadir at 56. Lantus insuling was decreased to 1 Unit 1 x daily. It was a relief for me as I work three jobs and the 12 hours BID dosage was a challenge. I purchased the Alphatrack 2 glucometer and tested regularly AM and PM. Within a month, Sashie’s numbers went up into the 300’s and 400’s. Within this time, she developed a UTI and was prescribed antibiotics. After the UTI was cleared and high numbers continued, Lantus was increased back to 1 Unit BID. Despite the change in Insulin, her numbers did not come down, and at some point within the past month, she was put on 2 Units of Lantus BID. I conducted a BG curve last week (after a couple of weeks since the last increase), BG levels went down at the 9+ and 10+ hour to 54, which concerned me and the vet. Insulin was decreased to 1 ½ Units BID. Now I need to wait a week to do another curve. I have done Pre Insulin testing and her numbers continued to be high in the 300 and 400’s. The vet is thinking that perhaps we need to change the type of insulin to Humulin, but he is going to wait for results of next BG curve, which I will do next weekend. I have read that Humulin is not a good choice…how can I help my diabetic kitty and help her vet, which we both like? Sashie acts fine, but the numbers are not looking good. I need to help Sahie fight this, at least get her on a better diet and regulated. I am fully committed and decided to post to rely on the experience and suggestions made by any of you, who have the time and experience. Please guide us! Thanks in advance for your responses.
Tina and Sashie
I have so many questions, but my biggest concern is trying to figure out how to help Sashie get regulated. I did the first BG curve in August, her BG numbers were in the 100’s with the Nadir at 56. Lantus insuling was decreased to 1 Unit 1 x daily. It was a relief for me as I work three jobs and the 12 hours BID dosage was a challenge. I purchased the Alphatrack 2 glucometer and tested regularly AM and PM. Within a month, Sashie’s numbers went up into the 300’s and 400’s. Within this time, she developed a UTI and was prescribed antibiotics. After the UTI was cleared and high numbers continued, Lantus was increased back to 1 Unit BID. Despite the change in Insulin, her numbers did not come down, and at some point within the past month, she was put on 2 Units of Lantus BID. I conducted a BG curve last week (after a couple of weeks since the last increase), BG levels went down at the 9+ and 10+ hour to 54, which concerned me and the vet. Insulin was decreased to 1 ½ Units BID. Now I need to wait a week to do another curve. I have done Pre Insulin testing and her numbers continued to be high in the 300 and 400’s. The vet is thinking that perhaps we need to change the type of insulin to Humulin, but he is going to wait for results of next BG curve, which I will do next weekend. I have read that Humulin is not a good choice…how can I help my diabetic kitty and help her vet, which we both like? Sashie acts fine, but the numbers are not looking good. I need to help Sahie fight this, at least get her on a better diet and regulated. I am fully committed and decided to post to rely on the experience and suggestions made by any of you, who have the time and experience. Please guide us! Thanks in advance for your responses.
Tina and Sashie