pekoa's mama
Member Since 2010
Hi all and happy holidays. Let me start by thanking all the active users. I've been reading through the posts for about a month, digesting all the info.
Pekoa (pronounced "pico" as in pico de gato
, or as in the tea orange pekoe.)
Birth date: 11/7/1997
I had noticed that he was drinking more water, and urinating more, than usual. On Friday I made an appointment with his vet for the next Tuesday. However, Saturday 10am he seemed dehydrated, so I took him to the 24 vet for some subQ's. That's when I found out about diabetes.
Diagnosed: 11/20/2010
Readings at diagnosis:
-------------------------------------------------------
Weight: 4.636 kg, 10.20 lb, 0.28 m2
Glu(60-115): 530 mg/dL
BUN(10-26): 38 mg/dL
Na(142-150): 144 mmol/L
K(3.4-4.9): 3.5 mmol/L
Cl(106-127): 119 mmol/L
TCO2(17-25): 15 mmol/L
Anion Gap(8-25): 15 mmol/L
Hct(35-50): 32%
Hb(12-17): 10.9 g/dL
pH(7.39-7.41): 7.195
pCO2(35-38): 36.2 mmHg
HCO3(15-23): 14.0 mmol/L
BEecf([0]-[+6]): -14 mmol/L
URINALYSIS -----------------------
Appearance- Clear
Glucose- 2000+
Bilirubin- neg
Ketones- neg
Sp. Gravity- 1.015, Refract. 1.030
Blood- Small
pH- 6.0
Protein- trace
Urobilinogen- 0.2
Nitrite- neg
Leukocytes- small
Sediment: few white blood cells
-----------------------------------------------------------
They put him on IV fluids, antibiotics, and started him on fast acting humulin r - testing bg every hour. After about 6 hours, the shift vet gave 1u of vetsulin, and his bg dropped from 220 to 80 in 3 hours. They started him on burette with 5% dextrose, and got him back to 311 before they stopped the dextrose. They kept him overnight on the fast acting humulin r, fluids, and antibiotics. They continued to do bg tests every 2 hour - his numbers where all over the place. Kept him at ER on Sunday.
On Monday morning, my vet couldn't work him in (she's a small (1 vet, 2 techs) holistic vet) , and felt he was too unstable to go home, so I kept him at the ER until Monday night 10pm. Took him in Tuesday morning 8am, with about 50 units of vetsulin (ER vet no charge
. She curved him (8am - too hi to register on meter), sent home on 0.5u vetsulin once a day to start. I began testing at home. Switched to 0.5u 2x/day after 7 days. Then switched to 1u 2x/day 7 day later. Also changed from Natural Balance to EVO low-carb.
Now after 12 days, I'm switching to Lantus. Starting tomorrow with 1u 2x/day. I'll be using the modified tight regulation as described here, home testing and calling vet about dosage changes. Hopefully we can start seeing some better numbers!
Again, I wish you all happy holidays, and thank you for posting about your experiences - it helps alot!
Pekoa (pronounced "pico" as in pico de gato
Birth date: 11/7/1997
I had noticed that he was drinking more water, and urinating more, than usual. On Friday I made an appointment with his vet for the next Tuesday. However, Saturday 10am he seemed dehydrated, so I took him to the 24 vet for some subQ's. That's when I found out about diabetes.
Diagnosed: 11/20/2010
Readings at diagnosis:
-------------------------------------------------------
Weight: 4.636 kg, 10.20 lb, 0.28 m2
Glu(60-115): 530 mg/dL
BUN(10-26): 38 mg/dL
Na(142-150): 144 mmol/L
K(3.4-4.9): 3.5 mmol/L
Cl(106-127): 119 mmol/L
TCO2(17-25): 15 mmol/L
Anion Gap(8-25): 15 mmol/L
Hct(35-50): 32%
Hb(12-17): 10.9 g/dL
pH(7.39-7.41): 7.195
pCO2(35-38): 36.2 mmHg
HCO3(15-23): 14.0 mmol/L
BEecf([0]-[+6]): -14 mmol/L
URINALYSIS -----------------------
Appearance- Clear
Glucose- 2000+
Bilirubin- neg
Ketones- neg
Sp. Gravity- 1.015, Refract. 1.030
Blood- Small
pH- 6.0
Protein- trace
Urobilinogen- 0.2
Nitrite- neg
Leukocytes- small
Sediment: few white blood cells
-----------------------------------------------------------
They put him on IV fluids, antibiotics, and started him on fast acting humulin r - testing bg every hour. After about 6 hours, the shift vet gave 1u of vetsulin, and his bg dropped from 220 to 80 in 3 hours. They started him on burette with 5% dextrose, and got him back to 311 before they stopped the dextrose. They kept him overnight on the fast acting humulin r, fluids, and antibiotics. They continued to do bg tests every 2 hour - his numbers where all over the place. Kept him at ER on Sunday.
On Monday morning, my vet couldn't work him in (she's a small (1 vet, 2 techs) holistic vet) , and felt he was too unstable to go home, so I kept him at the ER until Monday night 10pm. Took him in Tuesday morning 8am, with about 50 units of vetsulin (ER vet no charge
Now after 12 days, I'm switching to Lantus. Starting tomorrow with 1u 2x/day. I'll be using the modified tight regulation as described here, home testing and calling vet about dosage changes. Hopefully we can start seeing some better numbers!
Again, I wish you all happy holidays, and thank you for posting about your experiences - it helps alot!