Marcy & Klinger (GA)
Member Since 2010
I would like to introduce my kitty Klinger. We found out that he had diabetes in February 2010. Brought him in to the vet for another reason and his blood test showed a BG of 570. Klinger weights in at a whopping 20 lbs and is 13 years old. We started him on Lantus at 3 units 2x's a day and went up to 6 units. Then his numbers started sliding all around the scale. We do home test for his BG. We switched him to Prozinc and he is now up to 7 units 2x's a day. His vet does not think this is a huge dose because of his weight. His numbers are starting to slide all over the board again. Saturday, 8/21, I did the preshot blood test and it was 220. Klinger has been going hypo recently and I decided not to give him his a.m. shot. When I tested him in the evening his number was 570 - gave him 7 units. This morning it was at 420, gave him 7 units. I just tested him for his pm shot and it's 120. Skipping the shot tonight.
So, my vet thinks he has pancreatitis, which sounds likely from what I've read on other posts here. I want to ask a question about his food. He has been eating wet food - FF beef or chicken and sometimes oceanfish prior to the diagnosis. When he was diagnosed, my vet had me switch him to kitten FF wet. It seems like an unlikely choice because I have not seen it mentioned on any of the food lists posted. I'm thinking that it has too much fat (5% crude fat) for his pancreas. Any thoughts?
So, my vet thinks he has pancreatitis, which sounds likely from what I've read on other posts here. I want to ask a question about his food. He has been eating wet food - FF beef or chicken and sometimes oceanfish prior to the diagnosis. When he was diagnosed, my vet had me switch him to kitten FF wet. It seems like an unlikely choice because I have not seen it mentioned on any of the food lists posted. I'm thinking that it has too much fat (5% crude fat) for his pancreas. Any thoughts?