Introducing Autumn

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Autumn and I will soon be joining the wonderful world of PZI users. As soon as her BCP PZI gets here, but as a stop gap her vet put her on Novolin N.

We're planning on switching insulins either tonight or tomorrow based on her readings.

Quick history...Autumn was adopted from DCIN after going 10+ months with no treatment at all after she was dxed. I've had her almost 2 years. She was started on Lantus but it made her violent because she was so tense and uptight on it. So she was switched to Levemir a year and a half ago and has been doing well and consistently dropping in dose until we hit a snag. She's on just a drop of the Levemir but that drop causes her to drop from 400s. to hypo range in less than 6 hours so she is impossible to consistently shoot 12/12

Her vet and I think she's close to OTJ but needs an insulin that can be shot as needed rather than one that needs consistency in dosing.

So right now the plan is to chase numbers and shoot only as needed to tap her down. My plan is her no shoot number is back to 200 until I have data on how she's going to work the N (and the PZI when we get it ) As far as dose I'm planning on starting her extremely low at right where she is now at .1

Unless anyone sees a flaw in the plan since I have zip for experience with the in and out insulins. I know the Ls inside out and backwards. lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Looks like a good plan to me! You've obviously seen how well Lucian seems to be doing with the PZI. :smile: The flexibility with the PZI insulins are one of its big advantages and being able to chase the numbers.

Welcome and we look forward to seeing Autumn's condos!!
 
Welcome Mel! How fun to see you on PZI. I'm with Jen. Your plan sounds good and Lucian's ss should give you some good info. Many beans with kitties going OTJ "chase" the numbers - dosing when they hit their target and then monitoring. As long as it's over 8 hours and rising, you can dose with PZI.

What dose are you thinking to start with?
 
Hey welcome to the PZI group! I loved the flexibility of this insulin since Gypsy seemed to like throwing confusing numbers. I don't have lots to offer usually, but we are glad to have you!
 
She was on such a low dose of Lev, I'd go with the smallest dose you can do, even a just a drop, until you see how it works for her.
 
My plan is to start her at .1 a.k.a. fat zero especially while we're waiting for the PZI and are using the N. Since its gonna hit hard also planning on changing up the order and going with feed, test, shoot if needed. Once she's down she tends to surf well until mealtime. Today is a great example:

amps-468
+6-63
+8-74

And the 468 was because I skipped her last night. Her drops right now are free falls which set her up for an endless cycle of diving and bouncing and just plain scary to shoot anything under red especially at night

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
You'll want to wait about 20-30 minutes minimum after feeding before you shoot the N.
 
Well about to find out where she's at pre-dinner..Planning on grabbing her normal pmps and then getting the next test 30 minutes after she finishes her meowjesty's evening meal. If 200 or above shoot .1u of NPH. If below 200, test again in 30, rinse and repeat every 30 until above 200 Then monitor every hour for the next 4 hours.

Let the adventure begin!!

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top