Holli & Lucky
Member Since 2012
Hi,
I'm going to try to make a long story short with this intro. My cat, Lucky (he's a neutered male, 13 years old, never any serious health problems, always ate premium dry food) was diagnosed with diabetes on April 18, 2012. I have 3 other cats the same age who are fine (I used to volunteer with a rescue and ended up with these guys). Lucky was getting stressed for some reason and licking off his fur last year. I can't remember all the dates and things, but he ended up getting two steroid shots (that together equaled a normal one-time dose) and was put on amitriptyline once daily. He also had a blood test in January of this year and everything was fine. He got the second steroid shot at the same vet visit. By March I noticed that he had lost a lot of weight and was drinking and peeing a lot, but since he had just had a blood test, I thought he was fine. When he continued to get worse, I took him to the vet and when he tested him this time, his BG was over 400. Yikes! He was definitely diabetic. After they stabilized him that night, he went home with me for a weekend and I found all this feline diabetes information. I knew I wanted to change him over to wet low-carb food, but I waited until he went back to the vet to do it. He then stayed at the vet for about 4 days getting regulated, eating nothing but EVO no-grain and Merrick no-grain, and he ended up on 3 units twice a day on PZI human insulin. He gets pretty stressed about going to the vet though. Brought him back home and tried to keep him on that dose, but I kept giving fur shots, so he sporadically missed some doses. Wasn't testing any during this time. Finally started getting the hang of giving him shots, and the day I bought a meter, I came home right after he had a hypo seizure where I went into panic mode and filled him up with honey and sweet chex mix. Took his reading and it was at 29. Didn't give him anything that night and it was up to 374 when I took him to the vet the next morning. Since then, we knocked back the dose, but he's still going hypo. I've kept knocking it back, but he still keeps going really low. I'll post the results of all the blood tests below. He has such massive dips when he takes the insulin. Is that normal? I'm also going to tell my vet all this information on Monday, but I wanted to get your opinion too. Depending on what he tests tonight, I was thinking about dropping it down to .2 units, but I don't think constantly changing his dosage is good. However, I have to go back to work on Monday, and I want to make sure he doesn't go hypo with him going too high either. This stuff is so confusing!
5/2/12 9:00 AM 374 Came back from vet. Ate well. Gave only 1 unit because I would be gone all day. Didn't want to risk hypo.
5/2/12 9:00 PM 149 Ate well. Level was so low, didn't give any insulin. That was a mistake!
5/3/12 9:00 AM 348 Ate well. Gave him 2 units.
5/3/12 11:00 AM 138
5/3/12 1:00 PM 21 Hypo. Very groggy and stumbling. Gave 1/4 teaspoon honey and a bit of dry food and a lot of wet low-carb.
5/3/12 3:30 PM 49
5/3/12 7:30 PM 192 Ate well. Gave .5 unit insulin. Snuck and ate a tiny bit of dry food between this reading and the last.
5/4/12 12:30 AM 120
5/4/12 9:00 AM 242 Ate well. Gave .5 unit insulin. Didn't want to risk another hypo.
5/4/12 11:00 AM 283 Definitely not going hypo, so gave his ears a break.
5/4/12 9:00 PM 153 Didn't eat that much. Gave .4 unit insulin. (How is this number lower???)
5/4/12 11:00 PM 57 Was hungry. Ate some of the food he didn't eat earlier.
5/5/12 1:00 AM 52 Gave him a couple low carb treats and some more of the food he didn't eat earlier.
5/5/12 3:00 AM 91
5/5/12 9:00 AM 169 Didn't eat well. Had to tempt him with low-carb treats. Left about half his food. Gave him .4 unit insulin.
5/5/12 1:00 PM 52 Finally got him to eat the rest of his food around 10:30am. Gave a few low-carb treats and little wet food.
5/5/12 3:00 PM 80
5/5/12 5:00 PM 120
Opinions? Do these numbers look promising since I have to keep lowering the dose? Are those big dips normal? I'm still holding out hope for remission eventually.
Thank you so much for your time!
Holli
I'm going to try to make a long story short with this intro. My cat, Lucky (he's a neutered male, 13 years old, never any serious health problems, always ate premium dry food) was diagnosed with diabetes on April 18, 2012. I have 3 other cats the same age who are fine (I used to volunteer with a rescue and ended up with these guys). Lucky was getting stressed for some reason and licking off his fur last year. I can't remember all the dates and things, but he ended up getting two steroid shots (that together equaled a normal one-time dose) and was put on amitriptyline once daily. He also had a blood test in January of this year and everything was fine. He got the second steroid shot at the same vet visit. By March I noticed that he had lost a lot of weight and was drinking and peeing a lot, but since he had just had a blood test, I thought he was fine. When he continued to get worse, I took him to the vet and when he tested him this time, his BG was over 400. Yikes! He was definitely diabetic. After they stabilized him that night, he went home with me for a weekend and I found all this feline diabetes information. I knew I wanted to change him over to wet low-carb food, but I waited until he went back to the vet to do it. He then stayed at the vet for about 4 days getting regulated, eating nothing but EVO no-grain and Merrick no-grain, and he ended up on 3 units twice a day on PZI human insulin. He gets pretty stressed about going to the vet though. Brought him back home and tried to keep him on that dose, but I kept giving fur shots, so he sporadically missed some doses. Wasn't testing any during this time. Finally started getting the hang of giving him shots, and the day I bought a meter, I came home right after he had a hypo seizure where I went into panic mode and filled him up with honey and sweet chex mix. Took his reading and it was at 29. Didn't give him anything that night and it was up to 374 when I took him to the vet the next morning. Since then, we knocked back the dose, but he's still going hypo. I've kept knocking it back, but he still keeps going really low. I'll post the results of all the blood tests below. He has such massive dips when he takes the insulin. Is that normal? I'm also going to tell my vet all this information on Monday, but I wanted to get your opinion too. Depending on what he tests tonight, I was thinking about dropping it down to .2 units, but I don't think constantly changing his dosage is good. However, I have to go back to work on Monday, and I want to make sure he doesn't go hypo with him going too high either. This stuff is so confusing!
5/2/12 9:00 AM 374 Came back from vet. Ate well. Gave only 1 unit because I would be gone all day. Didn't want to risk hypo.
5/2/12 9:00 PM 149 Ate well. Level was so low, didn't give any insulin. That was a mistake!
5/3/12 9:00 AM 348 Ate well. Gave him 2 units.
5/3/12 11:00 AM 138
5/3/12 1:00 PM 21 Hypo. Very groggy and stumbling. Gave 1/4 teaspoon honey and a bit of dry food and a lot of wet low-carb.
5/3/12 3:30 PM 49
5/3/12 7:30 PM 192 Ate well. Gave .5 unit insulin. Snuck and ate a tiny bit of dry food between this reading and the last.
5/4/12 12:30 AM 120
5/4/12 9:00 AM 242 Ate well. Gave .5 unit insulin. Didn't want to risk another hypo.
5/4/12 11:00 AM 283 Definitely not going hypo, so gave his ears a break.
5/4/12 9:00 PM 153 Didn't eat that much. Gave .4 unit insulin. (How is this number lower???)
5/4/12 11:00 PM 57 Was hungry. Ate some of the food he didn't eat earlier.
5/5/12 1:00 AM 52 Gave him a couple low carb treats and some more of the food he didn't eat earlier.
5/5/12 3:00 AM 91
5/5/12 9:00 AM 169 Didn't eat well. Had to tempt him with low-carb treats. Left about half his food. Gave him .4 unit insulin.
5/5/12 1:00 PM 52 Finally got him to eat the rest of his food around 10:30am. Gave a few low-carb treats and little wet food.
5/5/12 3:00 PM 80
5/5/12 5:00 PM 120
Opinions? Do these numbers look promising since I have to keep lowering the dose? Are those big dips normal? I'm still holding out hope for remission eventually.
Thank you so much for your time!
Holli