Intro and requesting scheduling advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liz4Paws

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

I am actually a newbie, however I have been working with a seasoned member from this board over the past few days as I get my feet wet trying to regulate our kitty Nadia on Lantus. I have soaked up tons of info and feel confident but still need some advice on a scheduling problem I've run into.

Some back info on me: Nadia was diagnosed with an in-office BG of 441, and a fructosamine of around 640 (don't have exact number, sorry.) She was spilling glucose into her urine. Our vet wanted us to start her at 2u BID and not do any home testing but I had already done much research and my gut said it was too much and not a good idea to not home test. And after consulting with the members on main forum after the consult, I decided to start her at 1u and ended up shooting her blindly on her first day (7/4) and then I tested her for the first time ever at 11+ and her BG was 64. Because the 1u appeared to drop her very low, we opted to do a food trial for the following days since she had also been switched to FF classics for about a week prior to her first shot. As I tested in the following days, her numbers showed borderline in the 170s. But as of this morning, she's consistently over 200. I happened to be on the phone with seasoned member of this board when this happened, and we opted to go ahead and give the shot this morning at 10:30am which is two hours behind the schedule I need to normally have (I need to do shots at 8:30a/8:30p starting tomorrow.)

The question now is how to get it back to the desired schedule? I have to leave for work tomorrow at 10am and will not return home until 7:30pm. I am assuming I should be giving tonight's PM shot (of 0.5u?) tonight earlier than 10:30p so I can incrementally work backwards. What time do you advise I give it? I have very little data so far since I'm just starting, so I apologize, but let me know if you have any questions and I'd be happy to answer.

Thanks for helping me out!
 
Hi Liz, and Welcome.

Normally, you can change the shot time by 15 minutes each cycle, or by 30 minutes once per day without affecting the depot too much. If she is really high at +11, then you could shoot one hour early, but since you don't have much data, and an early shot acts like a dose increase, and because you will not be home to monitor her tomorrow, I think you may want to consider just skipping the shot tonight and readjusting your schedule back to your desired one by shooting at +22 tomorrow morning.

Lets see if there are other suggestions.

By the way, Nadia is so pretty :-D
 
The problem being if Liz moves shot back 30 minutes to 10:00PM tonight.
Then 30 minutes in the AM, ie: 9:30. That gives her only 30 minutes to monitor before having to leave the house for 9+ hours on only day 2 of re-start.
kitty tested at 64 +11 on first shot (1U) last Thursday.

The dose was dialed down however to .5 today and she is doing a great job testing, so hopefully as numbers fill in there will be a better picture and she can get some advice about what to do for tomorrow.
ie:
- stick with the .50 (and at WHAT TIME?)
- lower to .25 for tomorrow
- skip tomorrow AM.

Nadia did respond to dose, but now hovering around 200. Depot not yet full.

Liz is awesome and so much smarter than I was at this point in the game. I am so impressed. It's great she is going to start posting in Lantus Land for all the great information and support!!
 
Hi Liz and welcome,

Nadia is such a pretty kitty,Glad your getting your feet wet and joining us. :smile:
Linda and Lucky
 
Hi, Liz and welcome to Lantus Land.

Betty asked that I keep an eye out for you and Nadia. I agree with Dyana -- I think skipping will be the safest strategy for getting your shot time back to where you want it. If you think of it more as a fur shot, it's intellectually a little easier to deal with. I'm presuming, though, that Nadia hasn't had a problem with ketones since you noted there weren't any medical issues noted on your Profile.

Congrats on getting Nadia's spreadsheet (SS) and Profile up and running, getting started with home testing, and getting your kitty transitioned to a low carb, canned food diet. Those are major hurdles and you're doing great.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Liz and the lovely Nadia!!!

I am another one that Betty sent a PM to so we could welcome you. As you can see, it's busy in LL but we do all we can to make sure new members are helped.

I agree with Sienne and Dyana that the best way to get on schedule is to skip. Nadia will get back on track and you'll be more at ease knowing she is on a schedule that allows you to test.

Here is a great post on Making the Most of your Lantus ISG Experience. Please be sure that if you have a question and it isn't getting answered, bump your own post up by opening your condo (thread) and just typing "bump" in the text box and clicking on "submit".

Let us know what questions you have...we love questions!
 
Thanks ya'll.

......Interesting. I would have thought if skipping was the advice, that it would be skipping tomorrow's AM shot when she would be gone all day.
Skipping tonight's shot hadn't occurred.

So better to go ahead and shoot AM tomorrow, even if leaving for many hours as opposed to tonight, skipping the AM and getting back on schedule tomorrow night? I trust your judgment, just checking and thinking out loud.

Also, what do you think about this dose?
 
Welcome, Liz! (Hi Betty!),

I think the skipped shot should be tonight's shot. That way you can get right onto your desired schedule tomorrow morning at 8:30. In the long run it seems that it would be less disruptive to do it that way. It is really good to get into a routine when you are just starting out. Cats like their routines!

Best of luck in your LL adventure!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Nadia is a beautiful kitty.
 
Welcome Liz and Nadia!!!! Just wanted to stop by and say Hi :-D You are in the best place for Nadia, they will get you and her back on track and take good care of her ;-) You are doing an Awesome job so far!! Have a great night :smile:
 
Thank you all for the warm welcome! And a special thank you to Betty for taking me under her wing during these crazy early days of the process. :)

I'll go ahead and follow your advice and skip tonight's shot and start tomorrow at 8:30. Do you think 0.5u is good? I will be gone from 10-7:30 so just throwing that in there since she won't be supervised in my absence.

And Nadia is blushing from all of the compliments. But I agree, she sure is pretty!
 
Liz:

Can you get a test or two tonight before you turn in for the night? It would also be ideal if you could get a +11 in the morning. That may help if you need feedback in the AM about dose.
 
She ate some food around 8:45pm (we are finding our mojo for feeding, she seems a little finicky) so I tested her at the 2 hour mark just now at 10:45pm and it was 209. I hope that's okay. Sorry it wasn't two or at the 11+ mark. :( I'll log in tomorrow and check, hoping you can guide me on the morning dose.

Thanks again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top