Interpreting spreadsheet and dose adjustment.

background info

I'm trying to interpret my fluffy spread sheet.
I believe she seems to be stabilizing.

the 0.5 unit was bringing her to hypo and her body was sugar dumping (I don't remember how you guys called this) but it made her numbers bounce.

then I followed advice and changed dosage to 0.25 or 1/4 unit.
every 1/4 or 0.25 of a unit I give is bringing her down about 170, but keeping her much stable in a good number. do you guys interpret her spread sheet the same way I do? (/well, is my first time interpreting so im not sure if this is the pattern)

her PMPS is not high enough to let me give her insulin, is that correct? (I saved all the info from the stickies), I need her to reach 200 or 220, if not I should skip, is that correct?
 
Hi -- her numbers look pretty good for having skipped the shot! You are right that without a lot of data letting you know how your kitty will react to shooting on lower numbers, it's a good idea not to shoot below 200.

I tried to open the "Background Info" link, but it didn't open. It looks like there was quite a change in the two weeks between when she was diagnosed and when you began testing regularly/putting the data in the spreadsheet. Did you change her diet?
 
HERE is some background info. Diet was recently changed to FF pates. I agree that with a PMPS of 134 it was best to skip the dose. Let's see what Fluffy's AMPS is on Monday.
 
Hi -- her numbers look pretty good for having skipped the shot! You are right that without a lot of data letting you know how your kitty will react to shooting on lower numbers, it's a good idea not to shoot below 200.

I tried to open the "Background Info" link, but it didn't open. It looks like there was quite a change in the two weeks between when she was diagnosed and when you began testing regularly/putting the data in the spreadsheet. Did you change her diet?
Thank you for the reply. We moved yesterday night so fluffy got very stressed, pooped in my car. I gave her her food but this morning her gb was 31. I tested twice to confirm. So she got her food, skipped dose, and I’m goong to give her some high carb treats to raise her before I go to work. I’m suspecting an after stress sugar dumping in her body, but I don’t know. Anyway super alarmed.
 
HERE is some background info. Diet was recently changed to FF pates. I agree that with a PMPS of 134 it was best to skip the dose. Let's see what Fluffy's AMPS is on Monday.
Thank you for the reply. We moved yesterday night so fluffy got very stressed, pooped in my car. I gave her her food but this morning her gb was 31. I tested twice to confirm. So she got her food, skipped dose, and I’m goong to give her some high carb treats to raise her before I go to work. I’m suspecting an after stress sugar dumping in her body, but I don’t know. Anyway super alarmed.
 
Wait....her number was 31 this morning???? And this is after you skipped the shot last night? That's....incredibly low for a cat not on insulin. I've rarely ever seen that, though I HAVE seen them run in 40s which is basically the same. And this is 31, the green number, not 31 in UK numbers right? With no insulin on board, she should be fine, but THANK HEAVENS you tested and didn't give any insulin! I'd definitely be sure to check her again before you leave for work and let us know where she's at. Usually stress makes them zoom higher, but if she wasn't eating well because of the stress, she could be lower due to that.
 
Wait....her number was 31 this morning???? And this is after you skipped the shot last night? That's....incredibly low for a cat not on insulin. I've rarely ever seen that, though I HAVE seen them run in 40s which is basically the same. And this is 31, the green number, not 31 in UK numbers right? With no insulin on board, she should be fine, but THANK HEAVENS you tested and didn't give any insulin! I'd definitely be sure to check her again before you leave for work and let us know where she's at. Usually stress makes them zoom higher, but if she wasn't eating well because of the stress, she could be lower due to that.
yes, im def freaked out, no insulin, and yes she went this low. im skipping today, im def freaking out, my husband gave her some high carb treats but I think im going to let her be for a while without insulin and check her numbers.
she looked ok when I tested and got that low number, she was up and alert, even walking around a bit. im super wierded out.
 
Wow! That is low. I am not familiar with that particular pet meter but would have assumed the readings would be comparable to pet lab values. Did the vet tell you what normal BG numbers were for that meter?
 
Wow! That is low. I am not familiar with that particular pet meter but would have assumed the readings would be comparable to pet lab values. Did the vet tell you what normal BG numbers were for that meter?
its the same as an alphatrack. 70 to 150 is normal, I had to give her LOTS of treats to get her at +6 at 271.
im not going to give her any insulin for the rest of the week since she seems to be so sensitive to insulin right now,
 
I'd make sure to keep testing her and I wouldn't make a definite decision on not dosing. I would, however, post here if you get something in the 200 or above range and let us help you decide if there is a good, safe dose to give her. I do think that lime green this morning was very odd, but as I said, since she wasn't on any insulin, it's not BAD...just very surprising and unexpected.
 
I'd make sure to keep testing her and I wouldn't make a definite decision on not dosing. I would, however, post here if you get something in the 200 or above range and let us help you decide if there is a good, safe dose to give her. I do think that lime green this morning was very odd, but as I said, since she wasn't on any insulin, it's not BAD...just very surprising and unexpected.
Thank you, I think it has to do with the move the night before, it was an 8 min car ride but was enough for her to poop in the carrier. I think that might have brought hyperglycemia and her body might have just dropped all the sugar she had.
After this morning treats to raise her bg, and despite eating, she is now down to 254, so I’m not dosing tonight because even 1/4 unit had her drop about 170 last time, I’m going to give her a few days to stabilize and keep checking.
One weird thing...I gave her the treats (Friskies the crunchy kind) and when I ca,e to check on her at + 6, her bg was better but her right eye was a bit inflamed and had yellowish greenish gunk In it. I noticed that when her bg would go up that eye tended to tear a bit, also in that side of her mouth there is dental work that needs to be done, but can’t yet due to waiting to stabilize for anesthesia.We are going back to the vet on Friday but I was wondering if anyone knew what that was....and if I should rush her to the vet or wait until Friday.
 
Because of the anatomy of a cat's head, the sinuses and eyes can sometimes be effected by dental issues. My civvie had runny eyes until he had dental extractions and cleaning done and the problem cleared up as was suggested it would by the veterinary dental specialist who did his dental. The problem with waiting to deal with dental issues is that they are often the cause of the higher BG readings. It becomes a catch 22 situation when the vet says they want the cat stabilized before doing the dental. I would push to get the dental work done ASAP. It will likely make it much easier to get Fluffy into better numbers overall and possibly stop some of the drastic roller coaster ups and downs you are now seeing.
 
Because of the anatomy of a cat's head, the sinuses and eyes can sometimes be effected by dental issues. My civvie had runny eyes until he had dental extractions and cleaning done and the problem cleared up as was suggested it would by the veterinary dental specialist who did his dental. The problem with waiting to deal with dental issues is that they are often the cause of the higher BG readings. It becomes a catch 22 situation when the vet says they want the cat stabilized before doing the dental. I would push to get the dental work done ASAP. It will likely make it much easier to get Fluffy into better numbers overall and possibly stop some of the drastic roller coaster ups and downs you are now seeing.
that makes a lot of sense, I am calling the vet today and asking them to check her out at least (in the hopes that we can set up a dental appt ASAP).
I skipped today as I checked her this morning and there is this constant pattern of slowly coming down numbers without insulin. so im going to keep and eye and see.
 
Back
Top