Insulin Side Effect?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hosanna

Member Since 2012
I'm being very serious here....has anyone heard of insulin actually making a cat sick? Martha can be feeling fine until she gets her insulin. Then she gets lethargic, sleepy, and acts nauseated, refuses to eat. I've never heard of this, but have watched her enough to think there is a real connection. Would appreciate input if you have any.
 
What insulin are you using? I am sure it could happen. Let get someone else over here to look at this, I think her cat use to get sick at a certain dose of Lantus, but not sure about that.
Ok I see your using Lantus.

Terri
 
Uh - you aren't getting any recent mid-cycle tests and the pre-shots are lower, so we can't tell how low he is going. He may be going too low. With Lantus, you need to test in the +5 to +7 time frame to check the nadir.

Insulin is a protein-based hormone. It is possible to have an allergy to a specific protein source. And some cats do better on one insulin vs another.
 
Wendy, it is an almost immediate effect and will last for about 3 hours. She has so many issues that can cause her to feel bad that I never noticed this before. I just thought it was from IBD or pancreatitis or something else. But recently I did notice that within 1/2 hour she is getting lethargic and stops eating. I always make sure she gets her insulin along with her meals, but it's not enough to fill her up. Martha eats like a horse so for her to refuse food is a big deal. On into the cycle, she begins to perk up again.
I have no idea what else to try, what other insulin. I will talk with the vet when he gets back from vacation and she's having full blood work on Jan 20.
 
If you and your vet decide it's the Lantus causing the reaction, you can try Levemir. The way it works is similar - it's long lasting - but the mechanism is different. Here is some technical info from petdiabetes.wikia.com

Levemir is a clear solution created by genetically engineered yeast. It is analogous to human insulin, but includes a "fatty acyl side chain" that binds temporarily to albumin (found under the skin and in abundance in blood plasma) (98% albumin-bound[26]) and makes the molecule "cling" to the bigger albumin molecules for a while before releasing -- making the molecules slower to enter and exit the bloodstream, and slower to enter the cells.

At an ADA Symposium prior to Levemir's US approval in 2005, Novo Nordisk claimed that if NPH has a patient to patient variability of 60%, Lantus (insulin glargine) then has a 40% variability, and Levemir a 25% rate of variability. Unlike its long-acting rival Lantus, Levemir's time-delay action occurs in the bloodstream and at the target sites, not only at the subcutaneous injection site, and doesn't depend as much on the properties of the injection site or the suspension (which is Isophane, like NPH and other analog mixed insulins)[27][28].

Human insulin is altered to produce insulin detemir (Levemir) by omitting the amino acid Threonine at insulin B chain position #30 and attaching a C14 fatty acid chain to the amino acid at position #29, Lysine[29]. The combination of the omission of the threonine amino acid at position #30 on the B insulin chain and the addition of the fatty acid side chain at position B-#29 binds the insulin heavily to albumin[30].
 
I hope to have a good discussion with him when he returns. Here is a perfect example: this morning I gave her 1 unit of Lantus at 8:30. At 8:45 she was hiding in my closet and refuses to eat.
There are times when I do skip a dose, like when she is 111. Have not paid proper attention to those times to see if there is a difference, but will certainly be on the lookout in the future.
Do many people on here use Levemir?
 
Hi,
I have used Levemir on two cats: my Pudge went OTJ after @ 5 mos of ProZinc (non-depot type of insulin). In May of 2013 he became ill - refused to eat, drink water, etc. Faced with the possibility of a stomach tube, I gave him DRY kitten food which my dry food addict ate readily. After a couple days of dry food, his BG climbed to 250 & he was started on Levemir. Once the depot was filled, his BG fell to 46 scaring me to death since this was on a single drop of Levemir! As BJ wrote, you need to get a nadir - you don't want a hypo. My second kitty was also on ProZinc & later on Levemir ( I switched due to a shortage of ProZinc). I'm told that Levemir has gentler curves than Lantus, but I have never used Lantus.
Repeating: please please get a nadir.
Best wishes for you & yours in 2014,
Sophie
 
Hello,
totally agree that both Levemir & Lantus are great insulin types, as well as, ProZinc. I meant to emphasize that it's important to get nadir BG numbers. I have Levemir currently in my fridge in case Pudge needs it for a third remission (hope he continues forever & blissfully in his 2nd remission! And my Little One never needs it for a 2nd remission!). Loved both Levemir & ProZinc, but learned to be prepared like a former girl scout should be.
Best wishes,
Sophie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top