Hello,
I am new to this forum and pretty new to the world of feline diabetes. My 12 year old cat, Delilah, was diagnosed with diabetes at the end of June 2014 with a BG of 550. She was put on Vetsulin twice a day. We started at 1 unit twice a day and increased it weekly until she maxed out at 10 units twice a day. The lowest we were able to get her blood glucose was 305. During this time (July), she had a test for pancreatitis and fructosamine levels. She had a slight case of pancreatitis and her fructosamine levels were fine. She also had a glucose curve done and her BG never dropped below 300. Mid-September, the insulin was changed to ProZinc, 2 units twice a day. We saw her behavior change immediately and assumed this insulin change was all that was needed. Her BG a week later had gone up slightly from 380 to 397 and the following week, after switching her dose to 4 units twice a day, it was up to 405. A week later, it is up to 500. The vet says our next option is an ultrasound. Any ideas about what could be causing all of this? Currently, I do not do any home testing but I will be starting this week.
I am new to this forum and pretty new to the world of feline diabetes. My 12 year old cat, Delilah, was diagnosed with diabetes at the end of June 2014 with a BG of 550. She was put on Vetsulin twice a day. We started at 1 unit twice a day and increased it weekly until she maxed out at 10 units twice a day. The lowest we were able to get her blood glucose was 305. During this time (July), she had a test for pancreatitis and fructosamine levels. She had a slight case of pancreatitis and her fructosamine levels were fine. She also had a glucose curve done and her BG never dropped below 300. Mid-September, the insulin was changed to ProZinc, 2 units twice a day. We saw her behavior change immediately and assumed this insulin change was all that was needed. Her BG a week later had gone up slightly from 380 to 397 and the following week, after switching her dose to 4 units twice a day, it was up to 405. A week later, it is up to 500. The vet says our next option is an ultrasound. Any ideas about what could be causing all of this? Currently, I do not do any home testing but I will be starting this week.