Hi, I am returning to this board after a couple of years because my cat Krismas who went OTJ in 2011, is diabetic again and has gone from well regulated with glucose scores in 100-200 range in January to been steadily higher scores over the last 6 months, now has high flat curve in high 400's to low 500's despite taking 9 units Lantus a day in divided doses. AMPS tends to be highest value of the day and is increasing. Doses take the scores down about 100 points over 12 hours but by the next shot glucose is back up and overall overall pattern of elevation continues. Vets have done many tests and found no cause for this increase. Kitty has classic symptoms but still eats poops purrs and preens but is lethargic and coat is getting dry. Kitty eats no grain low carb wet food like Tiki Cat since dx the first time.
I am trying to figure out if this is a bounce, chronic Somogiy rebound, or true insulin resistance for some unknown reason. My vet urges more increases in Lantus up to 16 units a day. I am very concerned about ketosis, have been doing urine ketostix with no trace so far, but with these scores its only a matter of time.
I'm trying to get spreadsheet linked but dont understand the computerese and have asked for help with it. Last nite did partial hourly curve looking for dip at peak. 7:30 AMPS was 496, dose 4.5 units Lantus. I was out during the day so no tests then. PMPS at 7:30pm was 436, dose 4.5 units, +3=389, +4=393, +5=409, +6=412. This morning 7:30 AMPS 473, dose 4.5, +1=511.
Hopefully will get chart up soon and head over to the insulin groups. Thanks for your help and support, Kathy and Krismas
I am trying to figure out if this is a bounce, chronic Somogiy rebound, or true insulin resistance for some unknown reason. My vet urges more increases in Lantus up to 16 units a day. I am very concerned about ketosis, have been doing urine ketostix with no trace so far, but with these scores its only a matter of time.
I'm trying to get spreadsheet linked but dont understand the computerese and have asked for help with it. Last nite did partial hourly curve looking for dip at peak. 7:30 AMPS was 496, dose 4.5 units Lantus. I was out during the day so no tests then. PMPS at 7:30pm was 436, dose 4.5 units, +3=389, +4=393, +5=409, +6=412. This morning 7:30 AMPS 473, dose 4.5, +1=511.
Hopefully will get chart up soon and head over to the insulin groups. Thanks for your help and support, Kathy and Krismas