insulin is waning way too early

danowics

Member Since 2025
Does anyone have a explanation on why is the insulin wearing off every time before PM shot ? At + 8, almost like clockwork , goes up to + 350. Don't know what to do anymore. Increase, hold ? I know there is no evidence on Somogyi , but the bounces are way to high, from under 80 -90 to close to 400
 
Linking your previous post for continuity:
Bounce or Somogyi

What is your feeding schedule? You might be seeing a combination of a bounce and loss of duration if you're feeding late in the cycle - especially if it's carbs.

BTW, he earned a reduction with that 49 yesterday. Did you shoot a preshot below 50?
 
Linking your previous post for continuity:
Bounce or Somogyi

What is your feeding schedule? You might be seeing a combination of a bounce and loss of duration if you're feeding late in the cycle - especially if it's carbs.

BTW, he earned a reduction with that 49 yesterday. Did you shoot a preshot below 50?
How do you mean - shoot a preshot ? I gave him a full dose an hour later if that's what you mean , when he got to 55. I am feeding him 4 times a day, at AM full meal, usually at +6, after the nadir check , a snack, full meal at aprox +8, and a snack after the PM shot . He eats raw meat , organs and supplements
 
How do you mean - shoot a preshot ? I gave him a full dose an hour later if that's what you mean , when he got to 55. I am feeding him 4 times a day, at AM full meal, usually at +6, after the nadir check , a snack, full meal at aprox +8, and a snack after the PM shot . He eats raw meat , organs and supplements
Hi Danny, Your original question was about duration. Bhooma is asking you questions about feeding because one way we can increase duration is through food. When she gets a chance, she'll weigh back in, but she is knowledgeable about helping folks with using food to manipulate the curve and get a bit more duration out of the insulin (she's helped Jude and I tremendously).

Also, when Bhooma asked about the preshot, she is asking if you gave a full dose of insulin when Puffy's numbers were below the decrease number of 50, which it appears you did. To be clear: when Puffy falls below 50, you should take a dose reduction to keep him safe. A dip below 50 is a signal to you that he is getting too much insulin. It is possible that Puffy's numbers might have been going down at the time you shot that 45, and you could have run the risk of a hypoglycemic episode, which you do not want Puffy to experience as they can be deadly. Please read the information Squeem posted earlier that offers guidance about the dosing method. Here is another bit of detail on taking reductions: Info - Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials (Puffy is a short-term diabetic).

We typically take dose increases/reductions in .25 increments. I'm not sure why you are taking them in increments less or more than that.
 
How do you mean - shoot a preshot ? I gave him a full dose an hour later if that's what you mean , when he got to 55.
I was asking if you gave insulin when his BG was below 50 but you didn't. Thanks for clarifying.

I am feeding him 4 times a day, at AM full meal, usually at +6, after the nadir check , a snack, full meal at aprox +8, and a snack after the PM shot . He eats raw meat , organs and supplements
You want to feed him before the nadir - usually in the first 4 hours after insulin - and not feed after. Some cats don't like to be without food for that long so a small snack later in the cycle is fine. Feeding after the nadir can reduce the duration of insulin and cause numbers to rise faster leading to higher preshots at the end of the cycle.

Does he not get food in the PM cycle except with/after the shot?
 
It's good that you waited to give the shot when you saw that Puffy was increasing. Sorry I missed that in your comment. You might want to indicate that in the notes of your spreadsheet or indicate the delay in your unit column with a "4.65 @+1.
 
I was asking if you gave insulin when his BG was below 50 but you didn't. Thanks for clarifying.


You want to feed him before the nadir - usually in the first 4 hours after insulin - and not feed after. Some cats don't like to be without food for that long so a small snack later in the cycle is fine. Feeding after the nadir can reduce the duration of insulin and cause numbers to rise faster leading to higher preshots at the end of the cycle.

Does he not get food in the PM cycle except with/after the shot?
no, he gets his last meal ,( which is more like a snack) after the PM shot. But if I feed him before the nadir , midcycle test, the BG result would be altered, wouldn't it ? I feed him after the BG test, so i can get a accurate result. Sometimes when he has low BG in the AM , i test him about 2 hrs after the AM shot, then he gets a snack , then I test him again at +4, or +6 . So he gets about 3 snacks if the bg is low -ish , and I test him often .
 
Hi Danny, Your original question was about duration. Bhooma is asking you questions about feeding because one way we can increase duration is through food. When she gets a chance, she'll weigh back in, but she is knowledgeable about helping folks with using food to manipulate the curve and get a bit more duration out of the insulin (she's helped Jude and I tremendously).

Also, when Bhooma asked about the preshot, she is asking if you gave a full dose of insulin when Puffy's numbers were below the decrease number of 50, which it appears you did. To be clear: when Puffy falls below 50, you should take a dose reduction to keep him safe. A dip below 50 is a signal to you that he is getting too much insulin. It is possible that Puffy's numbers might have been going down at the time you shot that 45, and you could have run the risk of a hypoglycemic episode, which you do not want Puffy to experience as they can be deadly. Please read the information Squeem posted earlier that offers guidance about the dosing method. Here is another bit of detail on taking reductions: Info - Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials (Puffy is a short-term diabetic).

We typically take dose increases/reductions in .25 increments. I'm not sure why you are taking them in increments less or more than that.
I didn't increase or reduce dose with more than .25 since I learned more about TR . I don't really want to increase with .25 now, when the dose is this high, ( 4.5u) What do you think ? To me , sometimes it looks like the dose is too high, low nadirs, and sharp BG increase by evening. I will do a full curve again tomorrow
 
no, he gets his last meal ,( which is more like a snack) after the PM shot. But if I feed him before the nadir , midcycle test, the BG result would be altered, wouldn't it ? I feed him after the BG test, so i can get a accurate result. Sometimes when he has low BG in the AM , i test him about 2 hrs after the AM shot, then he gets a snack , then I test him again at +4, or +6 . So he gets about 3 snacks if the bg is low -ish , and I test him often .
If you can, you want to feed in both cycles. Food helps flatten the curve and also keep him safe. No food at night might be the reason you are lowing AMPS-es. Most people feed at PS (before the shot), +2 and +4 in both cycles. As you get more info, you can alter food timings to "feed the curve".
 
If you can, you want to feed in both cycles. Food helps flatten the curve and also keep him safe. No food at night might be the reason you are lowing AMPS-es. Most people feed at PS (before the shot), +2 and +4 in both cycles. As you get more info, you can alter food timings to "feed the curve".
our problem is the high bg numbers before the PM shot. If the numbers are high before the PM shot, ( 300-400) feeding him right after the shot, would rise those numbers even higher, wouldn't; it ? The insulin is wearing off , and i am trying to find a way to extent it closer to the PMPS
 
Back
Top