Insulin for tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer and Katie

Member Since 2011
Katie's BG this morning was around 360. Fifteen minutes ago, it was 174. I'm waiting another few minutes to retest, but if it's rising, should I give 0.5 U tonight? I've been giving 1.25 U the last few days. (Haven't updated Katie's SS, but I'll do that later tonight or tomorrow).
 
Hi Jennifer,
Do you have any mid-cycle numbers the past 3 days or so with that 1.5u dose? Trying to determine how low that takes her. Oh, nevermind, the only day missing on the SS is today.
Looks like yesterday she dropped all day on that dose, and last night was a blue PMPS?
Definitely see if she is rising. If not, you should either wait and shoot a small dose, or skip it tonight. If she rises above 174, then .5 should be okay, I think.

I'll be around for a while so I can see any updates as you post them.
Carl
 
Oh, I meant to ask.... is she eating okay and are the loose stools still a problem?
 
Yeah, she rose to 183. And I updated her SS to current. I haven't been around for mid-cycle numbers, because I've been working the last two days. She's eating okay, although she didn't seem as hungry this morning. But that could be due to the fact that she ate some of what remained in her bowl two hours before her morning test. Haven't seen anymore loose stool in the litter box^^ The vet called today, and she is parasite free, but I'm still supposed to continue the Metronidozole for the remaining time.
So, 0.5 U for tonight, then?
 
Yes, the .5 should be fine for tonight. Better to shoot a small dose than to skip and have to deal with higher numbers because of no insulin overnight.
She seems to be responding really well to the insulin lately. Nice drops.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top