Insulin Dose Too High, Perhaps?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Could someone please look at Hannah's numbers for today and offer a suggestion as to what is possibly going on? I am thinking perhaps the 1.2 U was too much. :confused: Am holding off on her evening dose until her numbers rise to a safer level.
 
If it doesn't give you a shootable pre-shot at the next time, I would agree on lowering it back.
My phone won't let me see your spreadsheet, *sigh* If/when it converts to the new spreadsheet format, I may be able to see it.
 
BJM, sorry you can't view Hannah's spreadsheet. Here's the summary:

AMPS = 464
+3 = 453
+5 = 490
+11 = 265
+11.5 = 234
+ 12.5 = 204
+13.5 = 191

She hadn't eaten since +5, so I finally fed her at +14 and she ate all of it. I hate to skip tonight's insuin, but I don't know how to handle this and must now head off to bed. Guess we'll start anew in the morning. Plan to drop the insulin back to 1.0 U instead of 1.2 U. Does that sound reasonable?
 
The nadir is well above the danger level. I'd give the dose.
Also, as you get mid-cycle test, you may reduce your no shot limit to 150 mg/dL using a human meter.
 
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new here and the link to the spreadsheet is broken. What is AMPS? How can you tell from the #s above when insulin was given? At +0?

I just started testing my Kinu 2 days ago and got 325 the first time pre-feeding so I fed him a can of Friskies and gave him insulin (4u Prozinc), then it was 112 about 12 hours later so I didn't give him his insulin but fed him. Then I think I got 52 the next time it was time to feed him so I just fed him and checked an hour after feeding and it was up to 220ish so I gave him another 4u as that is what the vet had him on but I've been told by some people on Feline Diabetes FB group that he is probably on too much insulin based on those #s.

This is my first post to FMDB. I had been feeding him natural low carb dry food and he had a glucose curve a few months ago and the vet increased the dose to 4u b/c he said the sugar dropped after the shot of 3u and then went back up. However, I dont know how accurate the curve was since he was so stressed they had to force feed him the wd wet food and he never misses a meal and that isnt his normal diet.

I think he probably does need a lot less insulin esp now that I have him on wet food but I dont know where to find a copy of the spreadsheet or where exactly to look. I cant follow the start low idea since he's already on a semi-high dose but today I reduced it back to 3u after I pretested and it was 310. I just retested a few hours after feeding him and got 134.

I probably need to talk to my vet, who I dont have much trust in, or find a new one but that's going to be tough since I just lost my job so I'm trying to figure this out without a new vet and a whole new round of tests and stuff.

Thanks!
Jen
 
Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Hi, Jen,

Welcome to FDMB... the best place to be with your sugar baby, even though you'd really rather not have to be here in the first place! I've been here for quite some time with my little girlie, Hannah. She's sort of a problem kitty, in that we haven't made much progress in getting her diabetes under control. She's very unpredictable and doesn't seem to follow the rules that other kitties do. :rolleyes: However, she does act lots better since we have followed good advice offered, here. And even though a lot of time has passed for us, I'm still not very good at giving advice and leave most of that to those who are much more experienced and successful at this type of thing. However, one suggestion: If you post your question under a new topic instead of under an established thread, you will likely get quite a few more answers. It would be good to start a new post in both the ProZinc Forum and the Main Forum. Lots more folks look around over there in the Main Forum and your questions will probably get answered more quickly. To make it easier than re-typing, start a new post and just copy and paste what you typed above. That should work. :)

You asked about AMPS. That means Morning Pre-Shot... in other words, the blood glucose number before food and just prior to insulin. PMPS = Evening Pre-Shot, also before food and just prior insulin. (Food should be pulled at least 2 hours before both of these readings to give an accurate account.) And, when referring to the spreadsheet numbers, +3 means 3 hours after insulin, +5 means 5 hours after insulin, etc. Hannah did some really funny things with her numbers yesterday. She didn't drop until well after it would/should have been expected... +11 and beyond. Thus the reason for my post. :confused:

As for the link to the spreadsheet not working, there may be a technical issue of some sort. I really don't know how to answer, as I haven't had that problem. Sorry. Hope you will be able to view it soon, without any issues.

Best wishes to you and your fur baby,
Carole
 
I was able to get a copy of the spreadsheet by pulling someone else's and guessed that AMPS meant AM Preshot and PM Preshot once I saw the spreadsheet. I'll post a new topic about Kinu but what do you guys recommend for how often I test to start out. Poor baby, I feel like I'm really hurting him, I often have to jab him 3-5x to get a drop of blood. I've started feeding him chicken while doing it which might mess up his #s a little but keeps him distracted. He hates having his ears touched or rubbed let alone poked :(
Should I be aiming for AMPS & PMPS and then 2 other shots a day? When should those shots be done? Right after feeding (an hour or two) or halfway before his next feeding? I know I'll need to do a curve b/c I dont trust the results we got from the one at the vet due to the stress and change in food but I want to work my way up to that.

Thanks,
Jennifer

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?res...365&authkey=!APNxp2olYdaHa2o&ithint=file,xlsx
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top