George&Bert said:
All the years I have been on here and no matter the insulin type I have always read that you never increase in units only fractions of a unit.
yesterday, because of my guys high nadir my docs partner said double the dose from one to two units.
I hope I am not doing wrong, but I only bumped the Lantus .25 units to a now 1.25 units u100
Am I doing my cat a disservice? I was going to wait three days and check his blood again meanwhile watching the urine in the box and his behavior.
I can only test him periodically now so I don't upset him...long story for those who are not in Lantus
it's impossible to say without seeing your cat's numbers.
As you have no spreadsheet, at least none attached here, I guess you can just go by the general guidelines many follow:
"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.
Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.
You can go up to 2u if you want, but how do you know if his dose should be 1.75u? You won't.
If you numbers at mid cycle are above 300, then increase by .5u after 6 shots.
If the numbers at mid cycle are between 200 and 300, then try a lesser increase of .25u.
This protocol has worked for so many and it's logical. One step at a time and you will reach your goal, the good dose.
By taking big giant steps you are more likely to bypass the good dose and possibly harm your cat by giving too much insulin.
slowly but surely wins the race.