Insulin dosage help

Malcolm & Heidi

Member Since 2023
12/18- Help! New member here. My vet wants to up my cats insulin dosage. I'm hesitant. Hes already at 2 units. They want him to go to 2 1/2. They started him on 1, then upped him to 2. They believe his numbers to still be too high so that is why they want to up his dosage.
I can't figure out how to post the spreadsheet. But I can give his latest curve numbers
 
Last edited:
Hi
You couldn't have found a better group to join .We have a lot of experienced members here .If it wasn't for me taking their advice Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21.
in order to get some advice we need you to set up what we call our signature ,it's at the end of every members post in gray
We never increase the doses by whole units or even half units
We adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time
Tap on this link ,it will also tell you how to set up our spreadsheet, if you need help with it just ask ,we have a member who will be happy to do it for you
We need you to set up your signature it's information we need to know about Ananda
This will be helpful
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly.
You can take a look at mine
Such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you!
 
Hi
You couldn't have found a better group to join .We have a lot of experienced members here .If it wasn't for me taking their advice Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21.
in order to get some advice we need you to set up what we call our signature ,it's at the end of every members post in gray
We never increase the doses by whole units or even half units
We adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time
Tap on this link ,it will also tell you how to set up our spreadsheet, if you need help with it just ask ,we have a member who will be happy to do it for you
We need you to set up your signature it's information we need to know about Ananda
This will be helpful
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly.
You can take a look at mine
Such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Thank you!
I have a spreadsheet. I just don't know how to upload it on here
 
We ask all new members to post an intro on the main forum and get set up with a signature and our spreadsheet. We will be happy to help but need basic information first. We need to know at a minimum when diagnosed, what you are feeding, whether using a human or pet meter, whether your cat has had ketones, for starters.
 
I have a spreadsheet. I just don't know how to upload it on here
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/

If you want to give it a try here are the links
If you can't I will tag a member to contact you and do it for you

Do you think you can set up your signature at least
@HD33

For your signature just tap on your name up top then tap on the word signature and give us this information
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Look at mine
 
Last edited:
Ok. Thank you. I didn't mention it because I didn't want to get bombarded with advice etc. He went to the emergency vet that night (11/12) and I got him taken care of. My vet hadn't started him on insulin at his diagnosis since his numbers weren't super high (347) and he didn't have ketones. So they started with a diet change. Which was fine at first. But then he stopped eating and was acting lethargic. I didn't have a meter at that time since it was all new to me and I didn't know. But they got him on an insulin drip and my vet started him on 1 unit the day after the emergency. He is fine now, just still kind of high numbers (200s and 300s) and still drinking a lot of water. But he's eating and acting fine otherwise
 
Last edited:
He was on 1 unit until 11/22/23 when my vet upped his dose to 2 after I sent my curve to them. I didn't know at the time that is not good. So he's been on 2 units up until today when I gave him 2.25. My vet wanted him to go up to 2.50 starting yesterday, but after asking the group, I decided to go lower.
 
How do I do that?
I'm glad he's doing well now also

Maybe this will help ,if not I see Bandit's mom asked you what you are using

* At the top right of the spreadsheet screen click on Share.

* In the pop-up dialog box click on the Get Link section.

* Change link access from 'Restricted' to 'Anyone with the link' and make sure that the permission on the right hand side is set to 'Viewer'.

* Click Done to save the changes.
 
Last edited:
I'm on an iPhone. I think I updated it.
Yes I can see it now , be back in a minute :cat:
Have you read the 2 dosings methods to chose from using glargine?
They will let you know when an increase or decrease is needed
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
When you decide can you please add it to your signature and at the top of your spreadsheet so members know

We adjust the doses by 0.25 units at a time ,do you happen to be using the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
One important thing is you need to be testing Malcolm after the PMPS tests ,at least get a another test in before you go to bed. Actually the more tests the better. Most cats drop lower during the night


I see you are using the Alpha Trak Pet meter.
Just a suggestion I know the test strips are very expensive, I used that in the beginning
then switched to a human meter since that's what our numbers are based on
Plus the strips are much more affordable
Just in case you are interested
 
Last edited:
Sorry didn't finish my post
Would you consider using the Relion Premier Classic human meter from Walmart?
Our numbers are based on human meters anyway.
I know how expensive the strips for the Alpha Trak is
You can pick everything up from Walmart The Relion Premier Classic meter and test strips or even order on line

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103. 9 dollars

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197. 17.88 for 100

I'm going to tag some experienced members for you to take a look at your spreadsheet and see if they can give you some advice
If it wasn't for me taking their advice I know my Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21
@HD33 Can I ask you your name :cat:

One other you need to not feed Malcolm any food 2 hours prior to the AMPM or PMPS test so his BG is not food influenced

Are you giving him small snacks during each 12 hour cycle such as 1 teaspoon of his Fancy Feast
 
Last edited:
He was on 1 unit until 11/22/23 when my vet upped his dose to 2 after I sent my curve to them. I didn't know at the time that is not good. So he's been on 2 units up until today when I gave him 2.25. My vet wanted him to go up to 2.50 starting yesterday, but after asking the group, I decided to go lower.

Tagging some experienced members for you plus I'm not familiar with the pet meter numbers
Hi ladies can you please take a look at Malcolm's SS
Thank you
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Marje and Gracie
 
Last edited:
Just to chime in, I started with the Alpha Track myself but switched to the Relion as Diane suggested. It's much cheaper, and you can get the test strips from any Walmart. That way if you run out you don't have to wait for Amazon or Chewy or whoever to ship your order. You can just run down to the store and get them. Just for a comparison, 50 test strips for the Alpha Trak 3 are like $55-$60, as I'm sure you know. But the test strips for the Relion are like $17 for 100. So a whopping difference.

I am lucky enough to have pet insurance that actually covers my AT3 strips, but choose to use the Relion anyway as it's simply more convenient, and that's what everyone here uses. Plus, like I said, you don't have to wait for shipments. It's just way easier. But it is only a suggestion. :)
 
Sorry didn't finish my post
Would you consider using the Relion Premier Classic human meter from Walmart?
Our numbers are based on human meters anyway.
I know how expensive the strips for the Alpha Trak is
You can pick everything up from Walmart The Relion Premier Classic meter and test strips or even order on line

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103. 9 dollars

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197. 17.88 for 100

I'm going to tag some experienced members for you to take a look at your spreadsheet and see if they can give you some advice
If it wasn't for me taking their advice I know my Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21
@HD33 Can I ask you your name :cat:
Just to chime in, I started with the Alpha Track myself but switched to the Relion as Diane suggested. It's much cheaper, and you can get the test strips from any Walmart. That way if you run out you don't have to wait for Amazon or Chewy or whoever to ship your order. You can just run down to the store and get them. Just for a comparison, 50 test strips for the Alpha Trak 3 are like $55-$60, as I'm sure you know. But the test strips for the Relion are like $17 for 100. So a whopping difference.

I am lucky enough to have pet insurance that actually covers my AT3 strips, but choose to use the Relion anyway as it's simply more convenient, and that's what everyone here uses. Plus, like I said, you don't have to wait for shipments. It's just way easier. But it is only a suggestion. :)

My friend gifted me her Alphatrak 3 and strips after her cat passed away. So I'm set for awhile. So I'll just continue to use that for now. I'm sure at some point I'll make the switch. But I'm good for now.
 
I can see the spreadsheet now. Good job. You need some tests at night to see how low the BG gets. Even a before bed test will help. We only have half of the picture and cats often have lower BG at night. Based on what I see the increase was needed but going forward can you get some tests at night?

can you look at the curve test on 12/15? That is the one that I sent my vet and the one they decided to up his dose to 2.50. But im only giving him 2.25 for now.
I just started getting in some PM tests. I'll try and do more. He gets his PM shot at 9:30 and likes to graze on his dinner. But I'll try get them before I go to bed at 12. I most likely won't do in the middle of the night tests though. I finally got over my battle with insomnia and would like to keep it that way for my own health.
 
Sorry didn't finish my post
Would you consider using the Relion Premier Classic human meter from Walmart?
Our numbers are based on human meters anyway.
I know how expensive the strips for the Alpha Trak is
You can pick everything up from Walmart The Relion Premier Classic meter and test strips or even order on line

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103. 9 dollars

https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197. 17.88 for 100

I'm going to tag some experienced members for you to take a look at your spreadsheet and see if they can give you some advice
If it wasn't for me taking their advice I know my Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21
@HD33 Can I ask you your name :cat:

One other you need to not feed Malcolm any food 2 hours prior to the AMPM or PMPS test so his BG is not food influenced

Are you giving him small snacks during each 12 hour cycle such as 1 teaspoon of his Fancy Feast

my name is Heidi. Yes, I do not feed him 2 hours before testing. I do give him food throughout the day because he doesn't finish his breakfast or dinner in one eating. So I'll let him graze on it. (But put it up when I go to bed)
 
can you look at the curve test on 12/15? That is the one that I sent my vet and the one they decided to up his dose to 2.50. But im only giving him 2.25 for now.
I just started getting in some PM tests. I'll try and do more. He gets his PM shot at 9:30 and likes to graze on his dinner. But I'll try get them before I go to bed at 12. I most likely won't do in the middle of the night tests though. I finally got over my battle with insomnia and would like to keep it that way for my own health.
While there are more experienced members than me, looking at your curve I can see the numbers are still too high. I'm going to copy and paste something one of our moderators, Marje and Gracie, wrote to another member that I believe applies here.

"When the BG sits in the 200s and 300s, it is above “renal threshold” so glucose is constantly released into the urine. This is not good for his body and overall health but it’s also not good for his kidneys."

Part of the goal with insulin is to keep our cats under renal threshold so their bodies aren't harmed. That may be why your vet wants to increase the insulin dose. On here we typically increase and decrease by .25, but I'll let a more experienced member guide you with dosing. Hope this helps a little.
 
If you are feeding a canned or raw diet I would consider switching to TR because we increase more quickly and with past DKA it would get into lower bg numbers more quickly. With TR you can increase every 6 cycles until you start to see blue or green nadirs . You would need 4 tests each day.. you would need amps, pmps, and one additional test each cycle.
 
Back
Top