Insulin bounce or what? Need Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

DAN

New Member
Hi new here need some advice on our bg numbers please. Annie is a 11year old tabby,and a 2year old diabectic her numbers were around 200 to 300 bg. We just changed to wet only ff and low carbs four days ago. Her numbers went crazy . 1st day went from 307 at 8:30 am to 92 at 2:30 pm to 126 at 4:30 pm to 349 at 8:30 .We been giveing her 4units x2 a day of lantes. On day 2 she was 425 at 8:30 am we shot 4 units and tested again at 11:30 she was 247 at 4:30 she was 100 at 8:30 pm she was 79 so we did not give her a shot. On day 3 At 7:30 she was 370 gave her shot 3.5 units at 11:30 she was 271 at 4:30 she was 305 at 8:30 she was 362. Now she is going from 350 to 119 in 6hrs then back to 380 at 12 hrs same thing today any ideas will help. We are still giveing 4 units x2 is she getting a bounce from insulin should we lower to 3.5 or lower
need to get her numbers more level thanks. Dan

1st day Day2 Day3
amps307 4 unit amps-425 amps-370 3.5 units
+6- 92 +8-- 100 +4-- 271
+8- 126 +12-- 79 No shot +9-- 305
pmps 349 4 unit pmps-362 4 units

Day4
t amps-350
+6--- 119
pmps-380
 
Hi Dan, 4u of Lantus is a pretty high dose. You might want to cross post this in the Lantus support forum where some of the more knowledgeable can help you out. Usually they recommend going back to 1 unit if you make such a big diet change, but I am sure they'll want some more information to help you make the decision on dosing. You are definitely on the right path by home testing and switching to all wet food.
 
Hi Dan, Great job that you're testing your cat's BG. That puts you and her ahead of the game.
There can definitely be some bouncing as you try to get a cat regulated. the liver reacts to a far or a fast drop by thinking "uh oh I gotta make some glucose!" especially if the cat has not been used to normal numbers for a while. Eventually it usually settles down.
Another thing is it can take several days to really see what a dose of Lantus is going to do. (that varies by cat).
Is this the dose she started on ?

There is some good information about the use of Lantus in cats in the "Stickies" at the top of the Lantus forum . http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=9 and also a lot of helpful people on there, though more earlier in the day.
But you definitely picked the right forum to start out in, and it is a good idea to spend time on this ( Feline Diabetes Health) forum reading and asking general questions you may have about diabetes, diet, etc.
 
Hi Dan,
welcome to FDMB :mrgreen:

I'm guessing you may have had Annie on a higher carb (maybe even dry food?) food before the Fancy feast?

Can you say what it was please.
4u twice a day is indeed a high dose for a cat that has been diabetic for quite some time.
We do have hgh dose kitties but their doses tend to flucuate and can go a lot higher (don't worry about this for now)

Few q's-

Do you test with ketodiastix? These test not only glucose concentration but also keytones (mainly caused by insufficient insulin)

Can you give an approximate timeline of how you worked up to 4u?

Do you stick as religiously as possible to 12 hr dosing?

Any change in Annie's habits recently?
Behaviour?
Peeing, pooping, playfulness, preeening, purring (fondly known as the 5 p's)

Lantus isn't an insulin you can dose hop, or miss shots with (though when you did was good idea as number too low)

On the little info you have given it looks as if Annie's dose is too high, but would not like to suggest any changes until you can answer q's.
I checked in Lantus and can't see a cross post (hope that's right)
We used Levemir and it and Lantus are identical in terms of dosing and almost identical action. Handling of the insulins is the main difference.
Please keep asking questions too. :-D
 
Hi i have not done a keytone test at home yet but our vet has several times and all neg. We have noticed her pee ball are much smaller and she is not drinking as much water. Her weight has went down some from 12lbs to 11.5 lbs . But she is starting to eat more fancy feast. Befour she was eating a cup of dry DM + a can of wet ff now no dry just wet food.
Hope this helps thanks Dan
 
Dry food can have as much as 60% carbs in it.
If you look at the top, you should see Janet and Binky's foodcharts. Should be able to check what the carb conent of the dry is.

Based on this little info, losing the dry would almost certainly mean she needs less insulin.

Still don't know how you worked up to 4u?
Were you testing from the outset?

Ethos here is start low, go slow. Usually means start at 1u and gradually increase.in .5u increments.Ths is so you don't miss the ideal dose.
No way of knowing with what info you have given.

Does your vet seem knowledgeable about diabetes?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top