INSECURITY

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
My fear of increasing Corky's dose has always been that after dosing AMPS & PMPS Eastern time, 6:00AM/6:00PM by +4's 10:00 AM/PM ET is when the insulin kicks in, I know we want low blue and green numbers on the spreadsheet, but the insecurity of the night +4 bed time, his BG lowers,
I hope I am making sense, I haven't been testing every two, trying to test every 3, because I need to get use to the blues and greens.
But I really believe he needs an increase I' am seeing too many high yellows, even purples, I bought today Pretty Litter is supposed to check urine I have the Ketone strips, but since I use crystal litter it absorbs the urine immediately, I am putting water in every meal, they are using their bowl I need the hydrated, the pupping is still an issue , there's Lacatalose, Miralax I give them alternatively, they poop maybe every 2-3 days
a lot I don't know I guess I am ranting here, I have not posted in a bit trying to not depend so much on you guys, but knowing I can do this but I always doubt myself suggestions needed on dosing the pooping issue and spreadsheet review:bighug::banghead::cat::cat:
 
Hi Maria. It’s always good to reach out for support! I really would not increase Corky’s dose at this time. Many of your nadirs, particularly at night, are within the target nadir range that we are looking for in a cat where the Start Low Go Slow dosing method is being used (about 90-149). I do notice that he is higher during the daytime for some reason. Do you do anything differently during the a.m. cycle? Feeding? Same food? If you could stay up a little later one night (or wake up) and get that +6 test some evening, I would love to see what he’s doing at night that might be influencing the daytime cycles. It doesn’t have to be tonight, but a night of your choosing.
 
Hi Maria. It’s always good to reach out for support! I really would not increase Corky’s dose at this time. Many of your nadirs, particularly at night, are within the target nadir range that we are looking for in a cat where the Start Low Go Slow dosing method is being used (about 90-149). I do notice that he is higher during the daytime for some reason. Do you do anything differently during the a.m. cycle? Feeding? Same food? If you could stay up a little later one night (or wake up) and get that +6 test some evening, I would love to see what he’s doing at night that might be influencing the daytime cycles. It doesn’t have to be tonight, but a night of your choosing.
Yesss! No increase you know that makes me very happy, and you know “anything for Corky” you’ll be seeing +6 starting tonight I give a 1/2 of can of FF pate to each at 1:30 pm every day, today I bought FF FLAKE trout feast, but I have them in the bag to return I don’t think they are LC the +10 was too too high oh by the way on the +6, I’m still up at that time
 
Last edited:
It looks like one of the familiar yellow cycles he has been having lately. He’s been doing his bet work at night! Then in the morning he’s finished. He did have a little spike at +2 where his previous insulin from the night before had completely worn off and his morning dose hadn’t kicked in yet. I’m hoping he will smooth out over time and start getting better daytime numbers. Don’t worry, Maria!
 
It looks like one of the familiar yellow cycles he has been having lately. He’s been doing his bet work at night! Then in the morning he’s finished. He did have a little spike at +2 where his previous insulin from the night before had completely worn off and his morning dose hadn’t kicked in yet. I’m hoping he will smooth out over time and start getting better daytime numbers. Don’t worry, Maria!

Thank you, Suzanne, can Bgs be altered by stress?? and the purple #s he can handle, hopefully he'll plateau soon
 
stress can definitely elevate BG. Are they still working at your house?

yes!!! now inside the apt, this is like a forever thing from 6:30AM till 3:30PM Mon-Fri, now I can see in his spreadsheet that during the construction hours is when he stays high, he does much better after 3:30PM Wow
 
yes!!! now inside the apt, this is like a forever thing from 6:30AM till 3:30PM Mon-Fri, now I can see in his spreadsheet that during the construction hours is when he stays high, he does much better after 3:30PM Wow
That definitely can be the problem lately. When will it end? I have been wondering why he’s like this during the day. We should perhaps see an improvement on Saturday and Sunday? Let’s pay special attention to what happens.
 
Did you say that you gave a little more insulin this morning- - a fat dose? If so, could you please put .75F in the cell on your spreadsheet to show that you gave him a fat .75 units?
 
Did you say that you gave a little more insulin this morning- - a fat dose? If so, could you please put .75F in the cell on your spreadsheet to show that you gave him a fat .75 units?

Hi, I did as you requested, but actually I had no idea there was something called fat dose, somehow his BG to looks greater than ever for now, anyway, I your are not too busy today and you can review his SS and give me an input it would be great
 
I know you are running out of U-40 syringes. I am going to tag @Chris & China (GA) who works with DCIN and hopefully can help you since I believe you were already approved, but lost your contact’s information.
I was able to contact Tania from the DCIN, she wrote back 2 days ago and said she needed more financial information from me like documentation to support low-income but I do not know what she needs, she did not specify I will email her in the morning.
while I have you, can you give me input on Corky's SS? what you called a fat dose seems to be working pretty well I think?:bighug::cat::cat:
 
Well I would be very nervous about the use of the other syringes. I hope you can get U-40 syringes with 1/2 unit markings.

I will be sending from my phone's email answering your concern a picture of the syringes I have left until I resolve this matter, if you know or could send me a diagram for me the 1u .75u .25u I will be comfortable using these I cannot download it here since I do not have permission, perhaps if you do download the syringe I can get an answer if it's easier for you thanks I believe Corky is doing really really good so far I do not think he can handle a 1.U .. your comments is welcomed
Just send the picture and bag to make it easier for anyone to read
 
I like these numbers Corky is getting this week compared to last week. His daytime cycles seem to have come into line again. His nadirs are much better. :)
 
Yep. You are doing great with Corky. He should be feeling a lot better than he was when he was first diagnosed.
Good morning
Yes! He does, right now he’s in his carrier on the way to the Vet for his rabies shot. I am Very happy with his numbers even though on the AMPS is high it levels off quite quickly Have an nice and blessed weekend
Without your help and guidance Corky would have not gotten where he is now You are Corky’s and my Hero:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Good morning
Yes! He does, right now he’s in his carrier on the way to the Vet for his rabies shot. I am Very happy with his numbers even though on the AMPS is high it levels off quite quickly Have an nice and blessed weekend
Without your help and guidance Corky would have not gotten where he is now You are Corky’s and my Hero:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
Can you tell me what are the requirements for rabies shots in Florida? I mean, how strict are they about rabies shots? Does anyone check up on you to make sure you get one? Do some vets refuse to care for your animal if they aren’t current on their rabies vaccine? Do you have to purchase a license for cats? Do you know if it varies county by county or is it a statewide thing? I’m very curious.
 
Can you tell me what are the requirements for rabies shots in Florida? I mean, how strict are they about rabies shots? Does anyone check up on you to make sure you get one? Do some vets refuse to care for your animal if they aren’t current on their rabies vaccine? Do you have to purchase a license for cats? Do you know if it varies county by county or is it a statewide thing? I’m very curious.

According to Vets, cats must, mandatory for their health, must be vaccinated against rabies weather they are inside cats and specially in-outdoor cats. I do not know State by State, I personally, is the first-time having cats, that I have vaccinated for Rabies, my cats have always been inside pets. I also live in a complex where they mandate pets to have the rabies vaccination. There are no side effects, so there is no danger to the cat.
I do refuse any other vaccinations; they have never stepped paws outside the door,
I assume that only if your cats bites someone, you will be asked for vaccination certificate it is a yearly shot, if you do not have it, he/she will be quarantined.
You might want to call the ASPCA in your State, but otherwise your baby is safe without if your baby is tame and an inside cat, and I have never had a problem with a Vet refusing care, they do not ask
I hope this is helpful to you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top