Injection Help Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocky&Moe

Member Since 2016
Hi -- I'm new here. My 10 year old cat, Moe, was diagnosed as diabetic 3 weeks ago. The first week, the injections went fine, the second week it got more difficult, and this week it's been an all out battle.

I think I'm doing something wrong, as it seems like I'm hurting him. I saw some posts in this forum about a method where the skin is wrapped around the finger when it's tented, to help make the skin tighter so there's less pull, but I'm having a hard time visualizing this. Moe flees as soon as he feels me tenting his skin (even if I'm just petting him and trying to desensitize him), so I haven't been able to practice this on him before actually trying it.

Are there any videos or pictures showing this method? I haven't been able to find anything online.

Moe is currently on 4 units of Vetsulin 2x/day. I use a U-40 syringe with 29 gauge and 1/2" needle.

Thank you so much for your help. Any advice you have would be greatly appreciated.

Katherine
 
See:
Whre are yu located/maybe somebody is nearby and can give you demonstration.
I inject Paches II when she is finishing here food otherwise she swats and tries to bite.
Welcome.
Vetsulin/Caninisulin is not the best insulin since it only lasts 8-10 hours.
Also, four units of insulin is high for only being diagnosed 3 weeks ago. How was that dose arrived at?
Most of us here test or cats blood glucose at home using a human meter. We test before each shot and periodically between shots. We record our reading and other info in a spreadsheet. See:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...te-a-ss-and-link-it-in-your-signature.130337/
BG testing at the dose can raise BG value by 100 (USA) or more due to stress.
What are you feeding? A low-carb canned is best. No reason for a prescription food. Here is a list of commercial low-carb canned

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/shortcut-shopping-list-all-8-or-less-updated.117688/

Here is a link to home testing blood sugarshttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
Hi Katherine and Moe! Some cats just plain don't like the feel of 'tenting' the skin. To try it another way, hold a length of hair between the SIDE of your thumb and your hand - holding the hair, roll your hand raising the hair and making a 'part' in the hair. Shoot the skin there at a flat angle to the body. Doc doesn't like tenting but doesn't mind the roll method.

HUGS!
 
Thank you so much for your help. We go to the vet tomorrow for a glucose check so I'll ask for their help but wanted to reach out for other techniques that people have found helpful.

Moe's glucose was 514 when he was initially tested. After 8 days of 2 units 2x/day, it went down to 442 so the dosage was increased to 3.5 units. After a week, it went down to 300 so they raised it slightly to 4 units. He's been very playful and energetic over the last few days so I'm taking it as a good sign.

Again, thanks for the advice and support. I really appreciate it :)

Katherine
 
Here are my suggestions:

  • If you look at the very end of the needle, you'll see that one edge is beveled. Make sure that edge is facing up toward you to minimize any discomfort.
  • You could try a syringe with a thinner gauge, shorter needle. Pretty common around here are 30g or 31g 5/16" (8mm) needles. An 5/16" (8mm) needle, for example, is a third shorter than the 1/2" (approx. 13mm). That can make all the difference in the world.
  • Find a special test/shoot spot in the house. Your goal is to make it a comfortable place so Moe will grow to associate testing and shooting with something positive. Take him there, pet him, love him, cuddle him, and practice tenting the skin even if you're not giving a shot. Then give him a low-carb or no-carb treat that he loves. With time and consistency, hopefully he'll be ok with the whole thing.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom is right, I had no idea there was such a lack of variety in the U40 syringes. No matter where I look, the only available option seems to be 29g 1/2". If someone wanted to try a different needle, it would appear that the only option is to use a U100 syringe and the conversion chart.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top