Injectable Methyl-B12?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ohiogal

Member Since 2012
Hi all!

I talked to my vet this morning about my diabetic kitty Casey. Casey's doing OK, but her BG is still in the high 200s-low 300s even on 6 units of Lantus twice a day. Her fructosamine level is 400, OK but not great. I've been trying to get her regulated since December, and it's starting to occur to me that Casey might be one of those cats who will just never have a low BG no matter what I pump into her. The vet agrees, although she suggested maybe changing the insulin to Humulin. I'm not sure that would make a difference.

Anyway, Casey has diabetic neuropathy. She's been walking on her hocks since March, and in June the vet gave me some injectable cynaocobalamin (B12) that hasn't done a bit of good. I remarked to her that I'd done research and what Casey needs is METHYL-B12, and the vet said that if I could find some, to bring the info in and they'd order it for Casey (I guess they tried to find some in June and couldn't.)

So, my question is - does anyone know where I can get my hands on some injectable Methyl-B12? I know about Zobaline, the pill form, and have tried giving Casey that, but it hasn't made a dent. My guess is that's because her BG is so high, but it might be impossible to bring it any lower than it already is.

If anyone has any information on this, I'd be very appreciative. Casey seems to be in great health, except for the walking on her back hocks. I'd really like to get her back to walking normally again, if that's at all possible.

Thanks,
Sarah B
 
Hello-

I nursed my kitty Stella successfully with Methyl B crushed into her food twice a day and the regular B shots for the first 9 weeks and then again for another round later. Also make sure your feline is eating only WET food. If that is impossible make sure whatever dry food you have is low carb (see posts from other members in regards to the food charts).

My Stella used primarily this Methyl B from vitacost: http://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-methyl-b-12-5000-mcg-60-lozenges-3

Use one pill at am feeding and one in the pm feeding. You open the pill and mix it into the food. Stella never rejected the taste.

Also, I am no expert but shoot to get your feline into the blues. Blue BGs (100-199) is where healing is possible. I am not sure you will see a difference in nerve damage if you cannot navigate to this level. Again...I am not an expert. I have only dealt with my kitty Stella and every cat is different. Stella is fully recovered from neuropathy despite her also loving to surf in dangerously high BGs. It took about 90 days to see a difference in her nueropathy whith tight regulation.

I wish you the best of luck. You are doing a GREAT job. Kudos to you for being so diligent. I look forward to seeing your progress!
 
you're vet should know where to order it from? maybe go to another vet and ask them?

My Annie has been on the Cyonocobolamine and it has worked for her, but only after her numbers got lower. When her numbers start getting higher, her neuropathy comes back, when her numbers come lower again, it goes away. from my experience as well, and from what i've read, it will only start to work once her numbers are lower. But Annie has been getting the b12 injections for about 2 months now and will probably be on it for awhile.

Have you had Casey's Potassium levels checked? Sometimes if a cats potassium levels are too low, the b12 won't work because it needs a sufficient amount of potassium to work. We give Annie some Renal K(Potassium Gluconate) every night at pm feeding to keep her potassium levels in the normal range.

Im not expert but this is from my personal experience and some research i've done.
 
I Googled and could only find one or two medical places that will give the injections. I could not find anyone selling injectible Methyl-B12
 
Hello,
over the years I've gotten a lot of information from pharmacies affiliated with vet schools or even regular(people) hospitals. Also, try Dialisis centers near you. All of them try to have good community relations & will generally answer such questions.

Best wishes,
Sophie
 
Hi there. My cat also had neuropathy. I started him on the pill form of Methyl -B12 about 60 days ago. I purchased it at a local health food store.

It's really simple to use. 60 tablets in a bottle, I take one of these - crush it up and put it in Scratchie's morning food as only needs once a day. In less than 60 days the neuropathy is gone (55 days to be exact) and I'm thrilled. ;-)

I could not find the injectable but read somewhere that it is very expensive. The 2 bottles I purchased cost me about $23 per bottle and I purchased 2. It's amazing stuff and really does work, it's just not going to 'fix' itself overnight. No more potty problems and he's actually running down the halls these days, and jumping on the furniture. Waiting for him to jump on the counter to get to the top of the fridge which used to be his favorite spot! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top