putus_human
Member Since 2020
Hi all! I'm Victoria and my cat is Putu. We're new here and have a lot of questions, but have already found a lot of help and comfort with the resources so far. So thank you so much for your support
But I have some questions I haven't been able to find an answer to yet...
My vet is recommending increasing Vetsulin from 1 unit to 2 units. I'm hesitant because I've seen 0.25 unit increases on the guidelines here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-humulin-n-novolin-n-nph.231593/
I'm trying to figure out other reasons why an increase to 2 units would be justified. Some background on Putu:
My vet is recommending increasing Vetsulin from 1 unit to 2 units. I'm hesitant because I've seen 0.25 unit increases on the guidelines here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-humulin-n-novolin-n-nph.231593/
- Is that very specific to N/NPH or is that for any intermediate-acting insulin?
- I don't even think I could dose 0.25 increments properly right now because I only have U-40 needles. Is that advisable to even try?
- Curious why the recommendation here differs from the AAHA guidelines?
I'm trying to figure out other reasons why an increase to 2 units would be justified. Some background on Putu:
Went DKA 9 days ago and was hospitalized for 3 days.
Was on prednisolone for about ~3 weeks (due to IBD) before DKA but this was discontinued immediately.
Is supposed to start budesonide tomorrow.
Is getting pre-shots in the 300-500's and nadirs in the 200's.
Was on prednisolone for about ~3 weeks (due to IBD) before DKA but this was discontinued immediately.
Is supposed to start budesonide tomorrow.
Is getting pre-shots in the 300-500's and nadirs in the 200's.
- Would any of the above indicate that she needs to go to 2 units? Either because of a risk of DKA or to counteract the steroid? (Note: vet said it's not a steroid and won't have side effects but it looks like from my reading it is a steroid and may have side effects, just not as severe).
- Can anyone advise whether going from 1 to 2 units of Vetsulin is safe given all the above?
- Conversely, is there harm/risk (e.g. DKA) with only going up to 1.5 units?