? Increase to 1.5?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ailish’s Brother

Member Since 2024
Edit *I went back to review the SLGS protocol and realize the increase should be to 1.25, if it happens*

Good morning,

So I spoke with my vet yesterday. She wants me to keep Ailish on the Royal Canin Rabbit and Pea diet she switched her to for now, but is ok with me increasing her insulin to 1.5 if I would like.

Looking at my spreadsheet, does that seem safe to ya’ll?

All the numbers on the sheet are from the Relion meter, I have a freestyle libre 3 on her, but it almost always reads “hi” or 50 points higher than the Relion.

She’s eating well and putting back on some of the weight she lost, but I’m worried about ketones. It’s hard to see on the at home strips I have if it’s “negative” or “trace” and I don’t have the funds to cover a hospital stay in NYC if she goes DKA, so I’d like to get her better regulated asap.
 
Last edited:
Yes, you can increase to 1.25 units. SLGS has you increase every 7 days if you aren't seeing nadirs (the lowest point) in the 90-149 range. Good luck with the increase.

You might want to record the results of the ketones tests in the Remarks column of the spreadsheet. Glad to see you are testing for them, but we'll ask if we don't see the results. ;)
 
@Wendy&Neko Will do moving forwards, thank you!

Yes, you can increase to 1.25 units. SLGS has you increase every 7 days if you aren't seeing nadirs (the lowest point) in the 90-149 range. Good luck with the increase.

You might want to record the results of the ketones tests in the Remarks column of the spreadsheet. Glad to see you are testing for them, but we'll ask if we don't see the results. ;)
 
It's unlikely that you will get exactly the same reading from two different meters. Even doing two, back-to-back tests with the same meter, there can be up to a 20% variation in the test results. What I would suggest, though, is to manually color in the cells on Ailish's spreadsheet. (When you put a letter in the cell, it the cell won't automatically be color coded.) If the cells are in colors, it helps you to see patterns. Despite the difference in meters, it does look like the pattern of results is similar despite different meters -- I'm assuming that the "L" means the reading was from the Libre. What I'm seeing is that your cat's nadir is generally in the higher 200s.

The Royal Canin Rabbit and Pea is just below 10% carb -- providing your feeding your cat the canned food and not the dry. Did the vet say why she wanted you to stick to that particular food? At some point, you may want to discuss at least one other option so there's some variety in your cat's diet. There are other novel proteins (e.g., venison) that may be worth trying if the idea is that Ailish needs a novel protein diet.
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Thank you for the advice, I updated the color coding in the spreadsheet and am glad to hear the rabbit and pea is reasonably low in carbs, I was worried it was a lot higher. I am planning to ask about other novel proteins, as it is $$$!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top