Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

chubbabubba

Member Since 2012
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=87192

So last night we adjusted Bubba from 1.5 to 1.75 u Lantus.
His numbers have gone up today and last night and I am not sure if this happens initially with a increase?
Have you seen this before? Is this the liver / body protecting itself? ) I think Ive read that somewhere?

1/17- pmps 306 ( increase)
+2.5 307
+5 311
1/18 amps 436?
+5 315
+7.5 302


I am also a bit worried about Bubba the last few days. His breathing was rough today and
He is not acting himself. He is eating, going to the bathroom, no vomit yet he seems beat. Takes a few steps and lays down.
Perhaps its his breathing. ( Had to adjust his med for that today) But we are always walking a tight rope of balance with the pred and glucose! ( Recent Xray and bloodwork ok on Jan 6th) Potassium was good as well. Nothing came up high in blood other then glucose and Cholesterol and Triglycerides. ( Dr feels it because he is obese.) :( Hate when they say that!


Or perhaps its his legs bothering him from Neuropathy ?
The only time he really perks up is for those Halo Treats??? I mean kitten crazy like!

He always even in the past makes a big deal when I touch his tummy so I am not sure if I should be taking him to have that
Pancrease test done? Do any of his other numbers in their bloodwork normally increase when they have a problem with the Pancrease?

I called and that Spec FPL is 268.00 at my vet. I will spend it, but thought that was high. Oh my I wish animals could talk!

I am making myself sick over him with worry!
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Find out if the vet can do a Snap fPL. The blood doesn't need to be sent out -- it's an in-office test. It's like a pregnancy test in that you don't get a value. It tells you whether your cat does or doesn't have pancreatitis.

Numbers can go up initially after a dose increase. We refer to it as New Dose Wonkiness (NDW).
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Thanks Sienna!

NDW is making me CRAZY! When I brought the test up to my vet, he said the one they do gets sent out to TX.
If anyone in Northern NJ hs gotten it done in house and the price was pretty good, please let me know.
Snap FPL- I will ask again for that. I may have to look around.

Thanks
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Here's the info on the Snap fPL. You might also ask your vet if he uses a local IDEXX lab for other blood work or if he sends everything to TAMU (Texas A & M University -- it's one of the bigger vet schools and they do a lot of lab work especially for GI-related issues). If he uses a local IDEXX lab, they can run the Spec fPL at a lower cost since shipping isn't involved.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Thanks Sienna, I actually went to the site earlier and read and watched
The video. Bubba just seems uncomfortable tonight.
He went to the bathroom, solid stool but something
Is bothering him. He is a big boy and sometimes he needs help
With cleaning that area. So normally we use a unscented baby wipe
Tonight he got so upset and yelled at me. I know he has gas.
His diet is just the same?

. I'm a wreck.
I'm going to see what the morning brings.
Like I'll sleep, yeah right!

Again, if anyone is from north jersey and there vet does it in house
Please let me know!
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Do you know if he has anal gland problems? Sometimes those glands need to be expressed.

Dyana is in Hunterdon County, NJ. Is that anywhere near you?
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

No, I have never been told that.
I'm in Essex county NJ, so no where near Dana. ;(
I'm going to look up the anal glands and see what info is out there.
I really need that test, so I could put my mind at ease with that at least.
Hopefully I could find a in house place as I am pretty sure it will be
268 or so. Money is so tight, but I can't not take him!

I'll be poor but semi sane ;(
If you come across someone let me know.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Unfortunately I don't have any great words of wisdom, but Buster and I send feel better vines to Bubba and big hugs to you! I hope you can find out what's bothering him and help him get back on track.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Thank you all. Well, a vet visit tomorrow as now he has watery stool, won't let me touch his tummy.
Something is not right here.!
Bubba normally eats only the ff chicken classic
Because he would turn his head at the turkey.
Gave him some this morning but I doubt that's it.
I'm so nervous . Lost my last cat in Sept from intestinal lymphoma
So when I see watery stool I'm a deer in headlights.

Please send Bubba some healing thoughts.
Thanks
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Sounds like a vetty visit is in order. I hope they find something fixable. Try not to worry and get some rest! Yeah, right...do take care!
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Thanks Tara. I am going, bringing my video and photos!
Want him to see, what I am. Praying tomorrow morning he will act better
Don't know what to think at this pt.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Jackie

If you are really worried, you can take him to the ER. If he doesn't need an ER visit, just watch him and hopefully you can get him in first thing in the morning.

Try not to let NDW get you. Many cats get it...mine is dealing with it today. It passes so try to just take it in stride.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Thank you Majre,
Trust me if I had the funds or available credit we would be there!
That's not fun to say, but the truth.

I'm not worried about the ndw any longer.
Bubba seems to be onto something else here.
I'll be up watching him.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Are you familiar with Care Credit? You can google it. It might be a possibility to help you.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Thanks Majre,

Yes we have it. Not enough on it to go to er at the moment. Here the minimum is 600.
As soon as you walk in. Know from experience.

I will spend whatever it takes to get him better
Trust me. But I didnt even catch my breathe
Financially from the first time a few yrs ago.
So things are very tight. Hopefully that does not come across as I don't love him
He just woke up and ate a few bites of food.
I will watch him and see what the morning brings.
Something is bugging him in his tummy.
he's resting now.
Going to cuddle next to him. Thanks again.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

Okey doke. Pancreatitis is painful so if he has it, that might be why his tummy hurts.

I don't know if you can talk to your vet but I think he's marking up the test alot. I had the specfPL done a couple months ago and the test itself is $68.00. My vet charged me $15 for the blood draw and $15 to mail it to TAMU.
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

That's all it cost at your vet? How do I approach that?
I don't want to upset them , don't want to burn any bridges
 
Re: Increase in glucose numbers after adjusting dose? Questi

I knew the test was $68 so when they told me the bill was $98, I asked what the additional $30 was for and they were happy to break it down for me.

So you could just say you understand the cost of the test was $68 and just wondered what the remaining costs were.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top