? Increase in blood sugar after a corticosteroid shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bandit's Mom

Member Since 2019
I discovered a couple of bald patches on Bandit a couple of days back. Inflamed, with red dots and she was licking them like crazy - and she doesn't groom at all. Took her to the vet on Saturday night. He said it was flea-allergy dermatitis and he gave her a shot for it. Fool that I am, I didn't ask what was in the shot (with this covid situation, we don't really have the luxury of a proper consult). Her BG is now off the charts and I suspect he gave her a corticosteroid shot for the inflammation/itchiness. Vet not taking my calls, so I cannot confirm. Still hoping to get in touch with him.

Could anyone help me with how long it would take for BGs to normalize after a single steroid shot? I don't want to increase her dose since she was already seeing low-enough numbers on the existing dose. Besides, with Lantus, it will take 4-6 cycles for the depot to adjust and by then, she may already head down - or so I hope!
 
WELCOME TO FDMB! This is the best place to help you help Bandit. I'm not one of the experts here but I am a veteran of this site. From my understanding steroids take quite a while to leave the system. I DO NOT know if the type or amount makes much difference.
I will let the experts address the rest.
Again WELCOME and hang on for more advice ok?
jeanne
 
Unable to get in touch with my vet, so I have no clue what injection he gave (time to change vets?). I asked another one and he said BG usually spikes for 24-48 hours after a corticosteroid shot. Posting this for future reference of anyone who might have the same question in the future.
 
The shot my vet gave was not a corticosteroid. And its not stress any more (though the stress from the vet visit did contribute) since her numbers continue to be high and flat. I guess, it is going to stay that way till the mite-bite hot spot resolves itself?
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top