Inconsistencies in carb content for NV Instinct Original

Charlie'sMom22

Member Since 2025
Hi friends!

I was just double checking the carb content of Charlie's food since his numbers have been higher than normal lately and I want to rule out as many variables as possible. He eats Nature's Variety Instinct Original Wet - Chicken. Dr. Pierson's chart says the carb content is 7%. The rest of the internet says a million different things :banghead:

Anyway, the food was recently reformulated so I decided to just call the company. They told me the carb content is 0.58% as fed, and 2.1% on a dry matter basis. Posting here in case anyone is looking into that food.

I'm new to all of this so I don't know what the inconsistencies are about but just wanted to share! :cat:
 
If it were me, I'd increase. The "however" is that Charlie gave you a couple of blue numbers. The TR guidelines would suggest you hold the dose for 5 days (versus the usual 3) when you start to see lower numbers. I "grew up" with a slightly different version of TR. If you want to hold the dose a bit longer it is fine and more consistent with what we have in writing these days.
 
If it were me, I'd increase. The "however" is that Charlie gave you a couple of blue numbers. The TR guidelines would suggest you hold the dose for 5 days (versus the usual 3) when you start to see lower numbers. I "grew up" with a slightly different version of TR. If you want to hold the dose a bit longer it is fine and more consistent with what we have in writing these days.

Thank you! Do I have this right: according to the “newer” guidance, basically I want to increase the dose every 3 days until I start seeing blue nadirs. Once I do, then I hold that dose for 5 days (or longer)?

I’m planning on increasing in the morning barring any overnight dips.
 
This is a copy of the TR instructions:

General Guidelines:
  • Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
  • Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
  • Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Since you're starting to see a few lower numbers, you hold the dose for 4 - 5 days which is exactly what you did!
 
Back
Top