In the Greens last night, now in the reds!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Very Active Member
Posted in Main Also:

Bubba experienced a drop into the green, 89 yeah! Then this AMPS he is 415. I did not expect this big of a bounce. Should I dose the same as last night?
 
Wow! What a lovely nadir last night. Can you monitor today? I think I would if you can. He probably won't drop so low again, but you never know....
 
Wow! What a lovely nadir last night. Can you monitor today? I think I would if you can. He probably won't drop so low again, but you never know....
Yes, I am home all day, I will monitor. I was so happy last night to have him in his first green. Then to have this big of a bounce......my first test this AM was 415, then while he was eating, I got 376. Sigh
 
It happens. That green last night shows that the insulin is working...we just get through the bounces! I was toying with suggesting you up the dose the other day, but now, with that low number last night, I think 1.8 is good for now. I'd say let's see where he goes today and then see where to go. :) You're doing great by the way!!
 
Thanks for explaining the bounce to me. I was really feeling like last night was for naught. Now, I am hopeful again. :joyful: Went back to bed and got a few more hours sleep. Going for a test in a bit to sew how Bubba is doing now. Back to the drawing board.
 
I agree. That was a great dose last night and today is a definite bounce. You were surprised to see that green - imagine how Bubba's body felt! I think Rachel is right - stick with the 1.8 as long as you get shootable pre shots )even if you have to stall and retest) and safe nadirs. He will eventually figure out the blues/greens are safe and his body will stop releasing those extra sugars. It is just encouraging to me that he is finally dropping into nice ranges - that was a beautiful smile curve, until you got to the amps!

You and Luann need to commiserate this am. she got the same thing - nice lows and then the bounce!
 
Thanks Sue, I am hopeful again. This morning was like I had ran a race last night and didn't receive the medal at the finish line. Yours and Rachel's explanation to me made me more hopeful and understand it better. And last night I had Robin and Cindi to guide me every step of the way. How lucky was that?? :bighug:
 
What a big first step...your first green nadir! If he is like Merlin, he may be in the yellows for a few cycles but I just bet that you will have another green nadir very soon. Of course, Bubba will probably bounce again but soon, he will get another green on a more regular basis. Great job!
 
What a big first step...your first green nadir! If he is like Merlin, he may be in the yellows for a few cycles but I just bet that you will have another green nadir very soon. Of course, Bubba will probably bounce again but soon, he will get another green on a more regular basis. Great job!
Well so far you were right, he was in yellow most of yesterday. Last night was a terrible storm at nadir time and he ran and hid in a place in the basement that I can't reach him. So my test at +3.5 was 215 then at +10 was 269, so he could have gone into the blues between times but don't know for certain. He really jumped the last two hours. I am glad you told me that could happen so I will keep my patience pants on. ;)
 
He could have been stressed because of the storm. Even if you could reach him, numbers might have been a bit higher from stress. :) You do what you can when you can!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top