In Layman's Terms Please?

Status
Not open for further replies.

milfordcollector

Member Since 2012
TRI-STATE VETERINARY MEDICAL GROUP
Medical Care Plan


DVM/VMD/MVB
845-856-1914
February 1, 2013

This document lists procedures to be performed on Sabrina. This estimate only approximates the cost of this visit. It does not include any treatments that may be deemed necessary upon examination and commencement of the included treatments. You are responsible for all fees incurred during this visit included or not on this estimate.
The following is a list of the treatments and/or supplies expected to be required during this visit and their approximate cost.
If you have any questions concerning this estimate please do not hesitate to ask.
Procedure or Dispensed Item Qty Charge To
Blood Glucose Curve 70.00
Medical Waste Disposal/Handle 3.95
Hospitalization partial day 19.25
Idexx Pre-Anesthetic Screen 0.00 75.70
Idexx Lytes (hospitalized patient) 15.00

Total estimate charges... $108.20

Actual total may vary between: $108.20 and $183.90

Created: 01-31-13
Be assured that the health of Sabrina is our highest concern and we will do everything possible to maintain that health. Understand, too, that your signature below indicates that you have reviewed and agree to the terms of this estimate.
This estimate will be honored for 3 months from today’s date.
Your signature below does not make you responsible for the charges listed above unless performed upon Sabrina.
I accept and agree to the terms of this estimate:
Cindy Gross:
OK.....got the estimate on what she needs, Dr Alex definitely needs to do the lytes & she chose a cost effective panel that would give her valuable info since Sabrina had "abnormalities" in her previous bloodwork (note, she gave me rx for Tumil-K for the low potassium) but I don't know what else it showed. The office never gave me a copy of her bloodwork :? Would somebody explain to me what these tests are for.....Again trying to learn as much as I possibly can (ps she wants curve when Sabrina has been consistently dosed for 2 weeks, i guess my 36 hr broken bottle episode set us back :sad: ) Thanks Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
thanks so much....any info would be appreciated......going to do PMPS but won't shoot if she's below 200, @ +9 162 & she's hiding now.....husband noted this am she thew up bile last night, What could be the causes? Thnx cindy & sabrina
 
I can't help with what the tests are for.
I just wanted to :shock: at this:
Blood Glucose Curve 70.00

Any idea how many tests they did? That's obscene. If I did a full curve at home, the total cost in strips would be less than 3 bucks. 3 minutes tops per test, so 21 minutes. That's pretty good hourly pay.

Carl
 
Hi! I don't know, my husband told me this morning about it. The other night she did throw up food & also looked like a hairball was involved in that episode, could pancreatitis cause things like that? She just seems off tonight, still eating, & begging for table scraps @ dinner, which she never got , of course :lol: but she tried like heck!!! Also #'s were good today but then spiked PMPS to 467......here goes bounce again? confused_cat Thanks for listening.......Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Hi Carl......You know they gotta pay for that expensive program to analize BG levels angry(2)_cat .....I just can't get a straight answer from the vets office.................I have my nieces baby shower tomorrow so on Monday I'll be back to give them the 3rd degree Enjoy your weekend Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
It's going to take time for Sabrina's shed to fill up. As you go up in doses, it gets stored under her skin, hence the shed. I'm not sure if pancreatitis can be a cause of throwing up. I've never heard of it, however, the experts will be able to tell you on that one. Another thing to remember is when you increase the doses you'll notice Sabrina's PS #s start to come down, along with her midcycle #s, too. Sienne has told me several times that the PS #s are the last to come down. It'll happen... Just need a whole lot of patience. :lol:

Welcome to the board! :-D
 
I'm guessing it wasn't bile. It really smells foul.

Please call the vet and ask for a copy of Sabrina's labs. They should be able to e-mail them to you or fax them. You paid for the results; you're entitled to them. If the lab results were sent to IDEXX (IDEXX is a lab that typically does the testing), they send them to your vet either by fax or e-mail. If the receptionist gives you static, simply tell her that with a diabetic cat, it's critical that you have a copy of all of Sabrina's labs should you ever need to take her to an ER for treatment. If you have the labs, we can help you interpret them. If you look on the bottom of Gabby's SS, I have a tab where I keep track of her lab tests.

Usually with pancreatitis, your cat will be sitting in a meatloaf position and generally not want to eat. They are usually in pain, although cats mask pain very well. The best way to determine if a cat has pancreatitis is with one of two tests: a Snap fPLI (this can be done in the vet's office -- it give either a positive or negative result on what amounts to a test strip) or a Spec fPLI (this is sent out to a lab and gives you a numerical value). If Sabrina was begging for food, my guess is that she's not having a bout of pancreatitis. If you want to read more, Marje put together this primer on pancreatitis.

Sabrina may seem a bit "off" due to the swing in her numbers. You're right -- she bounced (big time)!
 
Thank you Sienne & Gabby......Here goes another bounce as I speak.....+4 370.....but as i'm posting, she's playing with her feather toy! LOL :razz: Put me in the nuthouse NOW!!!! @-) .....ok think I'll do bloodwork for ketones, electrolytes, etc....get previous results & then question the **** out of the vet....not even the tech....go right to the source......................now having a cocktail to unwind grr_red Have A Wonderful Night...will keep everyone posted, as long as I'm not in the looney bin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
You really don't need to do bloodwork for ketones. If you buy a box of Ketostix (they are around $15 = $20 for 100 I think), you can test for ketones at home. Most of us do this routinely and especially if our cats are in high numbers for a few days or if you have a cat that's prone to ketones (for example, went through an episode of diabetic ketoacidosis).

What I would ask your vet prior to getting the labs is why she wants separate electrolytes from what's on the pre-anesthesia panel. This panel gives you values for potassium, sodium and chloride. If she says there may be an electrolyte imbalance, ask which electrolytes and why she suspects this.

If you let the vet know that you will get more accurate results running a curve at home, you can eliminate that charge along with the half day hospitalization charge. The reality is that you will get more accurate BG readings at home. Sabrina will not be stressed from being at the vet's office and the stress usually elevates BG numbers. That should shave $90 off of the vet's estimate!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top