In Blues Now Back in the Yellow

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgirldany

Active Member
Not sure what is going on with Catee. Would appreciate if some of ya'll could look at his spread sheet.

He has been in the Blues on his spreadsheet since the end of January with occasional Yellows. The last two days his blood sugar has went up into the 200s and tonight PMPS it was 235.

I am not sure what is going on... he is just up and down constantly. If you look at his spreadsheet, I have gave him dosages as low as .60

The Vet is of little help just said I am doing a good job and to make sure it does not low.

Would appreciate any insight into his numbers.

Please know that he is eating Purina DM, free feeds, and I am using Alphatrak 2.

Thank you
D
 
I'm not that experienced but I see you were dosing at 0.6 for a while and then raised it to 1.2 and higher. Whenever I would raise Buds dose, his preshots would be higher for 3 cycles or so before evening back out. Check out his spreadsheet. I take it you dose on a sliding scale?
 
Yes I am on the sliding scale. I guess I should have stuck with the 1.20 for 3 cycles before upping him again. I asked the vet about one night giving him .60 and the next 1.40 because he is going into 200s. He said that was okay but he may be going low in the afternoon which makes him higher at night. I know that has been discussed on forum. Vet said To check him more often during the afternoon hours that... which is hard right now.

Poor Bud, hope his preshot numbers get better. I know what that is like to go through.
 
I meant to mention the whole he could be going lower and bouncing back up thing... Yes some mid cycle numbers would definitely help but I know those can be difficult to get. I can only get afternoon ones on the weekends but I've been getting some here and there at night depending on how Buds numbers are going before I go to bed. He's having a dental tomorrow so I've got my fingers crossed that it helps his numbers! I don't think the sliding scale is working for Bud because whenever I dose less, his next preshot is higher. I'm trying to find a happy medium!
 
You are shooting at pretty low numbers, like the 132. I'd be sure he is definitely rising (so get a second test about 15 minutes later before shooting) and I wouldn't shoot under 150, and then be sure you can get some tests 5-7. I'd agree with Stacy that he is definitely bouncing which really makes any patterns on the spreadsheet hard to find.

Your dose today of one unit for 180 seems like a good choice. Any chance you can get a midcycle number and see how low it takes him?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top